Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Given the bottle/Tavernier incidents in quick succession, a tough response was the right one imo. The problem, as some others have said, is consistency in terms of dealing with unacceptable visiting fans’ behaviour, at grounds across Scotland but especially at Easter Road. I understand we need to get our own house in order, but problems will arise if home fans know that doing certain things might cost them their ST or entry to games but they then see the away support doing them without apparent consequence. So the only thing I would change about what LD said is that these measures would be taken against any fans within Easter Road, not just home supporters.

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by leith_hibs View Post
    You’re right It doesn’t however, when I was driving through the town I saw one getting let off at at the top of Leith Street before 19:00hrs. Police Scotland moved in however, i could not tell you what the outcome was.

What I will assume though is that the flare was let off by the 70 - 100 Hibby’s getting stopped and escorted by the Police in the Montgomery Street area at about 19:25hrs.

I would like to know though what would you class as the surrounding area of the stadium? 1/4 mile? 1/2 mile? 3/4 mile? 2 miles?

Mines would be within a mile radius of the ground.
    You could be on a train heading for Aberdeen v Hibs and be arrested at Haymarket. You could still be hit with a banning order even though you're a hundred miles from the event.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    FFS. LD's statements reads "allegedly using a pyrotechnic outside the stadium".

For me this isn't something that happened halfway along Albert Street but probably either in the queues or maybe within the police barriers.

Pyrotechnics are forbidden at matches. The person who set one off "outside the stadium" had no reason to bring one to the match with him. Outside the stadium" on a matchday means large crowds of supporters - letting off a flare or a smoke bomb in the middle of a crowd makes you an inconsiderate arse.

I don't see what folk are moaning about.
    Did the person attend the match?

Quote Originally Posted by leith_hibs View Post
    You’re right It doesn’t however, when I was driving through the town I saw one getting let off at at the top of Leith Street before 19:00hrs. Police Scotland moved in however, i could not tell you what the outcome was.

What I will assume though is that the flare was let off by the 70 - 100 Hibby’s getting stopped and escorted by the Police in the Montgomery Street area at about 19:25hrs.

I would like to know though what would you class as the surrounding area of the stadium? 1/4 mile? 1/2 mile? 3/4 mile? 2 miles?

Mines would be within a mile radius of the ground.
    Montgomery Street was closed due to a fire. Police would be re-directing the fans away from the scene.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?3...39#post5732739

Quote Originally Posted by Besties Debut View Post
    I hope LD never witnesses the march from the Murrayfied Hotel to Tyncastle. Marching up the middle of the road, stopping buses and letting off flares would have her on a banning frenzy
    Watch this space I suspect a big clampdown at the next Tyne game and wonder if marches like this might be banned as part of a clampdown

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BouncerRoss View Post
    Did the person attend the match?
    Wouldn't imagine so as the statement states they were arrested.

"The information we have is that both were arrested for different reasons"

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Watch this space I suspect a big clampdown at the next Tyne game and wonder if marches like this might be banned as part of a clampdown

If she is prepared to ban a Hibs fan who got lifted for letting of a flare in the street I’m assuming she will do the same to anyone who gets lifted on the march for the same offence

I'm not so sure. I think it suits the police fine to have a large body of people moving together as opposed to numerous groups which are more difficult to control.

As for the flares and stuff, for me it's not the same thing. The people who take part in the marches know that that's going to happen. If it bothers them then they wouldn't do it.

If she is prepared to ban a Hibs fan who got lifted for letting of a flare in the street I’m assuming she will do the same to anyone who gets lifted on the march for the same offence
    Has anyone been lifted on the marches? From what I've seen the police have been fine with the march and have effectively seen the crowd to the game - in which case I don't think that Hibs or the police have any interest in going after the people in the marches (and quite right, too - they look great).

