Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Old Photos of easter road

To lift the current gloom has anyone got any old photos of easter road from the dim and distant past. Ive tried to attach one but no idea if it worked😀
    Attached Images Attached Images

It worked! Photo is from mid 60s. The old geezer in the middle is my grandad who was groundsman at the time. Took me to my first games as a youngster in late 60s.

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    It worked! Photo is from mid 60s. The old geezer in the middle is my grandad who was groundsman at the time. Took me to my first games as a youngster in late 60s.
    Not as far back in time as yours, but here's one of me in the (most recent version of the old East 😀)
    Attached Images Attached Images

Superb, that is some claim to fame regarding your grandad groundsman
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Superb, that is some claim to fame regarding your grandad groundsman
    Aye he said it was his pitch preparation that helped us beat Real Madrid...auld chancer.

"There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    I'm sure there was a thread similar to this a couple of years ago, a lot of brilliant photos were added

Was that Harry Reeding

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Was that Harry Reeding
    No. Tam Scotland.

What does this game look like ?

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    What does this game look like ?
    Is it against Aberdeen when Joe Baker returned.. The white socks are a clue (Maybe!)

Anyone name all the Hibs players in this image ?

Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    Is it against Aberdeen when Joe Baker returned.. The white socks are a clue (Maybe!)
    👍

Alex Cropley, Johnny Graham, Pat Stanton, Joe McBride, Peter Cormack and .........not sure, maybe Billy McEwan ?

Quote Originally Posted by Feed McGraw View Post
    Alex Cropley, Johnny Graham, Pat Stanton, Joe McBride, Peter Cormack and .........not sure, maybe Billy McEwan ?
    Interesting I thought Johnny Graham might be a sweat sodden Johnny Hamilton?

Eric Stevenson in the background

@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar

I agree, thats Johnny Hamilton

Billy, my first instinct was it was Johnny Graham, I`m sure he wore his shirt like that, although I think Johnny Hamilton wore it outside his shorts too a lot of the time - you could be right, it could be Hammy. The guy I think might be Billy McEwan is facing the camera between McBride & Cormack. I can`t see Eric Stevenson in the photo !!

Quote Originally Posted by alhibby View Post
    Hammy was always covered in sweat

I remember one 5-1 win over Thistle the ba came oot at the corner flag he came over to take the kick I threw the ba back at him he said to me ‘ Thanks wee man I’m *****ing knackered ‘ wi a big smile on his big red coupon

Billy, my first instinct was it was Johnny Graham, I`m sure he wore his shirt like that, although I think Johnny Hamilton wore it outside his shorts too a lot of the time - you could be right, it could be Hammy. The guy I think might be Billy McEwan is facing the camera between McBride & Cormack. I can`t see Eric Stevenson in the photo !!
    I see Eric now

That is Billy McEwan Stevie wearing #11

Yeah, I added a post that I`d seen Eric - I just didn`t see him at all at first he was kinda hidden ! Auld age

Quote Originally Posted by alhibby View Post
    I`m still not sure al, I think you & Billy are probably right, but they have a similarity and the length of the hair is more Johnny Graham. I thought I`d be able to tell them apart but with that photo I`m struggling a wee bit.

@hibs.net private member Groathillgrump's Avatar
    Fixed the OP's photo so nobody gets a sore neck looking at it.

20230103_180822.jpg

To lift the current gloom has anyone got any old photos of easter road from the dim and distant past. Ive tried to attach one but no idea if it worked😀
    Didnae realise the slope was so bad back then, no wonder we won a few.

Quote Originally Posted by Groathillgrump View Post
    Fixed the OP's photo so nobody gets a sore neck looking at it.

20230103_180822.jpg
    Cheers. Not very good at that sort of thing😁

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    Didnae realise the slope was so bad back then, no wonder we won a few.
    My auld grandad reckoned that if you lay on the ground at the half way line you would just see the crossbar ie an 8 foot drop. Not sure if true but had no reason to doubt him. Edit...just realised you were talking about the photo lol.

First Team Breakthrough 7-Heaven's Avatar
    Is Peter Marinello not in the picture?

Quote Originally Posted by 7-Heaven View Post
    Is Peter Marinello not in the picture?
    Struggling to find Marinello Cropley and McEwan all playing together for the first team at Easter Road tbh