Thread: Eddie Turnbull

Eddie Turnbull

I may have missed it if there have been other threads, but I just read the great man would have turned 100 a couple of days ago. RIP to the great man.

Played 21 derbies: 12 wins, 7 draws, 2 defeats I saw on twitter. I imagine that is his managerial record rather than playing.

He really was part of the best 2 Hibs sides ever.

Used to see him at Broughton when we were having a kickabout. He’d stand and watch for a bit as he lived round the corner. Never really appreciated how much of a legend he was when I was 13.

Without doubt one of the greatest Hibernians to have represented our great club as a player and a Manager

Happy Birthday Ned

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Without doubt one of the greatest Hibernians to have represented our great club as a player and a Manager

Happy Birthday Ned

I share that sentiment.

Created and managed the best Hibs team I've seen, we turned up expecting to win and win with style.

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I may have missed it if there have been other threads, but I just read the great man would have turned 100 a couple of days ago. RIP to the great man.
    Happy Birthday,Mr Turnbull.
    The memory marches on !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxerOmALWTc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShSxvA0m1eA
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 14-04-2023 at 10:10 PM.

One of our greatest Hibernians

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    As player and manager won 3 league titles and a league cup. 40% of all the major trophies Hibs have won since 1875. Two Drybrough cups as well of course.

in the league, with Hibs, he was involved in three first place finishes, six 2nd place finishes, and three 3rd place finishes. Scored 150 goals for us.

played in a World Cup. Won a Scottish cup for aberdeen.

Immense man. Wish we had two Eddie Turnbulls tomorrow. One in the dugout and one on the pitch.

I’ve got a signed autobiography. I treasure it.

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    Played 21 derbies: 12 wins, 7 draws, 2 defeats I saw on twitter. I imagine that is his managerial record rather than playing.

He really was part of the best 2 Hibs sides ever.

Used to see him at Broughton when we were having a kickabout. He’d stand and watch for a bit as he lived round the corner. Never really appreciated how much of a legend he was when I was 13.
    What Broughton vintage are you? Did you play with Mark Cowan? (Who I think actually made some headway in the pro-ranks? Berwick for a spell iirc?)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I remember handing a gift to a chap who had the picture framing business near Easter Road to give to Eddie Turnbull. I put a wee card in it thanking him for all the great memories he and the team gave us during the Tornadoes rampage during the seventies! Fantastic times, hope for the best today

Quote Originally Posted by Viva_Palmeiras View Post
    What Broughton vintage are you? Did you play with Mark Cowan? (Who I think actually made some headway in the pro-ranks? Berwick for a spell iirc?)
    I left 2005 at end of 6 year. I was in same team as Chris Cowan who I’m sure had a younger brother called Mark. That him?

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Happy Birthday Ned

Only a month apart from my dad’s age - I can see why he was his favourite player.

Arguably the best ever Hibernian greatest if you take into account as player and manager 😁

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    lm too young to have watched him manage or play but I met him and John Collins at East Mains when Collins was manager and he was an absolute gentleman. Took an interest in who I was playing with (Leith at the time) and didn’t seem remotely bothered that I had gatecrashed their conversation!

The first British player to score a goal in European competition

He also did a hard shift as a young man on the Russian convoys for which he received the Arctic Star which I am sure was character building

Legend

The best brand of football the world’s ever seen

Managed the Hibs team I grew up him .
    Probably the greatest Hibs man with his record as a player and a manager .
    Phenomenal derby record as a manager , knew how important Derby’s were .
    Bit harsh but apparently he had a go at the team after the 7-0 game saying they had let them of the hook

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    I left 2005 at end of 6 year. I was in same team as Chris Cowan who I’m sure had a younger brother called Mark. That him?
    Def different vintage ;) Mark would have left around 1989 :)

you played on pitches where the original school used to be :)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012

Was speaking with a fellow Hibee about this the other day.