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Has anyone been lifted on the marches? From what I've seen the police have been fine with the march and have effectively seen the crowd to the game - in which case I don't think that Hibs or the police have any interest in going after the people in the marches (and quite right, too - they look great).
    But the climate is now different and there will be great scrutiny on this match and build up to it
    I think they are a great spectacle even though only taken part in one But like to see the videos as it’s a carnival and celebratory atmosphere
    I would hope they won’t

But the climate is now different and there will be great scrutiny on this match and build up to it
    I think they are a great spectacle even though only taken part in one But like to see the videos as it’s a carnival and celebratory atmosphere
    I would hope they won’t

They won't.

Unless, if course, dick heads try to push the boundaries and go as far as they can to test and provoke the police.

Hopefully, they won't. I think the marches envoke a feeling of belonging and pride rather than confrontation, so I doubt there'll be any bother.
    Last edited by Hibbyradge; 14-03-2019 at 10:01 AM.

I would hope they won’t

As long as the marches continue to be the good natured affairs they have been so far then there will be no problems. It’s people intent on confrontation with the police who could ruin things. Hopefully the majority will keep them in check.

Quote Originally Posted by Kojock View Post
    You could be on a train heading for Aberdeen v Hibs and be arrested at Haymarket. You could still be hit with a banning order even though you're a hundred miles from the event.
    Tell me about it!

I totally understand if violence is involved however, IMO setting of a flare, drinking on the streets, smoking weed, shouting verbals at opposing fans it is now going OTT.

The fact of the matter is you will never rid these sort of things in football because we have an unjust approach which stems from the powers that organise football. It’s very simple. No matter what club it is have strict laws for example, set off flares or, throw objects or, any sectarian singing in the ground next home game is played behind closed doors, if it happens again the club receive points deductions.

If it is away fans that do this then blanket ban, that away team responsible has their fans banned from their next away game and like above if it happens again points deduction.

So in theory, the Hibs v The Rangers game should have been played behind doors, if it is felt that that is to soon then the Motherwell game should be played behind closed doors. Sooner or, later if will be rooted out. It would also mean that The Rangers fans would have been banned following them throwing seating at Aberdeen fans.

If people want rid of this sort of behaviour from these grounds a hard line approach has to be taken from the top, not left to individual clubs whom allow their fans to do one thing while another club does another. Just doesnae make sense allowing clubs to sort it. FUBAR.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Be Interesting to know how close to the stadium the person was who set off the pyro...
    I saw a yound lad being lifted on Albion Place about 20 mins before KO. Let off a green flare, police appeared, cuffed and back of the van, evening over. Dunno if it was him Leanne referred to.

Generally, I think Leanne is spot on - not even the mearest hint of whataboutery. IMHO that's what makes the official Ibrox STATEMENTS so funny/depressing.

Dempster aspiring to be the next Queen Anne? Next we'll have a wee text number so you can grass someone standing or swearing. And don't get me started on the police. Whinging about resources being cut and how skint they are but magically find resources to search buses for a few cans (Got a Morton fan who's bus got pulled so not just big bad Rangers and Sellick) and arresting folk for having a flare on a street. Deary me.

It has to stop and we need your help to make Easter Road Stadium the vibrant, noisy, colourful, exhilarating but safe, welcoming and tolerant place it normally is.
    LOL the place is a morgue outwith visits from the huns and hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by Antifa Hibs View Post
    Dempster aspiring to be the next Queen Anne? Next we'll have a wee text number so you can grass someone standing or swearing. And don't get me started on the police. Whinging about resources being cut and how skint they are but magically find resources to search buses for a few cans (Got a Morton fan who's bus got pulled so not just big bad Rangers and Sellick) and arresting folk for having a flare on a street. Deary me.

She's just asking folk not to be erseholes, really. Pretty reasonable request, IMHO.

Life's better for everyone when there are fewer (or no) erseholes about.

Dempster aspiring to be the next Queen Anne? Next we'll have a wee text number so you can grass someone standing or swearing.

The text number is what a lot of posters on here want. The thought of grassing up fellow Hibs fans seems to sit quite comfortably with them and like I said in an earlier post you can imagine some of the nonsense that folk might get reported for.

