Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Respect. We all love the game...

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Thoughts and prayers with friends and family. RIP .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

The best post on here for many a year. Love & total respect to his family.

RIP and thoughts with his family.

If I go at the end of a long innings while sitting in the ground that I love most to watch my team, I'll die one happy man.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    My sincere condolences to the sons, family and friends of the man who died at Tynecastle before last nights game.
    I don't know the man but he was at last nights game at the age of 85 despite the horrendous weather.
    A great football man who
    saw his first Hearts game at the age 5 in 1939.

Despite his great grief one of his sons also thanked Paramedics, St Andrews Ambulance Staff, Stewards and members of the public who came to his fathers assistance and tried desperately to revive him. True class.

Peace and Love from another football supporter across the city.
    These words say it all

This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Hi Heid Yin View Post
    That's a touching post and I second it.

Hearts and Hibs supporters are first and foremost fellow human beings.

Amen to that.

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    Rest in peace, the guy died doing something he loved doing which was watching his team play, condolences to his family and friends

R.I.P .
    Reminds me so much of my late father who was 79.Flashbacks of him coming back fi Dingwall at 2 in the morning, getting dropped of @ Haymarket by supporters bus then walking home to Gorgie. Football is their life & will do all they can to follow their team.

Jeezo …. I sometimes look out the window on the day of a game, see the wind and pouring rain and think 'I'm getting too bloody auld for this' and I'm only 59. Turns out I'm just a whipper snapper.

At the end of the day we are rivals, but we are also brought together by a common bond no matter who we support and that's a passion for the beautiful game which drags us out of the house in all conditions to support the teams we love ….. unless you are one of us you wont understand it, I have two ex wives and a current partner who are proof of that

RIP to a true fitba fan and condolences to your family and friends.

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Jeezo …. I sometimes look out the window on the day of a game, see the wind and pouring rain and think 'I'm getting too bloody auld for this' and I'm only 59. Turns out I'm just a whipper snapper.

At the end of the day we are rivals, but we are also brought together by a common bond no matter who we support and that's a passion for the beautiful game which drags us out of the house in all conditions to support the teams we love ….. unless you are one of us you wont understand it, I have two ex wives and a current partner who are proof of that

RIP to a true fitba fan and condolences to your family and friends.
    Oi! Working your way through the female population there buddy, and you are only 59!

On a serious note, RIP to a great fan, hope i'm kicking around at 89 and watching Hibs lift their 15th Scottish Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Sprouleflyer View Post
    Oi! Working your way through the female population there buddy, and you are only 59!

On a serious note, RIP to a great fan, hope i'm kicking around at 89 and watching Hibs lift their 15th Scottish Cup.
    To be fair I was widowed the first time, so 'ex' was a bit misleading ….. Got the full set mate, widowed, divorced and long term partner, that's enough for me I think. The female population is safe for the foreseeable future

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    To be fair I was widowed the first time, so 'ex' was a bit misleading ….. Got the full set mate, widowed, divorced and long term partner, that's enough for me I think. The female population is safe for the foreseeable future
    That's a hat-rick McNulty doesn't want!

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    My sincere condolences to the sons, family and friends of the man who died at Tynecastle before last nights game.
    I don't know the man but he was at last nights game at the age of 85 despite the horrendous weather.
    A great football man who
    saw his first Hearts game at the age 5 in 1939.

Despite his great grief one of his sons also thanked Paramedics, St Andrews Ambulance Staff, Stewards and members of the public who came to his fathers assistance and tried desperately to revive him. True class.

Peace and Love from another football supporter across the city.
    Great Post!

I knew the man in question and learned of his death by e mail but I had not realised he was attending the match.

He was a gentleman in every sense of the word.

He always listened to, and thereafter considered, everyone's opinion particularly about football.

He lived a full and active life and looked nowhere near his age.

Although I have not seen him for a while I was lucky enough to have enjoyed his company for a few decades.

He was one of the few Jambos that I know where genuinely pleased for Hibs Supporters when that monkey went.

Condolences to all his family.

R.I.P.
    Last edited by Weststandwanab; 14-03-2019 at 04:35 PM.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Well done on the OP. Condolences to his family and friends. You have to respect someone who showed so much commitment to supporting the club he loved.

Football fans are a bit poorer with this man's passing.

RIP.

Quote Originally Posted by Weststandwanab View Post
    Great Post!

I knew the man in question and learned of his death by e mail but I had not realised he was attending the match.

He always listened to, and thereafter considered, everyone's opinion particularly about football.

Although I have not seen him for a while I was lucky enough to have enjoyed his company for a few decades.

He was one of the few Jambos that I know where genuinely pleased for Hibs Supporters when that monkey went.

R.I.P.
    Thanks for giving us more information. Sounds a great guy.

When i read about his passing it touched my heart that he had supported his team for 80 years and even at his advanced age braved horrendous weather to watch his team. I know men half his age with less fortitude.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 14-03-2019 at 05:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Football fans are a bit poorer with this man's passing.

RIP.

Well said, K

Quote Originally Posted by Weststandwanab View Post
    Great Post!

R.I.P.
    Sounds like he was a realy nice guy

Quote Originally Posted by One Day View Post
    Sounds like he was a realy nice guy
    He was indeed.

His funeral is Wednesday 27h March at Warriston Crematorium at 11 a.m.

There will probably be a big turn out due to his popularity and the circumstances.

R.I.P.

Sounds like a man who followed his team through thick and thin, for the good times and the bad times.

Sad to hear of his passing and condolences to his family and to hearts who have evidently lost one of their true supporters.

RIP.