The most ill fated hibs chants ever

Come on butchers boys

Singing ten men couldnae carry Scotland seconds before he scored in the 2nd leg of the play offs.

A few in our section where singing about McGregor never giving the ball away just as the game was kicking off against Aberdeen at Hampden..

Any others?

We were singing that Djoum had never won a derby in maroon, on the day he did.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Come on butchers boys

Singing ten men couldnae carry Scotland seconds before he scored in the 2nd leg of the play offs.

A few in our section where singing about McGregor never giving the ball away just as the game was kicking off against Aberdeen at Hampden..

Any others?
    The butcher chant was a good one and it would fit with Hecky but would maybe bring back a few bad memories

Ee aw chants against Dave McPherson every time he played against us didnae often go well! 😢

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Ee aw chants against Dave McPherson every time he played against us didnae often go well! 😢
    Giraffe neck was a good defender, sadly.

@hibs.net private member JoeT_WasTheBest's Avatar
    Andy Dow - "He gets the ball, he scores a goal" after his only (I think) goal in the Derby at Tynie?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Giraffe neck was a good defender, sadly.
    Oh God yes! I remember that one game at Tynie, night game IIRC, think we sang it clear and loud and he scored two...anyone able to clarify that?

Kujabi loved, the Bob Marley classic. Scanned nicely but never caught on.

Not a chant but a song.............

Until recently, it was the fifth line below always got me as being impossible. I always noticed that when the song was played pre 2016 that the stadium announcer always seemed to fade out that particular line.

Glory Glory to the Hibees
    We are the Hibee boys!

And now we've got a younger team, I dinnae want tae brag.
    I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag!
    We're going to top the league next year and win the Scottish flag!
    As we go marching on!

Something seemed to change in 2016

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    Not a chant but a song.............

Until recently, it was the fifth line below always got me as being impossible. I always noticed that when the song was played pre 2016 that the stadium announcer always seemed to fade out that particular line.

We are the Hibee boys!

And now we've got a younger team, I dinnae want tae brag.
    I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag!
    We're going to top the league next year and win the Scottish flag!

As we go marching on!

Something seemed to change in 2016
    Interestingly, winning the league (albeit the Championship) the season after meant both lines were exactly as Hector Nicol predicted.

@hibs.net private member Juice-Terry's Avatar
    It's a crying shame this one never really took off:

We are Hibs
    We are good
    We have Celtc on the run....

He's here
    He's there
    He's every ****ing where
    Klaus Dietrich

On Mikey Mikey, used to be a jambo but he's alright now ....

Quote Originally Posted by Franck Stanton View Post
    On Mikey Mikey, used to be a jambo but he's alright now ....
    How about the updated version...

"Oh, Mikey Mikey,
    he was alright for a while,
    then was ***** again,
    but he's a no bad pundit now"

I remember there was an incident after a home game against Aberdeen, where some Aberdeen Fan in a sheep costume was literally set alight on the train home by a Hibs Supporter (a prank gone wrong, presumably).

In the next game at ER, a large swathe of the East Stand started chanting "the sheep are on fire"... shortly followed by two quick-fire goals by Aberdeen then their fans, rather appropriately, hijacking the chant.

First Team Breakthrough Adam Green's Avatar
    I’m sure there was a 35 years in a row chant in reference to Hearts cup drought.

‘We’ve got Chico, we’ve got Boco, it’s 35 years in a row’

They then ruined it by winning the Scottish Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post

Any others?
    That didn’t only happen once, unfortunately!

I also wince when we sing ‘you’re only sheep sh*gging barstewards’ to Aberdeen fans. As their response of ‘we’re only sheep sh*gging barstewards’ is much funnier

Quote Originally Posted by vercol36 View Post
    That didn’t only happen once, unfortunately!

I also wince when we sing ‘you’re only sheep sh*gging barstewards’ to Aberdeen fans. As their response of ‘we’re only sheep sh*gging barstewards’ is much funnier
    In fairness that's hardly exclusive to hibs. Which is even more reason not to sing the unfunny and unoriginal chant in the first place

First Team Regular OstKurve Hibs's Avatar
    I've got recollections of the whole old east stand chanting Charlie Charlie show us yer teeth to Charlie Adam then he buried 2 free kicks ! Hun prick !

Hate it when we sing to the opposition fans “ you only sing when your winning”
    Usually lose a goal when its sung!

Ill fated?

Taunting our neighbours, singing "you're going down again " in the so called "relegation derby "

Only to join them in the Championship.

I dislike the term hibsedit.

So will say, we butcheredit.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-03-2019 at 08:28 AM.

First Team Breakthrough goosefat's Avatar
    The East stand - “Let’s all do the Hibees bounce”

Celebrating staying up in the second leg playoff against Hamilton...just before they scored.

Doh!

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    He's here
    He's there
    He's every ****ing where
    Klaus Dietrich
    I will raise you a Sar, Sar Super Sar, Super Hakim Sar.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Albert of Kidd View Post
    Bravo sir. I remember him posing in the new kit with Mr Sauzee and thought he must surely be brilliant....

Quote Originally Posted by goosefat View Post

Celebrating staying up in the second leg playoff against Hamilton...just before they scored.

Doh!
    Rarely hear the Hibees Bounce anymore. Was brilliant. Remember our whole section doing it against Killie in the 5-1 final. A chant that was unique to us.

Remember when Steve Fulton was playing for Hearts (or had he moved on by then) being given the ‘So effin ugly’ treatment at Easter Road? He reacted in some way only to be booked by the referee.

He is probably the only player in the history of the world to be booked for being ugly.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Albert of Kidd View Post
    Had to look this guy up. Now playing in the fifth tier of French football...

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by goosefat View Post

Doh!
    And then the tannoy played a recording of us singing that "allez aus" chant prior to extra time. Wtf was that about?

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Remember when Steve Fulton was playing for Hearts (or had he moved on by then) being given the ‘So effin ugly’ treatment at Easter Road? He reacted in some way only to be booked by the referee.

He is probably the only player in the history of the world to be booked for being ugly.
    IIRC it was Falkirk.

The 'Eck's the boss' chant to doe a deer was quite good and long, though everyone in it left fairly soon after it caught on