Thread: ODI cricket

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar

ODI cricket

It feels a bit early to start a Cricket World Cup thread but there’s no shortage of ODIs going on as teams prepare.

I caught the highlights of NZ vs Bangladesh and it was a comfortable if not unexpected win for the home side. Bangladesh are pretty decent but not in the same class and not unlike most sides, play better at home.

I had a quick look at the CWC odds and NZ are a tempting 10-1 given they are the pick of the outsiders and capable of beating anyone on their day. South Africa were an equally tempting 8-1 given they are expected to go through to the semi-finals and then it’s anyone’s game. A lot depends on how Australia fare and to what extent the returning batsmen feature and how they integrate with the team.

Anyway, enough CWC chat for now, looking forward to the Windies-England series, with the 50-over specialists arriving from England and the behemoth that is Chris Gayle returning for the Windies.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

'S' Form
    I have tickets for SA v WI at Southampton, only ones I could get!

Sent from my ANE-LX1 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Radar67 View Post
    I have tickets for SA v WI at Southampton, only ones I could get!

Sent from my ANE-LX1 using Tapatalk
    That should be a decent match. Lots of talent in both sides.

Got Sri Lanka v Windies and Sri Lanka v South Africa, both at Durham.

Managed to get Ashes tickets for Old Trafford and Edgbaston as well.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

NZ wrap up the series with another steamroller of an effort against Bangladesh. The Bangladeshis aren't a bad side but NZ on form are irresistible and I am sorely tempted to put some money on them as an outside bet for the CWC.

Downsides for the Kiwis were that they didn't get a chance to run out their middle order batsmen as Guptill mage them redundant with a fast-scoring century. There was also some comical fielding mishaps from the usually reliable Ross Taylor in the slips - he caught and then fumbled two easyish catches which should hae been dismissals.

Although this is purportedly a thread for the ODIs, it would be churlish not to mention the Durban Test between SAF and Sri Lanka.

Kingsmead isn't generally a high-scoring pitch and SAF had probably got par or thereabouts with their two innings. They would have been confident going into the fourth innings having set Sri Lanka 304 to win.

I caught some of the match live but only got today's play on highlights. It's no exaggeration to say it is one for the history books.

Sri Lanka didn't just chase down the 304 - a rare occurrence to get such a score batting fourth, let alone at Kingsmead, they also did the final stretch with nine wickets down, and in doing so, set a new record for the highest last-wicket stand not just in Test cricket but in first-class cricket. Sensational stuff and a delight to watch.

Kusal Perera saw it through with an unbeaten 153 and if he has a better innings in his career then he will be amazingly fortunate - most folk would happily settle for such an accomplishment, it's genuine career-best material. Plaudits too, to Vishwa Fernando, the fast bowler with a Test batting average of 2.75. He held down his end knocking six of 27 balls but keeping Sri Lanka in the game to allow Perera to knock the boundaries and sixes to seal victory.

Fantastic Test cricket and South Africa will be wondering quite how they lost this one.

Nice wee article in the Guardian about the significance of the Sri Lankan win against South Africa

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/bl...a-kusal-perera

The Windies-England ODI series starts tomorrow.

For England it is fine-tuning ahead of the CWC, where they are ranked as favourites. Chris Woakes returns and I'm pleased with that, I like him as a cricketer. Bairstow will open the batting and it is a curiosity as to whether he will ever be asked to do the same in Test whites. Root should bat at three, which he should be doing in Test matches.

For the Windies, this will be the mighty Chris Gayle's last home ODI series. He will go out with a bang, I'm sure. Hetmyer is likely to bat at five and I'm looking forward to watching him, he is an explosive young talent. And Oshane Thomas should feature in the bowling unit. He is terrifically fast and was unlucky not to make the Test side for the St Lucia Test, compounded when Keemo Paul got injured while fielding.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Got Sri Lanka v Windies and Sri Lanka v South Africa, both at Durham
    I had a ticket for Sri Lanka v WI but then booked a summer holiday meaning I've had to give it away. Still, there will be another 4 Scots down there with you MA.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    I had a ticket for Sri Lanka v WI but then booked a summer holiday meaning I've had to give it away. Still, there will be another 4 Scots down there with you MA.
    That's a shame they clashed, but understandably the holiday takes priority.

