John brownlie happy birthday

Just noticed with everything that it going on down Easter Road way that it is John Brownlies 67th Birthday today

Still a youngster.

Without doubt the finest right back that it was ever my pleasure to see at Easter Road

Many Happy returns Onion

Legend!

Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 12-03-2019 at 03:12 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Just noticed with everything that it going on down Easter Road way that it is John Browlies 67th Birthday today

Still a youngster.

Without doubt the finest right back that it was ever my pleasure to see at Easter Road

Many Happy returns Onion

Legend!

Hibs legend.

I would say probably the greatest right back Scotland has ever produced

He kept Danny McGrain out of the Scotland team up until his unfortunate leg break

His highlights for me were his performances versus Airdrie away 6-2 win in the League Cup and his wonderful solo goal versus Der Hun in a Scottish League Cup Semi Final at Hampden in a 1-0 win

Legend

Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 11-03-2019 at 11:23 PM.

He kept Danny McGrain out of the Scotland team up until his unfortunate leg break

His highlights for me were his performances versus Airdrie away 6-2 win in the League Cup and his wonderful solo goal versus Der Hun in a Scottish Cup Semi Final at Hampden in a 1-0 win

Legend

that night a Hampden was very eventful to say the least!

the Rangers supoporters where incensed with us beating them and i remember hearing this rumbling noise near the end of the game and turned around to see dust flying in the air from the Hampden terracing behind me to catch sight of hundreds of "them" rushing down the stepstowards the Hibs supporters.

i got the fright of my life when i was knocked over the front fencing on to the track below because everyone was trying to get away from them!

Some things just never change!!!

Sadly, we've never had anyone near his standard since - he was just sheer class !

Happy Birthday John Brownlie - my favourite Tornado !

Happy birthday John. Sorry for ignoring you when you came out of ER after training with Pat Stanton and Joe McBride. Didnt know who you were back then 😃

He played over 120 games for Newcastle as well. Very unlucky to just miss out on the final 22 for the 1974 world cup squad.

Wink

I remember going through to Hampden in 1972 to watch him play for Scotland versus the auld enemy in the Home Championship

109000 at the game

Scotland lost 0-1

Jimmy Clitheroe scored t winner

Looked miles offside

The days before VAR and a lot of things.
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 12-03-2019 at 06:39 PM.

My best wishes and good health to you, John .

We're Turnbull's Tornadoes ...

Hibernian's the name !!

Popular guy at Newcastle too. He was an intelligent player. I used to enjoy watching him dovetail with Edwards on the right. Mind you, if you look at film of it now it was all so slow compared to the fit, wiry movers we see now!

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    The best right back I’ve seen at Hibs by a country mile. I remember him as a laid back guy, nae histrionics required. Fantastic going forward, very direct running and chipped in with a few goals too.

Belated birthday greetings to a proper Hibees legend.

His highlights for me were his performances versus Airdrie away 6-2 win in the League Cup and his wonderful solo goal versus Der Hun in a Scottish League Cup Semi Final at Hampden in a 1-0 win

Legend

Two funny old nights they were Billy. Was the Airdrie game the one where we were locked in at full time ?? Large away support just pushed on and took the gates off the hinges Were more like a cat flap when we'd finished with them

Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post
    that night a Hampden was very eventful to say the least!

the Rangers supoporters where incensed with us beating them and i remember hearing this rumbling noise near the end of the game and turned around to see dust flying in the air from the Hampden terracing behind me to catch sight of hundreds of "them" rushing down the stepstowards the Hibs supporters.

i got the fright of my life when i was knocked over the front fencing on to the track below because everyone was trying to get away from them!

Some things just never change!!!
    Maud (Mrs Mac) saved me from myself and some very pissed of teddy bears that night.
    Two legends in one thread already, Onion and Maud !!!

Just noticed with everything that it going on down Easter Road way that it is John Brownlies 67th Birthday today

Still a youngster.

Many Happy returns Onion

Legend!

So true in every respect.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    I remember going through to Hampden in 1970 to watch him play for Scotland versus the auld enemy in the Home Championship

109000 at the game

Scotland lost 0-1

Jimmy Clitheroe scored t winner

Looked miles offside

The days before VAR and a lot of things.
    Boyhood hero of mine. Met him in a pub in Morpeth where he had settled many years later when the current Mrs Pope and I hadn’t been going out long and I reckon she had her reservations when she seen how much I adored him. Think his Scotland debut came a wee bit after 1970 though. Maybe against Russia?

Gamertag: Rehabacrossthesea Wii Code: 4040
    What a player!

The Rolls Royce of full backs.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Boyhood hero of mine. Met him in a pub in Morpeth where he had settled many years later when the current Mrs Pope and I hadn’t been going out long and I reckon she had her reservations when she seen how much I adored him. Think his Scotland debut came a wee bit after 1970 though. Maybe against Russia?
    Yip!

14/6/71 USSR 1 v 0 Scotland

26/4/72 Scotland 2 v 0 Peru

20/5/72 Scotland 2 v 0 Northern Ireland

27/5/72 Scotland 0 v 1 England

18/10/72 Denmark 1 v 4 Scotland

15/11/72 Scotland 2 v 0 Denmark

17/12/75 Scotland 1 v 1 Romania

Legend