Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Joe Newell.

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Possibly controversial opinion here but Hibs won’t improve until we upgrade on him.
    Agree. Yes, he was better in the 2nf half, thanks to Neilson sitting in for the 0-1, but if he is to be the midfield general then I'm not sure I'll be enjoying much this season.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Wikipedia says he’s scored 1 goal in 79 games for us?

Im sure he’s scored more than that, I remember the one against Dundee Utd, what other ones am I missing?

He's howling. I'm not arsed if he can be Zidane 1 game in 100, he's consistently poor.

He doesn't dominate games, he's not a goal threat, he's not even a genuine playmaker like Scottie was.

Move him on and get someone in who can do one of the three and we'll improve.

Having said that, Campbell and JDH are probably even worse.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Wikipedia says he’s scored 1 goal in 79 games for us?

Im sure he’s scored more than that, I remember the one against Dundee Utd, what other ones am I missing?
    Was that not a cup game? He scored away to St Mirren but other than that I'm struggling to recall others.

Hibs lose - Newell is the worst midfielder ever
    Hibs draw - Newell had a great game.

He’s not up to scratch. On his 4th manager and we’ve had the same problems with every manager. He has one good game followed by 4 bad games.

We have a really good team and squad. Midfield is the problem. Bin Newell and get someone else in and we could be challenging for 3rd.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post
    He's howling. I'm not arsed if he can be Zidane 1 game in 100, he's consistently poor.

He doesn't dominate games, he's not a goal threat, he's not even a genuine playmaker like Scottie was.

Move him on and get someone in who can do one of the three and we'll improve.

Having said that, Campbell and JDH are probably even worse.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
    You’re comparing Newell to Allan and they’re completely different players

Every corner he took landed in Craig Gordons hands. Would bring in Dylan Tait for a few games to show what he can do.
    B

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Was that not a cup game? He scored away to St Mirren but other than that I'm struggling to recall others.
    Aye, but Wikipedia doesn’t split between league and cup games. Just says one goal in 79 games.

Even assuming it’s wrong and he’s got 4 or 5 goals it’s still an Absolutely hopeless record and we’ve every right to demand more from our centre midfielders. Would be different if he’s a defensive midfielder with no expectation of getting forward but he’s not, he’s got all the ability to drive forward and should do better.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    I like Newell but he never shows up for the big games, he just wasn’t good enough yet again today. His set pieces were awful.

Just another average performance from Joe again but have definitely seen worse from him.

Did play one nice through ball to Cabraja second half but really needs to cut out the silly fouls.

Not a chance he's getting sold so we have to get used to another season.

Quote Originally Posted by BT58 View Post
    Every corner he took landed in Craig Gordons hands. Would bring in Dylan Tait for a few games to show what he can do.
    B
    His corners were embarrassingly bad.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    I like Newell but he never shows up for the big games, he just wasn’t good enough yet again today. His set pieces were awful.
    How can you like Newell if he never turns up for the big games.
    Are you judging him on games v Bonnyrigg Rose.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    If Joe played to his full potential week in week out, he would be playing in a level well above the SPL. Trouble is that on his off days, he comes across as just not being arsed to put a shift in. Nothing worse than that. What he needs is real pressure on his place.
    A level well above the SPL.
    You are kidding yourself on.
    He offers nothing.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    How can you like Newell if he never turns up for the big games.
    Are you judging him on games v Bonnyrigg Rose.
    I like him cos I do think there’s a good player in him which is the frustrating thing when he doesn’t bring it to the big games.

Also I don’t have the hatred for him that many on here seem to.

1st half he was pish, 2nd half just a wee bit better than pish, he show for the ball as much as he wants but until he starts doing something with the ball we still need better than him, for me he's still a showpony that decided to turn when he can be arsed, him and others in that midfield is the reason 2 managers got sacked, time to go.

Joe Newell is simply not good enough , been proven, time and time again. Time for him to go and reinvent a progressive midfield.

Nothing wrong with Newell today. Our midfield were fine until we switched to a 2.

Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    Nothing wrong with Newell today. Our midfield were fine until we switched to a 2.
    Newell was better later in the game than he was when we had three in there, when he contributed nothing.

Do you not think our midfield should offer some sort of goal threat?

He's our best midfielder.

1st half sheite, 2nd half much much better, just do it more Joe, you have the ability.
    He has the ability but needs to push forward more take a chance get into the box .He frustrates a lot of the time with his back and side passes when a drop of the shoulder
    would have him 10 yards further forward. He could do a great job but lacks the confidence.

Quote Originally Posted by Mutu View Post
    I’d have Kenneh and JDH ahead of him.

We need more from him

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Mutu View Post
    He's really isn't. First half he was easily the poorest out of the three. Second half he had a decent wee spell where he shows what he's capable of. Unfortunately what he's capable of isn't anywhere near consistent enough.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    A level well above the SPL.
    You are kidding yourself on.
    He offers nothing.
    When he's good he's really good. Just not really good enough times IMO. He gives the impression that he's not really worried about losing his place, and that's not a good signal for any player to send.

I think today showed both good and bad of him, we've all seen how well he can play, but today he was poor then very good.

He just never produces it enough for me, maybe when we bring in another midfielder he can do it more often alongside someone better in there, if not we will just see more of the same.
    This, but how much is him or the team he was/is in? Overall things are improving so hope he can shine more f often.

He definitely wasnt the problem today, even first half.
    Kenneth looked like a different player to last week when you'd hope he'd dominate like a Bartley or Jack. Henderson, as someone else said, looked like a lost wee boy while Campbell did what he does.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Newell was better later in the game than he was when we had three in there, when he contributed nothing.
    We controlled the midfield when we had 3. The biggest problem. Was wasting Henderson out wide. The bringing Doidge out screwed us uo.

Screwed us? We were all over the shop at the start of the second half. Little happened after the sub but Hearts should have killed the game at the start of the second half before Neilson **** the bed with his defensive subs and let us back in.

Thought Doidge was crap, but we were less crap after he came on.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    He’s 29, we’ve seen all we will ever see from him. Into his fourth season and we’re still talking about midfield being our biggest issue and a key player in Newell being anonymous for 45 minutes and better/good in the other 45.

Is that enough for us ever to be more than an inconsistent team that probably finishes closer to the bottom six than 3rd more often than not?

Build the midfield around either Kenneth or Henderson, and build it properly. Not just sign players that might be good players but with no obvious plan as to how they all fit together and compliment each other. We’re long since past the time to be ruthless. We got rid of Gogic in January and thought only signing a similar player in Kenneth was the answer to resolving our midfield issues we’ve had for 3 or 4 years now.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Do you not think our midfield should offer some sort of goal threat?
    This. It isn't really working right now. We need another attacking mid this window. If not I don't think we'll see much more goals than last season.