I think there might be quite a few cricket fans travelling from Scotland. Durham is pretty accessible in comparison to the other grounds and the two Sri Lankan games were categorised as relatively easy to get tickets for in the ballot. I get why that is, but SRL can be a hugely entertaining side on their day and will have taken heart from their historic Test series win in South Africa. The Windies are an exciting young side in all forms of the game and should provide some great play to watch.

Third ODI between Windies and England was due today but called off because of rain.

England will be feeling slightly fortunate. Ben Stokes went over on his ankle in training yesterday and wouldn’t have featured today, but should be okay for Wednesday.

Buttler 150 off 77 balls!

England get 418 off their 50 overs. Stonking.

England utterly dominant in their innings in the fourth ODI in Grenada. They posted 418 and in the process set a new world record for the most sixes in a 50-over innings. It’s a massive total and currently the Windies run rate is well below where they need it to be. Saying that, in Gayle, Bravo and Hetmyer they have some big hitters so it should be entertaining!

Chris Gayle! Out for 162. Windies well on track but have to finish without him.

Windies just fall short. What a night of sport!

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Windies just fall short. What a night of sport!
    They gave it a bloody good go!

I watched the match and had the Hibs game streamed on the radio.

Chris Gayle was monumental, 162 from 97 balls and even after he was dismissed, Braithwaite and Nurse put on a fine stand to edge Windies close to what would have been the most remarkable of victories.

England captain Morgan is rightly getting plaudits for bringing Rashid back into bowl at the end, despite him having been smashed around in his previous spells. The wrist spinner conjured up three wickets from four balls and Windies succumbed, 389 all out.

Solid reminder that England are a commanding force in ODI cricket and unlike their Test colleagues, this tour is looking like great preparation for the summer.

For the Windies, they have a massive hole to fill when Gayle retires after the CWC. I would have hoped for a little more from Shai Hope in both formats but he is young and he undoubtedly has talent.

Final ODI in St Lucia today. I only caught bits of it in between the Spurs-Arsenal game and then our match starting, but what I did see was sensational stuff!

The Windies smashed England to level the series, bowling them out for 113 and then exceeding that with 227 balls to spare.

Chief architect of England's batting demise was Oshane Thomas who nabbed 5-21, mostly catches as a result of him getting real height from the bounce on the pitch. At 22, he has potentially many, many years ahead of him and I'm looking forward to seeing him at the CWC. Unsung hero for the Windies will be Carlos Braithwaite, with two wickets for 17 runs from eight overs and they were big wickets - Stokes and Hales.

So, with England posting a dismal total, the stage was set for Chris Gayle's last ever ODI on Caribbean soil and the Universe Boss didn't disappoint.

He smashed an explosive 77 from 27 balls to wrap things up in quick time.

His final over, which I was able to catch read 6-6-4-4-6-W

It was fabulous to watch and I hope, as I imagine most cricket fans will too, that he gets the chance to light things up at the CWC at least once. Long odds on the Windies for the tournament and it probably is just beyond them at this stage but I might be tempted by a flutter that owes more to heart than head.

As for England, no saving graces today, bar possibly Wood continuing to pick up wickets, albeit only two for a very expensive 55 runs from six overs. Nevertheless, this is an England team who have a very clear style of play. They go for all-out attack and they have the players to ensure that means it usually works for them, hence being the top-ranked side in the world. When it doesn't click however, as was the case today, they can find themselves on the end of some absolute shellackings.

Away from the Caribbean, South Africa comfortably beat the Sri Lankans by eight wickets. This series should give them the space to experiment a little, in advance of the CWC but in this game it was the tried and tested Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock who rattled off the runs.

