Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Josh Campbell

Quote Originally Posted by Alfred E Newman View Post
    Maybe you could tell us how being slating on here on here most weeks helps the guy.
    This whole forum becomes utterly pointless if people aren’t allowed go give their opinions on it.

Like it or not, footballers receive criticism. If Campbell needs to be exempt from criticism to be able to perform (which I have no doubt is not the case) then he’ll not make it at any sort of decent level.

Thankfully I’m sure he’ll be able to handle it.
    Last edited by Stubbsy90+2; 06-03-2022 at 08:10 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by tonyrougier123 View Post
    Btw most on here would start joe newell over Campbell If I’m gauging this correct?

Played 19
    Zero goals
    2 assists.

I’ve seen newell give the ball away a lot as well.
    Plus 5 yellows to Josh’s 4 in less games.

Currently hiding in the treatment room again.
    Newell is miles better. Not even close. He is ****ing injured. Not hiding anywhere.

Quote Originally Posted by wills View Post
    totally agree, young player who has broke into the first team this season. Josh has great energy and will continue to improve. We have no experience in the middle of the park to guide the youngsters. To single out Campbell when JDH and Wright hide is ludicrous, get off the laddies back.
    JDH never ever hides. Totally opposite, always wanting the ball. He is much better than Campbell

First Team Breakthrough Tommy75's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    It's a strange one.

Most agree he's played well against the Old Firm, including me.

However, against the so called "lesser teams" where we are expected to win or at least have the bulk of the possession he doesn't contribute an awful lot in terms of positive play.

I was surprised when he got a three year extension but I don't think it's a huge financial gamble as he won't be earning that much.

He just might be a late developer, time will tell.

He's got a good physique and a good engine but no doubt needs to improve and show more.

Maybe next season when surely we will be stronger a spell in the B team might help him.

Bottom line is I haven't a clue how it will pan out.

I think he has come off well against the old firm because we don't have much possession in those games. He can run about and stick his foot in here and there and that's deemed a good performance against the OF.

Against St Johnstone, Ross Co etc where we have the majority of the ball he just doesn't look up to it. Campbell has been given a chance and unfortunately for me isn't taking it.

He's a young player but he's not a youth player. He'll be 22 in a couple of months so he really needs to start contributing or he could find himself dropping down the leagues pretty quickly.

The issue is someone at the club thought it was a good idea to give him a long term contract.

We have a guy who is almost 22 so not a bairn, who has played not a kick in the erse of 100 senior games so not inexperienced on a 3 year contract and he is miles off it.

He wouldn't be close to a start if those mentioned were fit, if we finally get recruitment right in the summer he'll be even further from a start but we are tied to paying him a wage until 2025. I'd love him to shut me and everyone else up and prove us wrong but there isn't one element of his game that stands out as being something to work with beyond him trying hard.

Magennis injury was a known issue in January.

Again, you have to ask why the club left us so short in the middle of the park.

Shaun’s system relies on 2 central midfielders - currently we have 2 that are fit, one of whom is Josh Campbell, plus Lewis to fill in.

Not good enough.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post

Shaun’s system relies on 2 central midfielders - currently we have 2 that are fit, one of whom is Josh Campbell, plus Lewis to fill in.

Not good enough.
    I think we were banking on Magennis being back and it’s backfired on us when he picked up a further injury.

Going forward we basically need to plan without him IMO. He’s been here for the best part of two seasons and missed god knows how many games (having missed loads of games in his last couple of seasons at St Mirren). If we ever get him fit then it’s a big bonus but we can’t plan based on it.

The issue is someone at the club thought it was a good idea to give him a long term contract.

We have a guy who is almost 22 so not a bairn, who has played not a kick in the erse of 100 senior games so not inexperienced on a 3 year contract and he is miles off it.

He wouldn't be close to a start if those mentioned were fit, if we finally get recruitment right in the summer he'll be even further from a start but we are tied to paying him a wage until 2025. I'd love him to shut me and everyone else up and prove us wrong but there isn't one element of his game that stands out as being something to work with beyond him trying hard.
    At the moment he's just not at the required standard to play in our team, but just at the moment he's needed, as we are down to the bare bones.

We saw again yesterday that Allan is finished, of course he has his problems, but he just cant cut it anymore, and we have to play Campbell.

