Nostalgia and "matchday experience"

In recent times the phrase "matchday experience" is often used
    Of course me being a child of the 50s/60s would have experienced "gauntaethegame" a bit different back then
    I found this among an old email archive
    I penned it about ten year ago and it was read out on the old Edinburgh radio station Talk 107 fitba show.
    The very man that does rAngers tv i think read it out

This is a segment
    My memories of "matchday experience" !!

Goalies wae bunnets, and big woolly jerseys
    referees in blazers, bams fighting wae razors
    changing ends at half-time,fans blootered on wine
    gettin lift overs, reading roy of the rovers
    fans fighting for places. seeing awe the same faces
    playin in the snaw.. wae that big leather baw

waving yer banner.. paying one and a tanner
    nae fitba on sunday.. or even a monday
    getting hame late... the baws up the slate
    call me an old fogie. todays games a bogie
    bring the terracing back..ye cant beat the craic
    .................................................. ...................................

Hope it brings back memories of some of the more mature Hibernians on this forum
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 19-08-2022 at 10:13 AM.

@hibs.net private member Green Reaper's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Of course me being a child of the 50s/60s would have experienced "gauntaethegame" a bit different back then
    I penned it about ten year ago and it was read out on the old Edinburgh radio station Talk 107 fitba show.

This is a segment

.................................................. ...................................

Hope it brings back memories of some of the more mature Hibernians on this forum
    Not quite as ‘mature’ as many others in the board but that did bring back many memories and also raised other bits like the wee blue disabled cars and the excitement of noticing tv cameras in the stand or the van outside, we’re oan’ tv the night! That one seems very strange now. Going to get the pink news was also special, even if you lost as you were reading about your beloved Hibs 💚

Matchday Experience

Quote Originally Posted by Green Reaper View Post
    Not quite as ‘mature’ as many others in the board but that did bring back many memories and also raised other bits like the wee blue disabled cars and the excitement of noticing tv cameras in the stand or the van outside, we’re oan’ tv the night! That one seems very strange now. Going to get the pink news was also special, even if you lost as you were reading about your beloved Hibs 💚
    I used to get 2/6 (12 1/2 pence) pocket money
    The 49 bus to the game and back 3d each way
    Programe 3d
    Entry 1/6
    Sweets 3d

If I got a lift over that left me 1/6 for a pie supper on the way home

Perfect day out

Eagerly checking the wobbly half time scores from the manual scoreboard from a borrowed programme

Avoiding the overspill as someone pees into a can or where they stood

Standing next to the guy with a tranny to get an update from other grounds around the country

Legendary decent Sports Radio Commentators David Francey George Davidson Alistair Alexander and Bob Crampsey

Wriggleys Spearmint or Macaroon bars to munch on - washed doon wi watered doon Kia Ora

I’ll be your dog !

Or was that Um Bongo?

Opposition player goes doon injured ‘ Dig a hole and bury him’

Polis lift a fan from the Terrace to the sound of our version of Dixon of Dock Green

The smell o baccy and stale alcohol

Empty beer boatils

Hilarious craic from the Terraces well worth the admission alone

Sticking your scarf up your jooks as you swap ends

Nothing to beat the sight of the cabbage running out under the drench floodlighting the green tops and white sleeves reflecting resplendently under the lights

The anticipation of the big European nights

We might be gash in our domestic league but the knowledge that on our day in a one off we could beat anyone at Easter Road

Barcelona Real Madrid Sporting Lisbon made a gallant bid

Hamburg Liverpool Hadjuk Split Napoli etc etc ......
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 20-08-2022 at 07:32 AM.

@hibs.net private member H18S NX's Avatar

This is a segment

.......Aye,we are no getting any younger Mick,hope yer keeping well m8

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    A wonderful time to be watching the Hibs. Walking back to the bus station after the game, sometimes buying an early edition evening news with the final scores in the stop press or standing in a crowd round the electrical shop window next to the Playhouse ( I've forgotten the name) and watching the football results on a black and white TV.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Eagerly checking the wobbly half time scores from the manual scoreboard from a borrowed programme

Standing next to the guy with a tranny to get an update from other grounds around the country

Legendary decent Sports Radio Commentators David Francey George Davidson Alistair Alexander and Bob Crampsey

Wriggleys Spearmint or Macaroon bars to munch on washed doon wi watered doon Kia Ora

I’ll be your dog !

Or was that Um Bongo?

Polis lift a fan from the Terrace to the sound of our version of Dixon of Dock Green

Empty beer boatils

Nothing to beat the sight of the cabbage running out under the drench floodlighting the green tops and white sleeves reflecting resplendently under the lights

We might be gash in our domestic league but the knowledge that on our day in a one off we could beat anyone at Easter Road
    Um bongo um bongo they drink it in the Congo 🇨🇩

Goalies with no gloves.
    Black & white boots
    Linament
    Mascots warming up with the keeper b4 ko
    Stand where you want

When i wrote "bams fighting wae razors" i had actually seen bams fighting wae razors
    It was at a Glasgow Cup Final late 60s Old Firm game. Huge crowd.
    I was in the Celtic end and two Glasgow street gangs fought it out on the terracing
    Fleet and Cumbie it was (gang names)
    Wae chibs and razors,bottles and boots.
    The terracing back then at Hampden was huge.
    I got on my toes,off down to the front.
    The Cave was never like that !!

