Good
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Good picture for Spot The Ball

Quote Originally Posted by 7-Heaven View Post
    Is Peter Marinello not in the picture?
    Ha, 7-H, I have discussed this picture with Billyhibs & alhibby who both seem to think the player I initially thought was Johnny Graham is actually Johnny Hamilton....and I think they may be right but I`m still not totally convinced that it`s either JG or JH and have been wondering if it is as you suggest that it`s actually Peter Marinello !! I was actually going to post that the other day but thought I`d just leave it - until I saw your post.

There is no doubting the identity of five of the players in the picture and I`m now leaning towards JH or PM, more to PM now for that 6th " unidentified " player. In the most recent picture of another game that Billy has posted, you can see Johnny Graham clearly just behind Arthur Duncan, so don`t now think it`s him in the first photo. Billy & al may be right but I still think this is still a wee mystery .

Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post
    Ha, 7-H, I have discussed this picture with Billyhibs & alhibby who both seem to think the player I initially thought was Johnny Graham is actually Johnny Hamilton....and I think they may be right but I`m still not totally convinced that it`s either JG or JH and have been wondering if it is as you suggest that it`s actually Peter Marinello !! I was actually going to post that the other day but thought I`d just leave it - until I saw your post.

There is no doubting the identity of five of the players in the picture and I`m now leaning towards JH or PM, more to PM now for that 6th " unidentified " player. In the most recent picture of another game that Billy has posted, you can see Johnny Graham clearly just behind Arthur Duncan, so don`t now think it`s him in the first photo. Billy & al may be right but I still think this is still a wee mystery .
    The picture of Johnny Graham nailed it for me

The only other issue I might have had is that Alex Cropley or Sloop after a visit to the Barbers ?

I have convinced myself they are congratulating Joe McBride after completing his hat-trick from the penalty spot in a 4-1 win over St Johnstone in 1970

Cropley replaced Graham at Half Time

Marshall Shevlane McEwan Blackley Black Stanton Graham Hamilton McBride Cormack and Stevenson Sub Cropley 46
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 08-01-2023 at 02:18 PM.

The picture of Johnny Graham nailed it for me

The only other issue I might have had is that Alex Cropley or Sloop after a visit to the Barbers ?

I have convinced myself they are congratulating Joe McBride after completing his hat-trick from the penalty spot in a 4-1 win over St Johnstone in 1970

Cropley replaced Graham at Half Time

Marshall Shevlane McEwan Blackley Black Stanton Graham Hamilton McBride Cormack and Stevenson Sub Cropley 46
    Thanks for that Billy, that settles it for me, I wondered if there was any info on the photo. I am 100% sure that is Alex Cropley so with JG off the park and Marinello not in the team (probably off to Arsenal by then,) it must be Johnny Hamilton.

Was driving me nuts but enjoyed the nostalgia trip.

Alex Cropley, Johnny Graham, Pat Stanton, Joe McBride, Peter Cormack and .........not sure, maybe Billy McEwan ?
    It is John Blackley not Alex Cropley that was Blackleys hair style season 69/70.

https://images.app.goo.gl/x7zLds6Y6i7EB8uq9
    Hope this helps.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    It is John Blackley not Alex Cropley that was Blackleys hair style season 69/70.
    Well, for me gb it`s Alex Cropley. I know what you`re saying about the hairstyle but his facial features & build make me very confident indeed that it`s Alex Cropley.

Yes enlarged the photo and it is Alex it was that Alex's legs looked too chunky but it's the angle of the photo that threw me.

I was only sure too by enlarging it. There were a few of them looked very similar back then and you sometimes can`t be sure - the enlarging definitely helps though .

https://images.app.goo.gl/x7zLds6Y6i7EB8uq9
    Hope this helps.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
    Tam McNiven doing his Milk Tray Man thing.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Aye he said it was his pitch preparation that helped us beat Real Madrid...auld chancer.
    Reminds me of my old pal the late Dennis Wells who claimed the Scotland rugby team wouldn't be where it was without him.
    He drove the team bus.

borrowed from Retro Hibernian

Hibs v Sellick 1970

Attached Images Attached Images

Good picture for Spot The Ball
    Too easy surely!😀

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Too easy surely!😀
    That was the hook

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post

Hibs v Sellick 1970

Anybody identify the Hibs players in the picture?
    Think the middle one is Chris Shevlane

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post

Hibs v Sellick 1970

Those were great days, I miss them along with my lost youth 😔

Anybody identify the Hibs players in the picture?
    Think the middle one is Chris Shevlane
    Blackley Shevlane Schaedler and Black

Arthur Duncan makes a scoring debut in a 1-2 loss versus Celtic 1970

Total guess

https://youtu.be/HY0uyOXNKtQ

Total guess

Seem to recollect that we played them twice at Easter Road that year I am sure we beat them.

Total guess

You are right I think looking at the picture it is probably Mervyn Jones not Chris Shevlane.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    We look vastly out numbered

You are right I think looking at the picture it is probably Mervyn Jones not Chris Shevlane.
    You are correct #2 could be Mervyn Jones who played in the September 1970 2-0 victory over Celtic explains the sunshine but does not explain the Chris Shevlane character ( second from the left ) who did not play ( a total gentleman by the way )

Joe McBride scored a double including one of the best goals I have ever seen at Easter Road

Colin who ???
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 13-01-2023 at 11:17 PM.

@hibs.net private member Newcastlehibby's Avatar
    Struggling to find Marinello Cropley and McEwan all playing together for the first team at Easter Road tbh
    I think that is John Blackley on the left.

Quote Originally Posted by Newcastlehibby View Post
    I think that is John Blackley on the left.
    Looks like Blackley with a haircut and stocky legs

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    We look vastly out numbered
    If there is a crowd of 40k there would be about 15k Hibs fan there. That was normal back then. The only time I saw that differently was a cup tie against the old Huns and there were at least 30k Hibs fans in a 49000 crowd

Anyone name all the Hibs players in this image ?
    Far left Hibby Cropley or Blackley anyone ?

Doesn't look like either to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Doesn't look like either to me.

Pretty sure Cropley always wore Puma King Pele with the gold stripe ?
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 15-01-2023 at 07:07 PM.

Pretty sure Cropley always wore Puma King Pele with the good stripe ?
    I bow to that knowledge. The bloke in photo's hair looks a bit dark though.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    I bow to that knowledge. The bloke in photo's hair looks a bit dark though.

Any suggestions?

Sorry mate, no. The puma spot by you seems compelling.