Against the bigots, Campbell can be quite effective, but when we have a lot of the ball, Campbell really suffers, as he's not very good at passing or running with the ball, he's just not a very good footballer.

As you said, he wont be anywhere near the team when we get players back, and the long contract does seem a little strange.

At the moment he's just not at the required standard to play in our team, but just at the moment he's needed, as we are down to the bare bones.

We saw again yesterday that Allan is finished, of course he has his problems, but he just cant cut it anymore, and we have to play Campbell.

Against the bigots, Campbell can be quite effective, but when we have a lot of the ball, Campbell really suffers, as he's not very good at passing or running with the ball, he's just not a very good footballer.

As you said, he wont be anywhere near the team when we get players back, and the long contract does seem a little strange.
    When Allan came on yesterday we played a lot better. Not saying he's a starter every week, don't think his body could handle it, but he's nowhere near finished

Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    When Allan came on yesterday we played a lot better. Not saying he's a starter every week, don't think his body could handle it, but he's nowhere near finished
    I’d agree but at the same time I just don’t see any way he could start a game. There’s definitely a place for him though and like you said I thought we definitely looked more dangerous when he came on with Melkersen.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar

Circumstances have meant Campbell has played a lot more recently than he would have had we not been down to the bare bones. However, he will be ideal as a squad player once we get more bodies back. His salary will be low, he has development potential, has shown he can handle big occasions when called upon, local boy who supports the club and unlikely to kick up a fuss if not getting a lot of game time. If we compare him to our other squad players this season like Wright and Hallberg, he has contributed more and will probably be on less than a 3rd of their salaries.

The problem is out of possession he is a liability, he picked up another booking yesterday similar to the Celtic game where he fouled a player who had been playing for nearly 90 minutes who’d just ghosted passed him. If we can create a role for him where he has zero defensive responsibility then it might help our lack of creativity issues but it’s not a long term solution.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Did we? Allan came in, gave the ball away, got caught in possession etc.

Melkersen and Hauge have us a bit of directness and movement upbfront and should start in the next game, but Allan gave more silly possession than Campbell did across the 90.

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post

Melkersen and Hauge have us a bit of directness and movement upbfront and should start in the next game, but Allan gave more silly possession than Campbell did across the 90.
    Allan will always do that.

He’ll also come on and play positive, dangerous passes of which he completed a couple yesterday. That’s more than Josh Campbell or Doyle Hayes have done over numerous 90s. He played a more dangerous pass into Melkersen than Campbell or Doyle Hayes have played in god knows how long with his first touch.

We need someone like Allan to at least play a part in games because right now we’ve got absolutely no creativity whatsoever.

Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post

He’ll also come on and play positive, dangerous passes of which he completed a couple yesterday. That’s more than Josh Campbell or Doyle Hayes have done over numerous 90s. He played a more dangerous pass into Melkersen than Campbell or Doyle Hayes have played in god knows how long with his first touch.

We need someone like Allan to at least play a part in games because right now we’ve got absolutely no creativity whatsoever.
    Allan didn't create anything yesterday. It's done. He's miles off it.

Play Melkersen and give Jasper and Hendo someone to supply, maybe even supported by Doidge.

JDH and Campbell can keep us getting zero goals against with porto and whatever spare bodies he has either side of his that week.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post

Not good enough.
    At that point we had Magennis on his way back AND Newell fit. So it's less of an emergency than it is right now, campbell is doing what he can but he is not the person to fill the role he currently has to.

Allan didn't create anything yesterday. It's done. He's miles off it.

Play Melkersen and give Jasper and Hendo someone to supply, maybe even supported by Doidge.

JDH and Campbell can keep us getting zero goals against with porto and whatever spare bodies he has either side of his that week.
    He played a good ball into Melkersen with his first touch and a lovely reverse pass between the full back and centre half (may have been the chance where it was cut back to Melkersen).

His attacking contributions in 15 minutes yesterday outshone the whole teams over the last few games.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Starting to remind me of Ross Chisholm. Works hard but not good enough technically.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Starting to remind me of Ross Chisholm. Works hard but not good enough technically.
    Hes just frustrating. One one occasion yesterday the through ball was on, he pointed where the pass should have went before remembering he only passes towards his own goal. Nowhere near good enough ,, anyone who disagrees watch him off the ball when we have it, very rarely makes himself available and is quite happy to hide behind opposition players

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes

We looked more likely to concede goals as soon as Allan stepped on the pitch, he is very far off the pace, this is no fault of his own, it's just a fact. He gets booked frequently because when he loses the ball he has to make a foul to recover.

