Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    https://images.app.goo.gl/ZmQBGZgDWQGX6YBa7

Would love to see this built at the back of the East Stand, people could buy a brick which will have their or a loved ones name on it. This could be to built for the 150 years anniversary.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post

Would love to see this built at the back of the East Stand, people could buy a brick which will have their or a loved ones name on it. This could be to built for the 150 years anniversary.

That is a very good idea.

Problem is though with Council planning permission. Would have to get the application in pronto given the timescale. Past experience with these things are the Council would sit on it for months, tweak it to something that is unrecognisable to what is requested, then reject it.

Probably a while back but IIRC Hibs past experience with Edinburgh Council is a bit fractured. Sir Tom wanted to develop the land behind the ground but his proposal was booted out by the Council as they favoured another. At the time Edinburgh Council was full of Yams, Cardownie being one of them. I had a relative who got caught up in the 'jobs for the boys' scandal when it was found Edinburgh Council inappropriately awarded Compulsory order jobs and contracts to their mates for years.

Maybe the Council have moved on from those times.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Wonder what year this was built

Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    That is a very good idea.

Problem is though with Council planning permission. Would have to get the application in pronto given the timescale. Past experience with these things are the Council would sit on it for months, tweak it to something that is unrecognisable to what is requested, then reject it.

Probably a while back but IIRC Hibs past experience with Edinburgh Council is a bit fractured. Sir Tom wanted to develop the land behind the ground but his proposal was booted out by the Council as they favoured another. At the time Edinburgh Council was full of Yams, Cardownie being one of them. I had a relative who got caught up in the 'jobs for the boys' scandal when it was found Edinburgh Council inappropriately awarded Compulsory order jobs and contracts to their mates for years.

Maybe the Council have moved on from those times.
    Am not saying you said he did . But i mind that saga.
    Steve Cardownie and the City Councillor's had nothing to do with the property repairs scandal.
    It was senior councils workers who had been at it for years.
    When found out,many handed in their jotters or had arms twisted to do so.Or just paid off.
    No criminal charges.Some lost loads in works pension,though. One i knew from Clerry.
    Thats greed for ye.

There was another case where two council workers and two contractors got the jail on bribery charges.

Stevie ran about with us old Clerry boys back in the late sixties.
    He publicly supported the Hand of Hibs campaign and attended the rally at the Holy Ground.
    But then he did represent a Leith ward at that time when he was a Labour cooncillor.
    He liked his political parties,did Stevie.He joined four
    The real "in yer face" Jambo councillor/provost was Eric "Buckfast" Milligan,who i also knew well.

Oh Yes! I think a replica of the old stand brick frontage/turnstiles is a good idea.
    Ahh ! The nostalgia !
    The memory marches on !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 10-07-2023 at 02:59 PM.

@hibs.net private member Groathillgrump's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Attachment 26993

Post-season tour fashion 1978...like they've been kitted out at a golf discount store.
    Those troosers are giving off a Rupert the Bear vibe!

Quote Originally Posted by Groathillgrump View Post
    Those troosers are giving off a Rupert the Bear vibe!
    Jeez! Ye widnae now wear them jammys in public for a bet .

Everyone would know your name
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 10-07-2023 at 03:01 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Steve Cardownie and the City Councillor's had nothing to do with the property repairs scandal.
    When found out,many handed in their jotters or had arms twisted to do so.Or just paid off.
    No criminal charges.Some lost loads in works pension,though. One i knew from Clerry.
    Thats greed for ye.

There was another case where two council workers and two contractors got the jail on bribery charges.

He publicly supported the Hand of Hibs campaign and attended the rally at the Holy Ground.
    But then he did represent a Leith ward at that time when he was a Labour cooncillor.
    The real "in yer face" Jambo councillor/provost was Eric "Buckfast" Milligan,who i also knew well.

Oh Yes! I think a replica of the old stand brick frontage/turnstiles is a good idea.
    Ahh ! The nostalgia !
    The memory marches on !
    I didn't trust Cardownie's "support" during HoH. He basically said give in and start again at Meadowbank, which meant Mercer got what he wanted. More faces than a town clock.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Thats greed for ye.