The culture at the club is wrong. Players are in a disconnected cocoon in HTC. Standards and expectations are not aligned with a club the stature of Hibs.

I just wonder what Eddie would have made of all this - mind he saw a fair amount of dross in his post managerial phase of life.

Seems like the expectations of the standards at Aberdeen were sustained to a degree.
    What the **** happened at Hibs?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

Ahem! The current school is the 3rd one. The original is on Broughton road.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    I share that sentiment.

Created and managed the best Hibs team I've seen, we turned up expecting to win and win with style.

Was great going to games discussing how many we would win by and how many O'Rourke, Gordon or Duncan would score. Oh to get those days back

Quote Originally Posted by One Day View Post
    Was great going to games discussing how many we would win by and how many O'Rourke, Gordon or Duncan would score. Oh to get those days back
    I honestly can’t imagine what it must have been like. Only time I ever turn up truly expecting Hibs to win is against lower league opposition in the cups and even then they make a fool of me sometimes

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    I honestly can’t imagine what it must have been like. Only time I ever turn up truly expecting Hibs to win is against lower league opposition in the cups and even then they make a fool of me sometimes
    I was 15 when Hibs won the League Cup in 1972 and beat the Hearts 7-0 in 73. I thought that's how it was going to be for ever. I remember an old Hibs fan telling me to cherish what I was seeing as it wouldn't last. Spoilsport, but how right he was. Found myself saying similar to my Grandson after the cup final in 2016.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day View Post
    I was 15 when Hibs won the League Cup in 1972 and beat the Hearts 7-0 in 73. I thought that's how it was going to be for ever. I remember an old Hibs fan telling me to cherish what I was seeing as it wouldn't last. Spoilsport, but how right he was. Found myself saying similar to my Grandson after the cup final in 2016.
    that old Hibs fan would have also lived through the Famous Five era. He won the football lottery

Aye next to the old tennis courts

that old Hibs fan would have also lived through the Famous Five era. He won the football lottery
    Indeed Hibs will have won the league three times in his era.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Indeed Hibs will have won the league three times in his era.
    Our neighbours claim to be "famous", but those League victories certainly made Hibernian FC famous in the football world.
    So much so, we got invited to Brazil in 1953, to play in what was the first World Club Championship.

Interesting facts
    Prior to the 1970 World Cup Finals in Mexico a football encyclopedia was written in Brazil.
    Hibernian warranted a whole chapter in that book as our style of play was a model for Brazilian teams,club and national.
    Top Brazilian club Vasco de Gama tried to sign the Famous Five !! Well... two of them
    Good read on link

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...ld-cup-3279119
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-04-2023 at 09:14 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Ahem! The current school is the 3rd one. The original is on Broughton road.
    tis true should have qualified - the original school (on the Carrington Rd site).

The original high school is now Broughton Primary.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    tis true should have qualified - the original school (on the Carrington Rd site).

The original high school is now Broughton Primary.
    The primary school was always there, the original high school is now luxury flats. I had 2 years there before moving to Carrington road.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

The primary school was always there, the original high school is now luxury flats. I had 2 years there before moving to Carrington road.

you’re probably a couple of years off my Dad, he went to the original school and had a few weeks at the then new school

He always talks of those days (late 60s - mid 70s) of Hibs walloping hearts regularly, even now he comments on how growing up for him, hearts were always the lesser side in Edinburgh

The OG

As player and manager won 3 league titles and a league cup. 40% of all the major trophies Hibs have won since 1875. Two Drybrough cups as well of course.

in the league, with Hibs, he was involved in three first place finishes, six 2nd place finishes, and three 3rd place finishes. Scored 150 goals for us.

played in a World Cup. Won a Scottish cup for aberdeen.

Immense man. Wish we had two Eddie Turnbulls tomorrow. One in the dugout and one on the pitch.

I’ve got a signed autobiography. I treasure it.
    He scored the first goal ever scored by a British side in European competition. 35th minute against Rott Wiess Essen on 14th September 1955. 4-0 final score.