Allan is no longer the solution and hasn't been for some time, we need to move on. Sadly we have injuries to key midfielders and didn't bring another in yet either.

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    We looked more likely to concede goals as soon as Allan stepped on the pitch, he is very far off the pace, this is no fault of his own, it's just a fact. He gets booked frequently because when he loses the ball he has to make a foul to recover.

Allan is no longer the solution and hasn't been for some time, we need to move on. Sadly we have injuries to key midfielders and didn't bring another in yet either.
    Did we? I can’t remember ever feeling under threat from St J, either before or after Allan came on. Did they create any chances?

I’m sure someone pointed out recently as well that he’s only has 4 bookings this season in 22 appearances? As a comparison, JDH has 9 in 28 although admittedly much more minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    He's a far better player than Chisholm, and he's physically far superior.

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post

Totally agree that Allan Ian miles off it (predominantly because he’s hardly played all season) but didn’t think we looked more like losing a goal with him on the pitch. Can’t remember them doing anything other than having a couple of corners. We did look (very slightly) brighter with him and Melkerson on the pitch for me.

Yep, was doing what no one else had and played with his head up and put balls forward, our movement improved as well

Give the guy a break, he’s a young player being played out of position. He’s never been a defensive midfielder.

United we stand here....

I haven’t liked the amount of stick Josh has been getting, but I have to admit to seeing a lot of what his critics have been talking about yesterday. It’s maybe a case of him being played for a longer run because we are so short just now, and he’s definitely not our biggest issue and may have something to offer us in the future m. He will surely need to improve to be playing for us regularly next season though; a comment which should apply to many.

Scott Allan’s struggle yesterday reminded me a lot of myself (difference being I was never good) when trying to return having not played games, lacking sharpness and just not managing to get my body to do what I want it to do. Saying that, he was part of the noticeable spark and uplift in tempo when him and Melkerson came on.
    Last edited by WeeRussell; 06-03-2022 at 12:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Totally agree that Allan Ian miles off it (predominantly because he’s hardly played all season) but didn’t think we looked more like losing a goal with him on the pitch. Can’t remember them doing anything other than having a couple of corners. We did look (very slightly) brighter with him and Melkerson on the pitch for me.
    yes like to see them both start the next game

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Give the guy a break, he’s a young player being played out of position. He’s never been a defensive midfielder.

If he’s not, then what is he?

He’s certainly not an attacking midfielder, because he doesn’t create anything.

I think he looks better further back, and he filled in ok as a right back on one occasion. He doesn’t go box to box, he can’t shoot.

Quote Originally Posted by tonyrougier123 View Post
    Aye but I think he’s playing well,and his stats compare favourably against his central partners.

The stats were put up because one guy thinks he doesn’t help hee haw in attack,he has 3 assists that’s more than JDH and newell added together.

He has created 3 goals for us.

One was an absolute peach of a cross to the back stick.

He breaks up play but has less yellow cards than the other two.
    Deary me, when did we start using the number of yellows as an indicator of a player’s contribution, on that basis Roy Keane should’ve played conference football! These assist stats are a joke anyway, and I’m not just saying in reference to Josh. However, crossing the ball into the box is hardly ‘goal out of nothing’ territory and I’m assuming one of his assist starts is the 5 yard square pass to JDH in the build up play to his goal the other week, give me a break. He’s had better assists for opposition teams!

Did we? I can’t remember ever feeling under threat from St J, either before or after Allan came on. Did they create any chances?

I’m sure someone pointed out recently as well that he’s only has 4 bookings this season in 22 appearances? As a comparison, JDH has 9 in 28 although admittedly much more minutes.
    Allan has been booked every 163 minutes this season, only Rocky has a worse record of players who have played 100+ minutes this season.

JDH by comparison has a yellow every 273 minutes in a role where he is likely to be involved in a higher number of challenges.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Allan has been booked every 163 minutes this season, only Rocky has a worse record of players who have played 100+ minutes this season.

JDH by comparison has a yellow every 273 minutes in a role where he is likely to be involved in a higher number of challenges.
    If the frequency with which he’s being booked is being used to demonstrate that he’s finished, then his record of a direct goal involvement every 108 minutes could be used to demonstrate the opposite I suppose.