Ahh ! The nostalgia !
    The memory marches on !
    Remember Steve from Clery, I had many a conversation about football and politics when he was a Councillor sound guy. I think there should be something to commemorate the 150 years perhaps Mr Power could start a discussion on here.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    I didn't trust Cardownie's "support" during HoH. He basically said give in and start again at Meadowbank, which meant Mercer got what he wanted. More faces than a town clock.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
    Not disaggreeing
    Couple of hints in my post suggest that as well.
    I mind once telling his cooncil pals (who i knew)in the Jinglin Geordie that he ran aboot with the Clerry Jungle in his teens.
    Stevie was sitting at the back o the pub and heard me.
    He wisnaed pleased. Kent me awright.
    Those were Labour Councillors who a few years later would send him to Coventry for jumping ship.
    Ah well .He looked after Stevie !!

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post

I love that picture,gb .Brings back childhood memories
    Not a photo on link,but just a contrast to that old wall and how the Holy Ground and times have changed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRXKn39u4VY

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post

Beautiful pic of the old 'cave'.

Best photo I have seen of ER was one of a packed East Terracing under the lights the night we played Leeds Utd in the UEFA Cup in 1973.

Alan Gordon is in the foreground of the photo.

I was there that night. On the half way line near the front with my Dad now sadly passed away.

Would appreciate if someone could post it....I'm not that techy with that sort of thing

Best photo I have seen of ER was one of a packed East Terracing under the lights the night we played Leeds Utd in the UEFA Cup in 1973.

I was there that night. On the half way line near the front with my Dad now sadly passed away.

Would appreciate if someone could post it....I'm not that techy with that sort of thing

I love that picture,gb .Brings back childhood memories
    Not a photo on link,but just a contrast to that old wall and how the Holy Ground and times have changed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRXKn39u4VY
    Remember as a youngster getting complimentary tickets for the centre stand and if my memory serves me right you picked up from the small window at the Dunbar end of the wall. Even wore the good clothes as you had made it sitting in the centre stand. Spent time at the players and officials doors getting programmes autographed, wish I had kept them now.

@hibs.net private member HibbyKeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    It worked! Photo is from mid 60s. The old geezer in the middle is my grandad who was groundsman at the time. Took me to my first games as a youngster in late 60s.
    Is that Pat Frost on the right?

Thanks Billy.

The second one. I'm somewhere in that sea of heads near the front. Remember being given a high shoulder by my Dad some of the game cos it was packed. I was only 7 and couldn't see much.

Memorable night for me that one.

I’ve got it but don’t know how to do it .. I’m most definitely not that Techy 😂

Far left Hibby Cropley or Blackley anyone ?
    For me it’s definitely Billy McEwan

Thats greed for ye.

Ahh ! The nostalgia !
    The memory marches on !
    I've met Cardownie on numerous occasions and he is good company in the boozer. I remember being in a bar in Kiev when Hibs played Dnipro and there was lots of Romanov talk that probably wasn't meant to be heard.

Had a lot of very pleasant evenings in Da Da Da at Shandwick Place that he was involved in.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Thanks Billy.

The second one. I'm somewhere in that sea of heads near the front. Remember being given a high shoulder by my Dad some of the game cos it was packed. I was only 7 and couldn't see much.

Memorable night for me that one.
    I was on the East that night, with my Dad, Uncle and Grandad. I was just a wee bit older at 9. I'll never forget the atmosphere, the place was roaring Hibs on and we were excellent. Sadly not to be though. The bottom photo with Alan Gordon was, I'm sure, from the Evening News the next day.
    Last edited by superfurryhibby; 10-07-2023 at 08:16 PM.

The photo of when a huge number of us rushed down to Easter Road, after the breaking news of Mercer's planned takeover, is breathtaking. I, myself was working on a site in East Claremont Street, when the newspapers broke the story, and without a moment's thought, downed tools, and rapidly made my way down to ER, raging with anger, and livid, at the thought, of that hertz moron, winding us up. I joined hundreds of others, going ballistic.

Where’s Wally ?

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Where’s Wally ?

In the away end where all the “wallys” are

There is still a wee bit of wall left in the car park area between the East and FF. Was where an old electricity box was seemingly. It would be to the left of that image

Where’s Wally ?

For anybody wondering why there's a gap in the wall at the far end, would you believe the wall had only been up for a matter of weeks when that section just collapsed

The rubble was cleared... and they didn't bother having it rebuilt, they just left it open.

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    What a brilliant photo, I never realised there was a bowling club at the top end, I assume it was taken over for use of the car park and moved closer to the Dunbar end

Look at that east terrace before it became massive 😯

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    One of George Best from Twitter tonight, Dunbar End in the background.

https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/sta...09164023361777