There was a welcome return for the ferociously fast Lungi Ngidi, in his first ODI since his injury a few months back and he picked up three wickets. Perhaps the better bowling was on the part of Imran Tahir, with 3-26 and I don't think he gave away a single boundary in his ten overs. Tahir doesn't have age on his side, he will be forty in a couple of weeks, but he has managed to successfully remodel his game to make him a dampener in the middle overs, really constraining the opposition batsmen.

Meanwhile in Hyderabad, India won the first ODI of their series against Australia, ultimately with reasonable comfort despite a blip that saw them at 99-4. This series sees two of the group of CWC favourites going head-to-head though the side that the Aussies put out will surely not be their first-pick side when they fetch up in England. Warner and Smith will be back (slight doubt with Smith as he is carrying an elbow injury and they will want him fit for the Ashes) and the bowling may change as well, though I expect Cummins and Coulter-Nile to retain their places, both can offer quick-fire runs in addition to fiesty, even fiery bowling.

I didn't catch any of the ODI live but I think I've found an Indian radio website which does live coverage, so will try that out for the second match. Doesn't look like any of the Indian channels on Sky show it. If anyone knows any different please post here

I managed to catch Australia's reply to India's innings in the second ODI through the wonder of internet radio. I streamed it from Macquarie Sports Radio - sportsradio.com.au - who were streaming an Indian (English-speaking) radio commentary from the stadium.

For those interested in domestic and touring Australian cricket I reckon this station may provide consistent coverage (ABC, the Australian version of BBC offers a lot of coverage but it is often restricted to Australia, so you would have to find a proxy, unless BBC Radio 5 Live Extra are covering it, which is rare).

There was probably a TV feed if I had searched hard enough but cricket is perhaps that only sport which almost works better on radio than on screen, so I was happy enough with the rather excitable commentary team in Nagpur.

India were bowled out for 250, an achievable target, with the legend that is Pat Cummins taking 4-29. It included Sharma at the end of a maiden over to start the bowling, plus snagging Virat Kohli who had been motoring along.

The Australian innings was cracking entertainment. Steady, if somewhat slow start, then they lost wickets and became a bit becalmed before turning the engine back on and getting to the stage where it looked inevitable that they would bat their way to victory. Cue an Indian resurgence, and the last five wickets falling for 24 and India win by eight runs with three balls left.

Great closing play that swung back and forth over a few critical overs. Australia will wonder how they conspired to throw this away. India will be satisfied that they saw this one out and strangled the Aussies in the closing overs - they're not afraid to take the game to the end stage and rely on their bowlers to come good.

Cricket Scotland have just announced a T20 European franchise league with the Netherlands and Ireland, 2 city franchises from each country. Runs from end of August to end September this year. Hopefully one team will be based at the Grange.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee62 View Post
    Cricket Scotland have just announced a T20 European franchise league with the Netherlands and Ireland, 2 city franchises from each country. Runs from end of August to end September this year. Hopefully one team will be based at the Grange.
    The franchises are Edinburgh and Glasgow so I think the Grange is pretty likely.

Ireland are going with Belfast and Dublin and the Dutch are likely to go with Amstelveen and either Rotterdam or The Hague.

Managed to catch India’s response to Australia in the third ODI in Ranchi, thanks to the wonder of an iPad streaming Australian radio streaming Indian radio. I think ESPN Cricinfo might be streaming TV coverage however -I will check that out for the next game.

Fairly comfortable victory for Australia, who ran up 313-5. This was largely based on an opening stand of 193 between Finch and Khawaja and then a quick fire 47 from 31 balls by Glenn Maxwell.

This also saw Khawaja get his maiden century after a couple of dozen ODIs which is worth recognising. I’m not a fan of his, but he deserves praise for the achievement.

India succumbed to 281 all out but never really looked competitive, despite Kohli showing up with 123 from 95 deliveries. This was pretty much down to the Australian bowling unit.

Adam Zampa was expensive but claimed crucial wickets - Kohli, Dhoni and Jadhav.

Paddy Cummins was reliable yet again taking 3-37 at a shade under four and a half an over.