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    To be fair mate there's bams in each stand. East is nowt like it used to be. I'd say 90% of the East is like the West - sit on their hands.

Centre of the old East was mayhem back in the day. Centre of the east now is probably as sedate as it's ever been.

To see people sitting down in that part is heart breaking stuff.

Nostalgia rules...
    If only eh? I remember the police used to stand and record everyone all the time too, doesn't that happen any longer?

Also, whats to stop Bams giving a fake name when creating an account online? No idea is needed which means if they cause trouble and get banned it's a fake person being banned?

The text number is what a lot of posters on here want. The thought of grassing up fellow Hibs fans seems to sit quite comfortably with them and like I said in an earlier post you can imagine some of the nonsense that folk might get reported for.
    Someone launches a bottle at a footballer it's worth "grassing up" the rest like texting a number for swearing etc is a loady *****.

"Grassing up" What do you think this is? The Mafia?

Didn't Donald Trump say something similar about his accusers?

Anyone who tarnishes the name of Hibernian FC deserves all they get.

I don't want people who throw bottles, invade the pitch or chuck flares in the ground. They should be removed and there should be a deterrent to stop them in the first place.

Defending them, as you are, makes you complicit.

So you are imagining the nonsense that people might text to a non existent number.

Hopefully no-one "grasses up" the fellow Villa fan who did this.

https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/new...knife-15971800

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    I'd like to know how close to the stadium the guy who set off the pyrotechnic was but other than that the club can ban whoever they like, the person doesn't need to be convicted of committing a criminal offence in order to be banned. It's private property and they can refuse entry to anyone they like.

The evidence required in a court of law in order to convict someone of an offence is not needed in order to ban someone from a football stadium.

The same goes for any other premises on private ground such as a pub or restaurant.

I highly doubt the person who has attempted to get trackside after we scored on Friday will be receiving a lifetime ban, it may even just be for the remainder of this season or perhaps next season as well. If nothing else it hopefully acts as a deterrent to others who value their attendance at games and might make them think twice before engaging in certain behaviour.
    Not according to Leann

Leeann Dempster: The individual who entered the pitch on Friday evening and confronted Rangers captain James Tavernier on the touchline will never attend a game at Easter Road again
    Last edited by dangermouse; 14-03-2019 at 12:17 PM.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    Not according to Leann
    New teeth a beard and some glasses and he won't have a problem getting in..

I've read some rubbish on here lately, but this is up there with best.

The hatred of the board and Leeann by some posters on here is quite incredible, who did you aim your seethe at before Leeann came here, obviously Petrie was your pantomime villain for that purpose but now that Leeann is in the spotlight, she gets to receive all the vile filled hateful posts on here and other media. There are times I truly wonder if some on here and elsewhere re really Hibs fans at all, if you are then I feel this isn't the last we've seen of eejits with flares and Buckie bottles.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    So you are imagining the nonsense that people might text to a non existent number.
    “Hullo Leann, it’s me, Garry, the pizzas are **** today”

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    New teeth a beard and some glasses and he won't have a problem getting in..
    They will get in again, no will ever attract any type of trouble again though.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Someone launches a bottle at a footballer it's worth "grassing up" the rest like texting a number for swearing etc is a loady *****.
    I don't think anyone has suggested that people get reported or kicked out for swearing or shouting stuff at the football and would imagine that any such reports sent to a text messaging service would simply be ignored.

What people are talking about is being able to identify racist/homophobic/sectarian comments, violence or other unacceptable behaviour like throwing stuff at players etc.

Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post
    I don't think anyone has suggested that people get reported or kicked out for swearing or shouting stuff at the football and would imagine that any such reports sent to a text messaging service would simply be ignored.

What people are talking about is being able to identify racist/homophobic/sectarian comments, violence or other unacceptable behaviour like throwing stuff at players etc.
    The same poster did suggest that.

That’s why I mentioned the rest, that will never happen.