@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar

Blackpool Away - No Trains

Just a heads up to those going by train to Blackpool. RMT have announced strikes with 14 companies taking action on the 20th, 22nd and 29th of July. All cross border companies are involved, LNER, Avanti West Coast and Transpennie Express. There will be little or no services operating on the East and West Coast Mainlines on the 29th.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Thanks i was just about to book 👍🏻

Thankfully going by car

Bloody joke, you'd think these rail workers were hard done by.

Quote Originally Posted by JammyDoidger View Post

Cry more.

Do you think theres time to extend the trams to Blackpool 🤪

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Just a heads up to those going by train to Blackpool. RMT have announced strikes with 14 companies taking action on the 20th, 22nd and 29th of July. All cross border companies are involved, LNER, Avanti West Coast and Transpennie Express. There will be little or no services operating on the East and West Coast Mainlines on the 29th.
    Going to Liverpool on the 20th for the weekend. What other travel options are available?

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Do you think theres time to extend the trams to Blackpool 🤪
    Too many white vans in the way.😁

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Going to Liverpool on the 20th for the weekend. What other travel options are available?
    National Express coaches or Megabus.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    National Express coaches or Megabus.
    That's a long day. I remember looking at that option for the last Liverpool CL final. Was actually faster to fly to Polamd and switch, which was also far cheaper than the trains. Although I decided that was too much effort 😂

Why do they strike on weekends surely more disruption is caused on week days?
    Cougars!!!

Do you think that will impact our travel plans going down 28th back 31st ?

Stamp their feet and disrupt people's lives until they get what they want

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Stamp their feet and disrupt people's lives until they get what they deserve
    Ftfy

Quote Originally Posted by HH81 View Post
    Why do they strike on weekends surely more disruption is caused on week days?

2 Saturdays and a Thursday, They've clearly targeted the golf open and the ashes, Blackpool v Hibs will not even have been considered.

Is northern trains running if so I'll be ok 😁
    Cougars!!!

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post

Bus mate but they'll be getting booked up quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by penihibs View Post
    Do you think that will impact our travel plans going down 28th back 31st ?

No, you should be fine.

Do you think there's any chance of the dispute being resolved by then or is that unlikely??

Bloody joke.

These commies should just accept the changes to their contracts of employment, redundancies, 'modernisation' that they feel will compromise passenger and crew safety and below inflation wage rises without question so I can get to the game by train.

Invoke the Wembley spirit for Blackpool.
    My Grandson and Great-grandson already booked travel and hotel for full weekend .
    Going down to Blackpool on the Friday.

Maggie T in 1981 banned us fae Wembley and there was also bus,train/underground strike.
    Maggie banning us was political.\She hated us until the Falklands. our sojers were useful to her then
    She knew more than "a few" would get there and had the Met cops oot in force to tame the hordes,along wae big dugs the size of Shetland pony's.

The SFA got an allocation of tickets for public sale ,an amount that Hibs would give to Hearts for a Derby !!
    Yet.and i was there,the previous two London fixtures estimated near 70.000 Scots in Wembley Stadium.
    Many thousands of Scots residing in England copped the briefs in 1981 ,for all .Sold them on.
    She was wrong. Her eddict was futile .

We had been naughty though in the past.
    Well ..with some provocation.
    Being grossly overcharged in pubs and hot dog/burger/chip vans
    Taking the Michael.they were.
    They got turned over and pubs got robbed!
    No excuse i know. but feelings did run high and the English right wing press and anti Scottish football pages caused more problems with their doom and gloom scaremongering articles on London being demolished
    Lock up your daughters circa the Middle Ages
    Gedtting called an effing sweaty sock,makes it difficult to turn the other cheek.

The TA didnt even stop for a rest at Derby !! THey went all the way !!
    THey descended on London in our tens of thousands ,tickets or not /Loads of pubs closed
    Many camped in Trafalger square with cairry oots and bathed and shaved in the fountain.
    Granted, we had some real bamsticks who took advantage of off licenses who were short staffed !!

Two modes of transport i recall leaving Edinburgh for Wembley.
    One a flat bed coal lorry adapted with sides and soft furnishings on the floor and a hap to keep motel guests dry !
    Toilet facilities were en suite mobile over the side pal !
    The other transport was an old furniture/house removal van outlayed with matresses ,sleeping bags ,ghetto blaster, a few chairs tied to the sides and make shift bar !
    Farting was taboo.resulting in removal of some beer vouchers until a show of remorse and "i wont do it again! promise.

I left Edinburgh on my own .early on the Friday morning.
    Got a local bus a bit of a way down the A1 and then got the thumb oot.��
    Eventually got to the Cannon/ O'Rourke household,our 1st Cousins place in Kingwood Road,Fulham.
    and also over a way in Putney> Loooong day!
    Dry as a stick ,feet swollen, knackered, but i made it.
    Went to the Cottage pub near Fulham FC for a livener or 4 and i sneaked into Wembley the next day
    Again ! Great seats !!

I jumped a train at Kings Cross on the monday to get home/
    Guards never cracked a light . They didnt care .They just wanted us celtic hordes oot of London
    The weekend was over and we beat them on all fronts !!

Anyway let this article (among other stories) tell the run up to all this and the game.
    YE CANNAE BAR US FAE WEMBLEY !!

https://norwichcity.myfootballwriter...r-of-scotland/
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-06-2023 at 08:17 PM.

They're spot on. Always push for better conditions and pay. Hope they win big.

First Team Breakthrough Bob1875's Avatar
    Up the RMT ✊🏼

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    They're spot on. Always push for better conditions and pay. Hope they win big.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Unity is strength.

I’ll be driving from Wiltshire. Staying over, back down the next day.

Glad that our first Europe game is on the 27th. Down to Blackpool on the Friday & back on the Monday. Going to be an expensive month.

Quote Originally Posted by Bob1875 View Post
    Up the RMT ✊🏼

solidarity 👍 🤜 🚉

Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    That's a long day. I remember looking at that option for the last Liverpool CL final. Was actually faster to fly to Polamd and switch, which was also far cheaper than the trains. Although I decided that was too much effort 😂
    Aye, it's about the only other option for a day trip though. Never went as far as checking times.

Gamertag: BobMilne
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Stamp their feet and disrupt people's lives until they get what they want

Solidarity

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    If you wanted a cheap stop over. The Norbreck Castle hotel. It’s around £30 a night including breakfast. Absolute ****hole but cheap.