The best return probably sits with Jhye Richardson who also took 3-37 but with a much better economy rate. He had 39 dot balls from the 54 he bowled,, which really is what it’s all about in ODIs.

I also saw that Australia named their squad for the next ODI series in the UAE against Pakistan. No places for Smith, Warner and Starc, due to recovery from various injuries. Hopefully they heal up, given we have a few big months ahead. I can see the temptation for the selectors to save them for the Ashes and give them some time playing Sheffield Shield cricket, especially as I believe Cricket Australia will be using the Duke ball to get players used to it. I hope they are able to manage both however, as they are genuine world-class talents.

I believe they will be encouraged to play in the forthcoming IPL which will at least give them some match time in the short version of the game.

The franchises are Edinburgh and Glasgow so I think the Grange is pretty likely.

Ireland are going with Belfast and Dublin and the Dutch are likely to go with Amstelveen and either Rotterdam or The Hague.
    Excellent, I hadn’t seen the franchise announcements yet. Don’t mind where the franchise is based as long as it’s Edinburgh and games are at a decent time. Although floodlights could be an issue, at that time of year they’ll have to be started by 4pm to get an evening game in without them.

Good point. I’m not sure what capacity there is for mobile floodlights but I don’t think the Grange or Carlton have fixed ones, neither do West of Scotland or Clydesdale for that matter. Genuinely can’t remember as it has always been day games I’ve been to.

The Irish and Dutch fixtures are tempting for a jaunt but I’ve got tickets for the entirety of the Ashes Test at Old Trafford so I’m probably not going to manage to cram in another cricket tour that month. Maybe next year

I will keep an eye out for the fixture announcements and post on here. It’s a great day out.

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    This is great news.

When I was watching the Big Bash in January one of the Aussie commentators was saying that he though The Grange was the best small cricket ground in the world!

Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    This is great news.

When I was watching the Big Bash in January one of the Aussie commentators was saying that he though The Grange was the best small cricket ground in the world!
    I think that’s quite a popular opinion, certainly during the years that they played the English counties. It’s got a good batting rep recently too so should lend itself to t20 franchise play well.

Good point. I’m not sure what capacity there is for mobile floodlights but I don’t think the Grange or Carlton have fixed ones, neither do West of Scotland or Clydesdale for that matter. Genuinely can’t remember as it has always been day games I’ve been to.

The Irish and Dutch fixtures are tempting for a jaunt but I’ve got tickets for the entirety of the Ashes Test at Old Trafford so I’m probably not going to manage to cram in another cricket tour that month. Maybe next year

I will keep an eye out for the fixture announcements and post on here. It’s a great day out.
    I’ve got day 3 of the oval test, knowing my luck that will be the weekend of all the Edinburgh home games...

Hoping to get to all the Odis in Edinburgh this summer too, certainly the Sri Lanka games.

I’ve got day 3 of the oval test, knowing my luck that will be the weekend of all the Edinburgh home games...

Hoping to get to all the Odis in Edinburgh this summer too, certainly the Sri Lanka games.
    Good stuff, the Oval usually offers something for seamers and a bit for spinners, which means day three could be where the decisive action takes place.

Hope it's a good day for you.

What an abject display of batting by The Windies last night.

Didn't manage to catch any of the fourth ODI in India yesterday but Australia posted the fifth-highest run chase in history to win the match, knocking up 359-6. It was Australia's biggest ever run-chase and the biggest by an away side in India

That's got to be a confidence-booster in advance of the World Cup.

India's 358-9 was a decent knock and none of the Australian bowling figures were overly great, though the irrepressible Pat Cummins took 5-70 at seven an over and Jhye Richardson managed 3-85 but at a very expensive nine and a half runs an over.

Adam Zampa was maybe the tightest - one wicket for 57 overs but he was averaging a healthy 5.7 an over, which was below India's run rate of 7.16

Batting-wise, Peter Handscomb made what I think was his maiden ODI century and Usman Khawaja was unlucky not to add his second, falling at 91.

