Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    There needs to be a belief that we can qualify for the groups and not just be in it to hopefully get a glamour tie in a playoff. We need to be installing that mindset in the players now. There were some teams in the group stages that were no better than us. The club needs to gear itself up for these qualifiers and really go for it. It's a great opportunity and exciting time for the club and everyone connected to it.

Quote Originally Posted by The Spaceman View Post
    It’s our main goal each season alongside winning a domestic trophy. I can’t wait to see us play in the qualifiers ✈️
    This is my view. Something to look forward to, add to our proud European history, no group stage League Cup, get the chance to visit somewhere unique in Europe. Depending on the draw we could get a glamour tie in the later rounds or, if the stars align, make it to the group stages!

We don't qualify for Europe every season so I don't understand how we can just discard it.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    There needs to be a belief that we can qualify for the groups and not just be in it to hopefully get a glamour tie in a playoff. We need to be installing that mindset in the players now. There were some teams in the group stages that were no better than us. The club needs to gear itself up for these qualifiers and really go for it. It's a great opportunity and exciting time for the club and everyone connected to it.
    Absolutely. We had a real go at it under Lennon and we were so unlucky to go out on penalties to Brondby. That’s what we need to be aiming for (even if we don’t have SJM this time!)

It's definitely an attraction for potential signings.
    Hard to get excited about from a supporter point of view.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    It's definitely an attraction for potential signings.
    Hard to get excited about from a supporter point of view.
    You cant get excited at a nice trip abroad to wtch Hibs?

For me Scottish teams outside the OF are just not equipped with squad depth to be dealing with European football on top of domestic football, injuries and tiredness show by Christmas and have negative impact on teams seasons.

What is the point being a fan if that doesn't excite?

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    What is the point being a fan if that doesn't excite?

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SickBoy32 View Post
    Huge ask for this Hibs squad to navigate 3 ties - first tie will be against some total dross so easy enough
    That's not necessarily the case, we could get Progres who beat Rangers

Quote Originally Posted by LunasBoots View Post
    For me Scottish teams outside the OF are just not equipped with squad depth to be dealing with European football on top of domestic football, injuries and tiredness show by Christmas and have negative impact on teams seasons.
    To be fair I don’t think it’s just Scottish teams but yes generally our teams just don’t have the quality to compete in Europe sadly. When you hear of the TV deals that Dutch and Norwegian leagues get it completely dwarfs our prize money which probably explains a lot of it.

Often the first game of the season is a euro qualifier which doesn’t help either. Squads are not settled by that point

Europe is exciting assuming the team that got us there is not dismantled but is built upon and improved.
    On many occasions though we've gone into Euro ties with a skeleton squad stripped of its best players - making it only fit to watch through the cracks between your fingers whenever we encounter a team that's half decent.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    Europe is exciting assuming the team that got us there is not dismantled but is built upon and improved.
    On many occasions though we've gone into Euro ties with a skeleton squad stripped of its best players - making it only fit to watch through the cracks between your fingers whenever we encounter a team that's half decent.
    Like losing CJ, Fish & Nisbet...

TBF, I can kind of see the point the OP is making.

While it's good that we did qualify for Europe, being in the early qualifying rounds and playing against some tiny team from San Marino or Malta just doesn't have quite the same level of glamour as playing in the UEFA Cup against Anderlecht, AEK Athens or Videoton.

Quote Originally Posted by HFC93 View Post
    Bohemians (Prague) would be a great trip.
    I vaguely remember going to an 1100 Sunday morning kick off game there 🍺🥴🤮

And perhaps getting an opportunity to improve your art collection. 😉

Europe is a massive pull and money "cash cow", seen on Facebook Scottish Clubs monies from last season.
    We took in £2,038,000, Hertz took in over £6 million, so if the figures are correct, Europe is the place to make money and take the club up a few notches!!!
    Obviously the Old Firm were way out in front with £20 million for the Huns and £30 million for the Celts, and neither won a game in their groups???

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Yeh i’m going to miss playing in the league cup group, and being knocked out by morton on penalties.
    Rather than a piss up, in latvia or similar.
    Jesus 🙄

Aye more *****y than banksy.

Depending on where we go, I might drive.

Kazakhstan might be a bit of a stretch, though.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post

I'll navigate and bring some crisps.

People seem to be conflating success on the pitch with success off it, fans are just looking for a jolly or two without thinking we might win this.

I vaguely remember going to an 1100 Sunday morning kick off game there 🍺🥴🤮
    I also attended a Bohemians game incredibly hungover haha. Great wee stadium.

Make that 3, great set of fans aswell!

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HIBS NUTS View Post
    Yeh i’m going to miss playing in the league cup group, and being knocked out by morton on penalties.
    Rather than a piss up, in latvia or similar.
    Jesus 🙄
    Haha!

It was meant to be their last game in that stadium, 10 years later and they're still playing their games there. 🙂

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    I'll navigate and bring some crisps.
    Add in petrol money (electricity) and you've got a deal.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post

Guy from my work lives in Shymkent. I'll see if I can get you his phone number for an overnight stay.

Europe is Europe, what's not to like about it FFS. OK it's not like the old days when it meant possible games against some of the giants of the continent, but it's a chance to see clubs you never get to see and visit places you might never think of going to, if you are lucky enough to have the time and wherewithal to do so.

As for the Europa conference league being a diddy cup .... tell that to West Ham, one of the biggest clubs from the richest league in the world who absolutely dwarf the likes of us in every measurable sense, financially, size of stadium, size of support etc, and yet they celebrated winning the thing as if it was the biggest day in their history. If it's good enough for them it's sure as hell good enough for us.

No we can't win it, but with a bit of luck and a favourable draw we could make the group stages, which would be the first time in the club's history we have managed such a feat.

We spend a whole season supporting the team hoping that they finish is high up the league as possible, finishing 5th gives us a “prize” of European football. It's now down to the manager and players to navigate the qualifying rounds the best they can. As has been pointed out group stages is a cash cow and it's something we need to pursue. Finishing 3rd is Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen aim as it's a jackpot of money.

Don't mind Europe , it's a change of scenery . Asteras and Molde were good games . More of that would be good