Another one
    Me my brothers Billy and John exiting Hampden after League Cup Final'72

Bampot full o drink randomly and aimlessly waving the weapon of choice ,the cutthroat razor, at Hibs fans.
    Good job he was drunk. Some in the crowd sorted him out.

He wisnae gaun tae the Dennistoun Palais that night fur a lumber !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 19-08-2022 at 08:31 PM.

Sinking into the ground when 2/3rds of the main terracing was still earth and it was pouring.
    Rushing along the channel separating the top terracing from the rest when the other team won the toss and made us play down the hill first half and then battling back along it to change ends at half time.
    Watching the ground fill up at early(2.00and 2.30)kick offs when the pubs closed at 2.10.
    Playing football and then up to Easter Road for the gates to open 20 minutes into the second half.
    Having a Celtic supporter P down the back of my trousers and then give me two pounds,ten shillings to get them cleaned-enough to buy a new pair in Clinkscales in Junction Street and get some change. He was drunk-probably his family did without for the rest of the week.

Getting home after the match and getting sent out for the Pink News.
    Getting the special trains to away games and also the football special buses from St Andrew Sq bus station to away games.
    Going back to your bus after an away game to find that there are broken windows.
    Seeing neds from the West chucking stuff at your bus after an away game.
    Skipping school to queue for tickets for big games.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Nobody other than the groundsman on the pitch at half time repairing the odd divot here and there.

This is a segment

Michael, I can smell the nostalgia. Nothing will ever mean more to me than walking into ER, coming over the terrace, whether Dunbar, North or what is now East and seeing the ground in front of me. Makes my old heart ache. God bless the Hibs!

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Wriggleys Spearmint or Macaroon bars to munch on washed doon wi watered doon Kia Ora

I’ll be your dog !

Or was that Um Bongo?

Empty beer boatils

I'd forgotten about Kia Ora Billy, I looked up the ad on You Tube about 20 minutes ago and I'm still laughing. F*** me the PC Gestapo would have a field day with that
    Last edited by HoboHarry; 20-08-2022 at 12:07 AM.

They will be brewing up a storm!

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I'd forgotten about Kia Ora Billy, I looked up the ad on You Tube about 20 minutes ago and I'm still laughing. F*** me the PC Gestapo would have a field day with that
    Yip I remember the wee laddie’s wi the pink tops and stupid Thunderbird hats used to walk round the ash track at Tiny with their trays watching the game you had to try and get their attention I think they sold watered down Kia Ora and proper old fashioned wagon wheels and they never had any change
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 20-08-2022 at 02:45 AM.

I loved meeting my Brother and mates before a game and to be honest no matter who we played on the Saturday there was an excitement, all week at work it would be football chat, few beers on a Friday night to loosen the vocal chords for the Saturday

No mobile phones or media distractions in those days, Ceefax was your friend. Meeting place organised on the Friday night and those that were not present just had to guess where we would be for pre match pints

Normally hit JPs, or commonly known as Meadowbank snooker centre, then onto the Marionville bar before hitting the Loch Inn. A few after the game at the Golden Gates to catch up with some other mates and a chat about next Saturdays game which win, lose or draw or league position couldnt come around quick enough

Sadly though I dont have the same enthusiasm, maybe age, maybe because a few of my friends are no longer here or maybe because Im a boring auld fart who doesnt, or very rarely drinks nowadays

Or maybe its just hibs, will always be my first love though and I will treasure all those memories, those great alcohol fuelled days of radgeness with like minded folk

Get right ****ing intae them today hibs 🇳🇬🇳🇬

Quote Originally Posted by H18S NX View Post
    .......Aye,we are no getting any younger Mick,hope yer keeping well m8
    Coping ,,just! Good health to U2 Gordon /

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Michael, I can smell the nostalgia. Nothing will ever mean more to me than walking into ER, coming over the terrace, whether Dunbar, North or what is now East and seeing the ground in front of me. Makes my old heart ache. God bless the Hibs!
    I can vaguely remember the game when i walked up the main terracing stair with James and his pal and oor cousin Denis Devlin,who played goal for Morton and Falkirk among others
    I would still be at primary school.
    Then to reach the top look down and see the mass crowd shimmering under the floodlights and the grass so bright and Green
    The then roars from such a vast crowd. Frfightening,yet exciting for a wee boy.
    Took yer breathe away... 44 thousand plus screaming like banshees

It was so very different from the drab dreary surroundings poor people back then would endure every day.
    And that is one reason people went to fooball even if the didnt know it !
    The Holy Ground was an oasis of life and a bit of respite during those dire times.
    People nowadays think...the Grassmarket =fringe= Tourists all trendy etc
    When my family lived in the Grassmarket... it was certainly not Tourist Country .or trendy!
    Poor run down place back then, tenants later victims of social engineering and moved out to schemes.

I digress

A bit older now ! But not yet old enough for the pub,
    Regular saturdays,attend game then up the road for a sit doon Fish tea at the Tiffen in Easter Road.
    Get our sweeties and juice, then off up to the Rgent picture hoose.
    Near 26 bus stop for journey back to Clerry,
    I had a milk job .So was loaded on a Saturday !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 20-08-2022 at 11:05 AM.