Walking Football - Leith Links, Mondays 11am ( nhc)

Free walking football group at Leith Links starts back on Monday 5th July at 11am run by Street Soccer / Leith Athletic, anyone interested in coming along get in touch
    Attached Images Attached Images

@hibs.net private member StevieT's Avatar
    I've been playing this in Carnoustie for a few weeks now. I love it. It does take a week or so to get into it as no running is allowed but a very enjoyable hour.

11am tomorrow at Leith Links for anyone that fancies it

Quote Originally Posted by tricky View Post
    11am tomorrow at Leith Links for anyone that fancies it
    Where about exactly on the links? Definitely like to give it a try but got a thigh strain (genuinely) just now but would like to check it out.

Outside Leith athletic changing rooms

Quote Originally Posted by pundy man View Post
    Outside Leith athletic changing rooms
    Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Where about exactly on the links? Definitely like to give it a try but got a thigh strain (genuinely) just now but would like to check it out.
    Pop along mate, might take few weeks to build up numbers but should be good

I hope this is a big success. My cousin plays and loves it. I am getting near the age where I might even consider it soon. Its not looking too good for today though.

Been a good first couple of weeks

Back on tomorrow at 11am new faces welcome

Walking football in Dunfermline too but not free. Dunfermline Dynamos are looking for a keeper aged between 50-64. Outfield players welcome too.
    The club costs £25 to join and we pay £10 per month.by standing order.
    Play every Wednesday 10_11am.
    You do get full kit provided ( jersey shorts and socks). League starts officially in Sept and games will be in East Scotland Region affiliated to Walking Football Scotland.
    Pm me if interested.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Walking football in Dunfermline too but not free. Dunfermline Dynamos are looking for a keeper aged between 50-64. Outfield players welcome too.
    The club costs £25 to join and we pay £10 per month.by standing order.
    Play every Wednesday 10_11am.
    You do get full kit provided ( jersey shorts and socks). League starts officially in Sept and games will be in East Scotland Region affiliated to Walking Football Scotland.
    Pm me if interested.

Matty F is over the water & might be interested - quick when he was young but walking would be about right now...

Been playing since 2015 ( I'm 61 now ) if you ever liked playing football no matter the level this is for you. A few tips:

A) If you haven't exercised regularly for a few years it's 50/50 you'll strain something in the first half hour, even if you don't you will be surprised at how much effort is actually involved. You will get used to it, I lasted 30 minutes of my first hour long session, I now play a minimum of 2 hours every week even though I smoke like a lum .... I am 'not' the fittest guy in our team

B) If you become part of a well organised club / team and you haven't been to a team piss up within 3 months there's something wrong with your club, this is as much about socialising as playing fitba, if it isn't it should be.

C) You will behave just the same as you did when you were in your prime the minute you cross the white line, no matter how old you are you will forget to act your age.

D) Age specific tournaments were on the go before the pandemic hit 50 and over and 65 and over usually. There are also tournaments abroad teams can play in, though obviously these are few and far between just now. My club played in Portugal in 2016 and were headed for Spain last year until the pandemic put paid to that.

Unless the club / team you join is full of assholes ( highly unlikely ) it will be one of the best things you ever do
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 21-07-2021 at 12:37 AM.

My auld man plays in Peebles on a fri afternoon and they have a great group of guys. Been tae Portugal a couple of times tae play in comps. I tried it a couple of times, it's harder than u think👍

Quote Originally Posted by Potty78 View Post
    My auld man plays in Peebles on a fri afternoon and they have a great group of guys. Been tae Portugal a couple of times tae play in comps. I tried it a couple of times, it's harder than u think👍
    There’s a tournament at Browns in Portugal every September, that some of my friends have been going too
    Shame it’s been cancelled for 2 years on the trot

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Been playing since 2015 ( I'm 61 now ) if you ever liked playing football no matter the level this is for you. A few tips:

A) If you haven't exercised regularly for a few years it's 50/50 you'll strain something in the first half hour, even if you don't you will be surprised at how much effort is actually involved. You will get used to it, I lasted 30 minutes of my first hour long session, I now play a minimum of 2 hours every week even though I smoke like a lum .... I am 'not' the fittest guy in our team

B) If you become part of a well organised club / team and you haven't been to a team piss up within 3 months there's something wrong with your club, this is as much about socialising as playing fitba, if it isn't it should be.

C) You will behave just the same as you did when you were in your prime the minute you cross the white line, no matter how old you are you will forget to act your age.

D) Age specific tournaments were on the go before the pandemic hit 50 and over and 65 and over usually. There are also tournaments abroad teams can play in, though obviously these are few and far between just now. My club played in Portugal in 2016 and were headed for Spain last year until the pandemic put paid to that.

Unless the club / team you join is full of assholes ( highly unlikely ) it will be one of the best things you ever do

I agree with everything said by Nae Nookie above. Out here in Linlithgow we had an invite to a large tournament in Blackpool last weekend, our over 50s team got beat in the semi final (by an own goal) by the eventual winners and our over 60s won their group.
    Trophy presented by Alan Kennedy the Liverpool legend. Unfortunately I chose not to go!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Potty78 View Post
    Peebles are coming to play our guys this afternoon, tell me what he looks like and I'll kick him for you

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    There’s a tournament at Browns in Portugal every September, that some of my friends have been going too
    Shame it’s been cancelled for 2 years on the trot
    Browns was the tournament we played in .... the complex is excellent but a wee bit oot the toon so most meals are taken there, if like me you don't like rice you are in bother, most meals appeared to be rice based and one night even the bloomin' pudding was rice pudding .... getting a cheeseburger in the town on day 3 was the best thing that ever happened to me

HibbyDave you have a PM

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    HibbyDave you have a PM
    Cheers. Reply sent

Walking football on leith links 11am Mondays still running, new faces welcome

Quote Originally Posted by tricky View Post
    Walking football on leith links 11am Mondays still running, new faces welcome
    CHEAT, you aren't meant to run!!!!

This walking football session is now at Portobello powerleague at 11am on Mondays new players welcome

Just a reminder free walking football session from Street Soccer Scotland every Monday at 11am at Porty Powerleague new players welcome

New players welcome at walking football at Porty 11am on Mondays, free to play,
    ( sorry don’t know how to edit thread title with venue )