Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    On TV the Real v Eintract final and Tommy Gemmell’s equaliser in the 1967 final.

In the flesh Davy Wilson’s goal and a last minute Eric Caldow penalty in 1960 when we beat England at Hampden for the first time since before the war.

As a young teen my ever Scotand game v england at hampden. Dalglish stuck one through clemences legs in front of 100k. I thought it would always be like that...

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    As a young teen my ever Scotand game v england at hampden. Dalglish stuck one through clemences legs in front of 100k. I thought it would always be like that...
    And that goal resulted in the best and funniest banner i saw at a football match.
    The Liverpool Kop back then sported some great and comical banners.
    But the joke was on them and Ray after King Kenny's nutmeg at Hampden.
    The following Auld Enemy game at Wembley,a banner made by a couple of guys i knew, read....

" Ray Clemence opens his legs
    wider than Christine Keeler "

Gordon Banks making 'that' save from Pele in 1970.

Tommy Gemmell booting Helmut Haller up in the air in Hamburg

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Tommy Gemmell booting Helmut Haller up in the air in Hamburg
    Ha! That was a fantastic moment

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    Ha! That was a fantastic moment

https://youtu.be/Lnja51VticQ

That's magnificent.

I'd never seen or heard of that before.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    That's magnificent.

I'd never seen or heard of that before.
    Very important World Cup match Gemmell lost the plot and Scotland lost 2-3

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Came away from Hampden that day feeling emotional. From being seconds away to recording one of the great victories in Scottish football history to end up drawing the game.

Still haven’t forgiven Armstrong for what he did.
    If I ever own a boozer I would have a sign behind the bar saying Armstrong should never be served.

I blame Craig Gordon for the goal more than Armstrong.

As brilliant as he’s been so many times against Hibs it was a pitiful piece of goalkeeping. Shameful.

I still get pissed off thinking about it.

First Team Regular dalkeith stu's Avatar

Gamertag: hibeestu07
    In the away end for the Super Spreader game at Anfield. Fantastic game and amazing atmosphere!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    This, but with Archie's commentary. I think he creamed himself........
    "There's an overlap!!!!!!!!" - he was getting quite caught up in all. I liked Archie's commentating. I wasn't a big Arthur Montford fan, but Archie on the telly and David Francey on the radio.

My 10 year old self would have sworn blind that the Welsh defender handled it too.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Scottish Cup final 1991, Motherwell 4 Dundee United 3. I was in the Motherwell end as my dad’s mate was from round there. Ally Maxwell playing on with a broken rib, Motherwell winning in extra time, it was an incredible match.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    Scottish Cup final 1991, Motherwell 4 Dundee United 3. I was in the Motherwell end as my dad’s mate was from round there. Ally Maxwell playing on with a broken rib, Motherwell winning in extra time, it was an incredible match.
    Me too in the United end with pals, watched the full match replay during the first lockdown it was like watching a different sport. Some really hefty challenges. Great game

Jimmy Glass (Carlisle goalie) injury time winner for Carlisle v Plymouth to keep them in the football league was an amazing moment, one of my mates English team is Carlisle so I remember it well.

Hearts conceding 2 goals in the last couple of minutes in the semi of The Scottish Cup v Celtic to lose 1-2 was quite spectacular too. 😀

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Jimmy Glass (Carlisle goalie) injury time winner for Carlisle v Plymouth to keep them in the football league was an amazing moment, one of my mates English team is Carlisle so I remember it well.

Hearts conceding 2 goals in the last couple of minutes in the semi of The Scottish Cup v Celtic to lose 1-2 was quite spectacular too. 😀
    I was studying at Uni up in Dundee at that time and one of my mates was a Plymouth fan. Since Carlisle was "relatively" (!!) easy to get to , he went down and went to the game.

So witnessed that one going in from the away end.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    The 2007 UEFA cup final Sevilla v Espanyol at Hampden ...... I was watching on the telly and it looked like Sevilla who were 2 - 1 up with 5 minutes to go in extra time were about to win, the cameras panned to the crowd and focused on this really old guy sitting at the Espanyol end, he was crying his eyes out and my heart went out to him, he must have supported Espanyol all his life, which must be a hell of a hard shift in a city with Barcelona in it, and he could obviously see that one chance for his club to be the story for once slipping away.

From that second I was praying for Espanyol to equalise for the old guy and with 5 minutes to go they did, I launched myself off the couch with a giant yeeeeesssss and the cat sitting on my partners knee got the fright of its life dug in his claws and ripped her leg a giud yin .... for some reason she was even less of a fitba fan than she had been before that

Sevilla won the game on penalties, so the auld guy didn't get his moment of glory after all
    I work in Glasgow and was travelling through on the 900 bus on the day of that match. Quite a lot of the visiting supporters chose to stay in Edinburgh and travelled through for the match.

I went mid-morning and found the bus full of Sevilla fans and one lone Espanyol supporter. The Sevilla fans were singing all the way to Glasgow. The one Espanyol die hard kept adding (in a rather squeaky voice) “and Espanyol” to every mention of Sevilla.

I was studying at Uni up in Dundee at that time and one of my mates was a Plymouth fan. Since Carlisle was "relatively" (!!) easy to get to , he went down and went to the game.

So witnessed that one going in from the away end.
    I love the place, wouldn't want to stay there though. Blackpool likewise. I'm hitting the highspots of Blackpool, Preston and Oldham this weekend. 🖒🍺🖒

Pele getting that equaliser in Escape to Victory

Any goal against England 😀😏

Very important World Cup match Gemmell lost the plot and Scotland lost 2-3
    There was a spoof about it on Fantasy Football League a few years ago :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6H3kleEmi8

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Fun starts at 20:30

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HPB7wvhjBe8

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Any goal against England 😀😏
    England v Iceland at the Euros, never saw that coming....could not believe just how bad some of the English passing was, kept expecting them the 'click' but it never happened.
    Would love to say Hearts v Brora but only found out about that the next day......must have read the BBC headline about 10 times before it finally sunk in and I felt confident enough to start sending out texts to rather quiet Hearts supporting mates. I've got one Jambo mate who was originally from Brora, moved down here when he was just a kid......the look of utter confusion on his face as he couldn't work out if he should be proud or sickened
    The one game that has stuck in my mind the longest though is the 1982 world cup final. I was 7 and it was my 'first' finals (remember nothing of 78). The whole tournament blew me away....and Tardelli's celebration must be one of the most iconic moments in sport.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post

Henry Smith's finest hour.

During my childhood, whenever we'd be playing football in the park and the goalkeeper came for a cross and dropped it, it was known as "doing a Henry" courtesy of those beautiful few minutes.

Euro 2020 final! Waving that Italian flag with pride 😅

@hibs.net private member MagicSwirlingShip's Avatar
    Rene Higuita anyone? There was about 25 laddies from p7 down to p3 trying the famous “scorpion kick” on the grass at school the following days lunchtime.

Also a real early memory was Nayim lobbing Seaman in the Cup Winners Cup final. That and Raith beating Celtic on Pens in the Coca Cola cup final. Probably all around the same few years

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar

Henry Smith's finest hour.

During my childhood, whenever we'd be playing football in the park and the goalkeeper came for a cross and dropped it, it was known as "doing a Henry" courtesy of those beautiful few minutes.
    Same

Gascoigne’s goal against Scotland and Liverppool winning the first ever Merseyside derby FA cup final 3-1 after being 1-0 down at half time to a Lineker goal, one of my greatest trips to Wembley.

I was just thinking about that goal today! Couldn't remember what team it was!