Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by BoltonHibee View Post
    If you wanted a cheap stop over. The Norbreck Castle hotel. It’s around £30 a night including breakfast. Absolute ****hole but cheap.

To be fair, the crusty sheets appeared after you slept there.

Quote Originally Posted by BoltonHibee View Post
    If you wanted a cheap stop over. The Norbreck Castle hotel. It’s around £30 a night including breakfast. Absolute ****hole but cheap.

Interesting reviews on Trip Advisor! 😉

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    To be fair, the crusty sheets appeared after you slept there.
    Crusty sheets? It was like trying to sleep between two giant Ryvita Crackerbreads 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Stamp their feet and disrupt people's lives until they get what they want
    Piss poor attitude.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Going to Liverpool on the 20th for the weekend. What other travel options are available?
    I would drive.

Bloody joke.

These commies should just accept the changes to their contracts of employment, redundancies, 'modernisation' that they feel will compromise passenger and crew safety and below inflation wage rises without question so I can get to the game by train.

Always find it quite incredible that people think it’s the workers doing something wrong here.

Pretty much the whole bloody country needs to grow a backbone and strike.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    National Express coaches or Megabus.
    National Express booked. Going to be a long day.

It certainly is, do you not fancy the drive?

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    It certainly is, do you not fancy the drive?
    5 of us going down mate and none of us drive. So bus only option.

👍 Good luck 😀

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    No, you should be fine.
    Thanks buddy, hopefully.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post

Always find it quite incredible that people think it’s the workers doing something wrong here.

Pretty much the whole bloody country needs to grow a backbone and strike.
    Anyone notice in the media disputes are always presented as "Bosses offered workers 3% but unions demanded they be paid more", never "Workers offered to work for 6% but bosses demanded they work for less".

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    Anyone notice in the media disputes are always presented as "Bosses offered workers 3% but unions demanded they be paid more", never "Workers offered to work for 6% but bosses demanded they work for less".

Absolutely the case, I’ve been through it myself recently. Thankfully it never got to a strike but we had voted unanimously to go on one. This is adversely affecting me as I’d not long shelled out 95 quid for a return train ticket. 8 of us going down, I’ll drive now and one other will need to do the same. I’d back the workers 100% all the way though. Hopefully be a good weekend anyway.
    Never one to laugh at others misfortune but today could only have been improved by rangers getting horsed and God pissing down a meteor shower of fifty pound notes on Edinburgh

Copyright BadMartini Wed 27th Jan 2010

Hopefully the WiFi will work. 😊

Could organise a bus and have a Jolly Boys' Outing.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I seen something saying that the trains might be fine as it’s not the drivers that are striking or something along those lines?
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    I seen something saying that the trains might be fine as it’s not the drivers that are striking or something along those lines?
    If it's hermit posting the original train info you can be certain all services will be affected, given he works on the railway.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar

Guards, station dispatch staff, ticket office staff will all take industrial action on these dates so there will be a very limited service, probably between the hours of 7am-5pm and even then these train can be amended or cancelled at very short notice with trains terminating short of their destination etc, just depends on how many 'managers' they can find to break the strike. My advice is either don't travel or go down the night before.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Guards, station dispatch staff, ticket office staff will all take industrial action on these dates so there will be a very limited service, probably between the hours of 7am-5pm and even then these train can be amended or cancelled at very short notice with trains terminating short of their destination etc, just depends on how many 'managers' they can find to break the strike. My advice is either don't travel or go down the night before.
    So I take it there’s no danger normal services will be running so I’m best to try and get a refund on the train tickets and book on a supporters bus?
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

So I take it there’s no danger normal services will be running so I’m best to try and get a refund on the train tickets and book on a supporters bus?

It definitely won't be a normal train service, as for a supporters bus I'll leave that up to you to decide.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Is it time for the Golden Eagle to soar once more? 🚐
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post

You'd rather not go than go on one of those scrappers they call buses.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Invoke the Wembley spirit for Blackpool.
    My Grandson and Great-grandson already booked travel and hotel for full weekend .
    Going down to Blackpool on the Friday.

Maggie T in 1981 banned us fae Wembley and there was also bus,train/underground strike.
    Maggie banning us was political.\She hated us until the Falklands. our sojers were useful to her then
    She knew more than "a few" would get there and had the Met cops oot in force to tame the hordes,along wae big dugs the size of Shetland pony's.

The SFA got an allocation of tickets for public sale ,an amount that Hibs would give to Hearts for a Derby !!
    Yet.and i was there,the previous two London fixtures estimated near 70.000 Scots in Wembley Stadium.
    Many thousands of Scots residing in England copped the briefs in 1981 ,for all .Sold them on.
    She was wrong. Her eddict was futile .

We had been naughty though in the past.
    Well ..with some provocation.
    Being grossly overcharged in pubs and hot dog/burger/chip vans
    Taking the Michael.they were.
    They got turned over and pubs got robbed!
    No excuse i know. but feelings did run high and the English right wing press and anti Scottish football pages caused more problems with their doom and gloom scaremongering articles on London being demolished
    Lock up your daughters circa the Middle Ages
    Gedtting called an effing sweaty sock,makes it difficult to turn the other cheek.