The star of the show was Ashton Turner though who hit a walloping 84 from 43 balls. He's a good young talent who can bowl a bit of spin as well, though he wasn't used in this match.

Looking at the longer version of the game, James Pattinson is due to return from injury in the Sheffield Shield for Victoria against NSW tomorrow. This is a big chance for him to stake a claim for an Ashes place. Assuming Mitchell Starc regains fitness, the first three Australian quick bowlers pick themselves. Pattinson would be good back-up but also offers the Aussies the chance to go with a pace quartet should they choose. They could still pick Lyon as their spinner and have Smith as back-up or potentially Marsh and given that Starc, Cummins and Lyon are handy with the bat then they wouldn't necessarily be sacrificing too much in terms of the batting order. If Pattinson doesn't prove himself I think Richardson might be taken as the fourth pace bowler.
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 11-03-2019 at 07:30 PM.

And so, Australia manage to win the fifth ODI and take the series after being 0-2 down.

Khawaja has had a great series and now causes questions for the selectors with the CWC forthcoming. The Aussies want to bring Warner and Smith back in. My best guess is that Khawaja moves to three, with Finch and Warner opening. Smith at four then probably Maxwell and Stoinis, meaning Ashton Turner loses out, but it's all up for grabs and Khawaja could still drop out despite his heroics in India. Alternatively, Smith's elbow doesn't heal up and he is dropped to protect him for the Ashes.

Australia's victory was built on Khawaja's century and a steady half-ton from Handscomb, topped up by quickfire runs from Cummins and Richardson at the end. It was ensured by a bowling attack that was consistent and tight - Cummins, Richardson, Lyon and Zampa can all be very happy with their returns, Cummins and Lyon in particular restricting the Indian run rate. Stoinis was expensive for his four overs but snagged crucial wickets - Kohli and Yadav.

I didn't catch the SAF-SRL game but may see the highlights. Looks like the South Africans were comfortable to go 4-0 up in Port Elizabeth.

In terms of the CWC, England are probably still favourites but Australia might just be building the momentum to edge ahead of India as second-placed, especially given they have world-class players to return.

More worrying for India, South Africa are looking good as well.

I fancy SAF, India, Australia and England for the semis. I think the Windies if they click have the potential to change that and the same applies to NZ but it really depends on them clicking in the key games.

England probably still favourites, but if Australia avoid them in the semis then they could be winners.

South Africa wrap up a 5-0 series win over Sri Lanka via the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Good, confidence-boosting victory ahead of the CWC, albeit the opposition here can blow hot or cold and mostly blew cold. Plus points for SAF were that the wickets were pretty evenly shared amongst the bowlers.

Away from ODIs, the Pakistani Super League final is tomorrow, at 2pm GMT. I can't recall which channel but it is in the 'International' section if you are a Sky subscriber. There are some very good players featuring in this T20 and I expect it to be an entertaining game.

Peshawar are strong in the pace department and Quetta are strong with spinners. Both have batsmen who can turn it on and win a match. Kamran Akmali is as explosive as they come for Peshawar while Shane Watson is equally capable of scoring big and fast for Quetta. In terms of international representation it is positive that non-Pakistani cricketers are playing back in Pakistan. Dwayne Bravo should feature for Quetta while his fellow Windie Darren Sammy should play for Peshawar.

It also looks like Peshawar are having to make a decision about whether they pick Chris Jordan or Liam Dawson, with it likely that only one will get the nod. Jordan is in with a shout for England's CWC team and squad so it will be interesting to see how that pans out.

On the Test front, Afghanistan are looking at a historic first ever Test match victory. They bowled Ireland out for 172 then posted 314 in their first innings. With Ireland back into bat, they had them at 22 for one at the end of Day Two, leaving Ireland 120 behind with nine wickets remaining and Afghanistan still with an innings to bat. Crucially for the Afghans, their wickets were spread amongst the bowlers - they aren't reliant on one person and what they can conjure from the pitch.

Did some guy get 6 sixes today? Dont know much about cricket but isnt that a very long standing record?