Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    It was a shy when I was at school ages ago and also a bye kick, not a goal kick. Don’t hear that used much either these days

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    I was at a Sygenta amateurs match with my daughter and son in law, both 30ish years old. Ball went out of play and I commented that it was our shy. I got looks of bemusement and was asked "What's a shy?"
    Am I wrong or is it just old fashioned to call it that?
    Shies and bye kicks, from a time long gone. From the LOTG, throw-ins and goal kicks.

Always a shy for me. *Im 58

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Why use two words when one will do?

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Why use two words when one will do?
    Why use eight words not six?

Definitely were known as that when I was at primary school, but I wouldn't use it any more I guess.

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by kaimendhibs View Post
    Always a shy for me. *Im 58

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
    And for me, and I was a teenager when you were born 😱

Regardless of what we call it, let's hope we can make better use of them next season.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Was predominately a shy when I was growing up, but throw in gradually took over. Same with bye kick/goal kick.

Only thing that winds me up is when I hear commentators say “corner ball”. It’s a corner, simple as that.

I’m 30 and heard/used both growing up but I think that’s predominately down to my grandad who I went to all the games with.

Also, never used ‘kick off’ it’s always been ‘centre’ to me.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Another one heard at football matches is "skin him" usually old gents in West Stand when Boyler is on the ball running at the defence. Always wondered the origin of that
    Haven’t heard that in years. Used to say it all the time.

I shout “Drive” at my sons footie games when I want to encourage him to “skin” a player.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Another one heard at football matches is "skin him" usually old gents in West Stand when Boyler is on the ball running at the defence. Always wondered the origin of that
    Another similar phrase you might say to your pal when leaving the ground.
    ' what a game so and so had today. Played "oot his skin"
    I suggest "skin him " could have been an athletics term.
    Running,catching and beating the race leader to the finish.
    Athletes of course showing lots of skin !

"Took him to the cleaners!" Oh no ,not another one !

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    SHY

I had a wee search when the topic came on here.
    It does appear to be more a Scottish term for throw in,in years gone by.
    Am 70 now, seems everyone called it a shy when i wiz wee !.
    Same with bye kick and bye line terms.

In recent seasons, it appears Hibs players have been shy to take quick throw-ins
    zzzzzzzzs

PS
    Terms that scunner me
    Onion basket and back stick.

Oh, and so and so is "playing in the hole"
    People referring to players as ballers really gets on My two bob bits! 😀

"Put it in the mixer"

I have heard Micheal Stewart calling it a bye kick a few times watching him on BBC Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    People referring to players as ballers really gets on My two bob bits! ��

Me tae. Gets on my thrupnies!

Another one "There is a player in there"

That scene from Alien with John Hurt springs to mind !

Quote Originally Posted by Tambo View Post
    "Put it in the mixer"

I have heard Michael Stewart calling it a bye kick a few times watching him on BBC Scotland.
    I think Craig Paterson must have done a stint in a brickie squad.
    He could use that term more than once in a game when he was a regular co-commentator.
    Maybe one of the first i recall using the term.

@hibs.net private member Green Reaper's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Over the pond in soccermom land,they call it a P K

Nil Nil is Zero Zero A draw is a tie
    Bovril and a pie is soda and hotdog
    If the yanks had got their way back when they first hosted the World Cup we would be playing 4 quarters and not two halves.
    That was suggested to max advert breaks /revenue
    Just look at the Superbowl,for example.
    They also wanted to make the goals bigger so easier to score as they are used to high scores in their sports.

The play off game on tv right now from Wembley.
    Pre match chat.. someone referred to Forest having some good "ball carriers"
    The mind boggles !
    Hope they wash their hands afterwards !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 29-05-2022 at 05:01 PM.