The TA didnt even stop for a rest at Derby !! THey went all the way !!
    THey descended on London in our tens of thousands ,tickets or not /Loads of pubs closed
    Many camped in Trafalger square with cairry oots and bathed and shaved in the fountain.
    Granted, we had some real bamsticks who took advantage of off licenses who were short staffed !!

Two modes of transport i recall leaving Edinburgh for Wembley.
    One a flat bed coal lorry adapted with sides and soft furnishings on the floor and a hap to keep motel guests dry !
    Toilet facilities were en suite mobile over the side pal !
    The other transport was an old furniture/house removal van outlayed with matresses ,sleeping bags ,ghetto blaster, a few chairs tied to the sides and make shift bar !
    Farting was taboo.resulting in removal of some beer vouchers until a show of remorse and "i wont do it again! promise.

I left Edinburgh on my own .early on the Friday morning.
    Got a local bus a bit of a way down the A1 and then got the thumb oot.��
    Eventually got to the Cannon/ O'Rourke household,our 1st Cousins place in Kingwood Road,Fulham.
    and also over a way in Putney> Loooong day!
    Dry as a stick ,feet swollen, knackered, but i made it.
    Went to the Cottage pub near Fulham FC for a livener or 4 and i sneaked into Wembley the next day
    Again ! Great seats !!

I jumped a train at Kings Cross on the monday to get home/
    Guards never cracked a light . They didnt care .They just wanted us celtic hordes oot of London
    The weekend was over and we beat them on all fronts !!

Anyway let this article (among other stories) tell the run up to all this and the game.
    YE CANNAE BAR US FAE WEMBLEY !!

https://norwichcity.myfootballwriter...r-of-scotland/
    Brill .

I've no idea what this relates to. 🤔

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Aye, it's about the only other option for a day trip though. Never went as far as checking times.
    Iirc the route I saw starts/ends in Liverpool then crosses England to hit the east coast before heading north. Was like an 8 hour journey or something

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    The Tartan Army of the 70’s & 80’s sounds more akin to the modern day Old Firm wreaking havoc and leaving a trail of mess and destruction behind them.

Different times perhaps. I recall listening to Off the Ball on the way back from Hampden in the wake of the ‘16 Cup win where condemnation of the pitch invasion was being rained on us from all corners. Stuart Cosgrove then defended us by highlighting the sheer hypocrisy of guys like Chick Young who were sticking the boot in big time and calling us a disgrace, while previously boasting about invading the pitch at Wembley in ‘77 and proclaiming the scenes as some sort of pinnacle of Scottish national pride. You can’t have it both ways!
    Last edited by Carheenlea; 25-06-2023 at 05:17 PM.

[QUOTE=Carheenlea;7380161]The Tartan Army of the 70’s & 80’s sounds more akin to the modern day Old Firm wreaking havoc and leaving a trail of mess and destruction behind them.

Different times perhaps. I recall listening to Off the Ball on the way back from Hampden in the wake of the ‘16 Cup win where condemnation of the pitch invasion was being rained on us from all corners. Stuart Cosgrove then defended us by highlighting the sheer hypocrisy of guys like Chick Young who were sticking the boot in big time and calling us a disgrace, while previously boasting about invading the pitch at Wembley in ‘77 and proclaiming the scenes as some sort of pinnacle of Scottish national pride. You can’t have it both ways![/QUO
    .................................................. .......
    Well Carheenlea
    The Old Firm(0r oldco) back in the 70s /80s was far worse than you see now./
    Apart from the zombies of the new club destroying and defacating on George Square not so long ago, fighting wae the polis,anaw.
    I was in Newcastle a few weeks after the orange /blue hordes destroyed their city centre in 1969.
    Glaziers were still fitting pubs,shop,and office windaes fur weeks/
    For some time,it was very risky for young innocent Scots to go to Newcastle toon for a night oot,due to those imbeciles trashing the place.

No
    The London trouble was more being ripped off economically,than fletching the superior orange tribe,we are the people,muscles
    Get oot oor way or else!

Up West /Soho,Scots fans.many first timers, got taken to the cleaners for drink and food ,also getting conned in boozers for drinks they hadn't ordered and threatened with violence by beefy bouncers !
    Bar in Shaftsbury Ave once got turned over after bouncers walloped a couple of guys .This was lunchtime !!
    i could go on.
    My Cab driving London cousins made sure i went to a Scot friendly boozer down their way.
    That was the 70s, i attended every wembley from 69 to 81.
    Then the organised guys moved in. Casuals from clubs throughout the UK would meet up.
    Me? I would just sit by the Thames in some nice Fulham and other waterfront boozers and let them get on with it !!
    Happy Days at Wembeley !
    ! Ye kin stick yer wembley tickets up yer ar se !

And i lift my glass to the Late Great Gordon McQueen,who gave us all a great moment to aye remember.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 25-06-2023 at 06:26 PM.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Is it time for the Golden Eagle to soar once more?
    It would probablt take us to Hampden.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk