@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar

Bertie Auld has passed

RIP, Bertie, good memories

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

Before my time, but another legendary name in Scottish football leaves us. Very sad news.

RIP Bertie.

RIP, great memories of Bertie and a great character.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Before my time, but another legendary name in Scottish football leaves us. Very sad news.

RIP Bertie.
    Hibs Manager 1980-82, loved a joke and a cigar

RIP Bertie :(

RIP Bertie.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Sad News indeed Great player and some Character

RIP Bertie, one of the good guys.

The Bertie Auld/Nobby Stiles match up was legendary!

RIP Bertie, always had a smile on his face. 😥

Absolute legend

Silky classy player with a touch of steel

Knowledgeable experienced Manager

Thanks for the memories

https://youtu.be/1cPNeIcdmpk

RIP Bertie
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 14-11-2021 at 09:55 PM.

A legend from a legendary team from a legendary period for Scottish football.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Always remember the crowd chanting for him at the end of game when we beat Raith in the last game of our 1st Division winning season in 80-81 only to find he'd buggered off to Spain after we beat East Stirling during the week!

RIP Bertie.

Among other clubs, the guy served Partick Thistle well as manager between 1974 and 1980

His teams weren't the most adventurous, but he kept them in the top league for five out of six of those seasons, only playing in the second tier for one season because of league re-organisation.

He'll also be long remembered as a winner of the European Cup.

RIP Bertie Auld.

RIP Bertie, great character.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Cut quite a figure at Hibs and put us back in the papers when we were needing it.
    RIP Bertie

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Always remember the crowd chanting for him at the end of game when we beat Raith in the last game of our 1st Division winning season in 80-81 only to find he'd buggered off to Spain after we beat East Stirling during the week!

RIP Bertie.
    Haha I was at that game. He got us promotion at the first time of asking. Quite a character with his penchant for Cuban cigars. RIP.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

RIP Bertie. A real character.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Sad to learn of Berties passing. One of the great characters.

How many of the Lisbon Lions team are still alive now? Like the England World Cup side, they are now at the age where they are passing away.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Jim Craig, John Clark, Willie Wallace and Bobby Lennox.

@hibs.net private member CyberSauzee's Avatar

RIP Bertie.
    Remember that, we were all on the pitch shouting "we want Bertie, we want Bertie."

So sad to hear, he was some player and a real character, he put the "G" in Gallus and could back it up when required. RIP Bertie.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Hard as nails and a real character. RIP Bertie

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Absolute legend

Silky classy player with a touch of steel

Knowledgeable experienced Manager

Thanks for the memories

RIP Bertie
    "Yous have got a point, don't lose it!"

RIP Bertie.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    So sad to hear, he was some player and a real character, he put the "G" in Gallus and could back it up when required. RIP Bertie.
    A great Scottish word. For me it's up there with glaikit and sleekit!

One of the greats of the Scottish game but more importantly a great character.
    Really funny guy who would have a chat with you.
    RIP Bertie, one of life's good guys and a great footballer.

RIP Bertie.
    Remember that.

RIP Bertie.

I saw him score two at Hampden when Celtic won the cup in 1965. That was the start of the modern era for them. Great no.10 type.
    He always had a big cigar on show in the days when that meant classy.

A great of the Scottish game. One of a group of players whose achievements will never be matched. He was manager when I really started getting into Hibs week in and week out. I must have been a total masochist as an 11 year old!! He was the manager of the first Hibs team I saw winning anything. I can actually remember more about that time than I do of some recent seasons so must have made a big impression.
    RIP Bertie