Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Bizarre appointment if true.

Who would have thought that with the hundreds of out of work or wannabe managers that we would end up with this guy?!

The board must know something awfy special that no one else does.

Good luck to him.
    What makes you say that?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Any need for that?
    Aye

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar

Who would have thought that with the hundreds of out of work or wannabe managers that we would end up with this guy?!

Good luck to him.

They have interviewed him so know more about than I do. And you I would presume.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Ooft, a lot of sensitive souls on here today.

Like most of you I’d never heard of the guy until a few weeks ago.

Good luck to him.
    To be fair you only have to read/listen to some of the interviews posted up on .net to see he's got a bit about him. I'd also suggest the board have spent considerable time questioning him, whilst also gathering references from throughout the game.

Will he be a success? Nobody knows. But your miserable attitude is quite disappointing to be honest. Suggests you would have preferred someone else.
    I would genuinely like to know who you would have preferred?

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar

Good luck to him.
    Mowbray and Stubbs were a bit like that too, we'd never really heard of them and yet we came to appreciate both of their tenures

I wished him good luck and said that the board must know a lot more than everyone else.

How the hell so do you take from that that I’m miserable or had someone else in mind?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    I wished him good luck and said that the board must know a lot more than everyone else.

How the hell so do you take from that that I’m miserable or had someone else in mind?
    Probably your use of the word bizarre.

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan91 View Post
    Mowbray and Stubbs were a bit like that too, we'd never really heard of them and yet we came to appreciate both of their tenures
    They had both previously played for Celtic and everyone knew who they were.

No one had even heard of this guy prior to Lennon leaving, now you’re all saying he’s a great appointment!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan91 View Post
    They were well known players, so had that advantage. Wee Pat on the other hand, was out of left field.

No one had even heard of this guy prior to Lennon leaving, now you’re all saying he’s a great appointment!!
    Only a few are saying its a good appointment. The reality is nobody knows and we will just need to wait and see, instead of writing the guy off already.

I never wrote him off.

I’m firmly in the let’s give him a chance camp.

I’m not going pretend I’m excited by him though, I know nothing about him.

Let's just say you didn't come across as particularly "happy" with the appointment. Based on this and that you hadn't heard of him until a few weeks ago, I assumed you might have had a preferred candidate in mind?

But I know know that you are quite happy with the appointment and didn't fancy anyone else. So it's all cool

"Played" being the operative word. Hadn't been heard of in a managerial sense though.

The truth is when a Scottish Prem team appoints a new manager he either is a rookie, was been previously bumped by a team in England or has done well in the lower Scottish divisions or Irish football.

Paul Heckingbottom had 2-3 successful years at Barnsley. Surprised some people are turning their nose up at that! Sacked by Leeds, a massive club and basket case. Looks like a shrewd appointment to me.

if you had an knowledge of football in England or indeed at all you've have heard of him. you may not have known the specifics but you'd know the name.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    if you had an knowledge of football in England or indeed at all you've have heard of him. you may not have known the specifics but you'd know the name.

I must know hee haw about football then as I had never heard of him before, but that means nothing as he will get my backing

Inconsequential
    Like many Hibs fans I feel very underwhelmed with this appointment. Heckingbottom comes with a patchy record and despite all the nice words said about him there is feeling of disappointment. Seems to me the board picked in their estimation the best of who is available and who we could afford. However he may turn out to be a great success and time will tell. Wish him all the best and I hope he proves to be a great appointment.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    I must know hee haw about football then as I had never heard of him before, but that means nothing as he will get my backing
    that's all he or the club would ask, I would guess.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbiemacfie View Post
    Like many Hibs fans I feel very underwhelmed with this appointment. Heckingbottom comes with a patchy record and despite all the nice words said about him there is feeling of disappointment. Seems to me the board picked in their estimation the best of who is available and who we could afford. However he may turn out to be a great success and time will tell. Wish him all the best and I hope he proves to be a great appointment.

Where’s the patchy record?

He took over Barnsley won a cup got promoted kept them in the second tier having sold offall their best players. Got the Leeds job paid £1m a year.

Lennon or Stubbs couldn’t keep a club in the championship Hecky did twice and had all his best players sold, reinvested and brought through youth and coaches them on.

The boys background completely fits our structure. He’s also been holding out for the right job and it’s great he wants to come up here. New guy from down south, own ideas no old firm bull ****.

I get called negative a lot but never ever praise when positive.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Playoff finals are great. Barnsley where amazing the day they went up. Big Soarky will know him well too.

I'd heard of him before.Had to ask my dad who Tony Mowbray was when he was appointed.

As all players coaches and managers at Hibs they will get my full support, the truth is no matter who we appoint we won't know if they are good or not until much further down the road. Very few managers will guarantee success unless you go after a Klopp or a Guardiola which ain't happening at Easter Road.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post

He took over Barnsley won a cup got promoted kept them in the second tier having sold offall their best players. Got the Leeds job paid £1m a year.

Lennon or Stubbs couldn’t keep a club in the championship Hecky did twice and had all his best players sold, reinvested and brought through youth and coaches them on.

The boys background completely fits our structure. He’s also been holding out for the right job and it’s great he wants to come up here. New guy from down south, own ideas no old firm bull ****.

90+2 what a beacon of positivity you are 😉 ggtth

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar

Good positive post

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar

Tbf you’ve missed out the sections where his record was patchy 😉

He was on a very poor run at Barnsley with something like 1 win in 13 and then struggled at Leeds.

I’m not pointing them out to be negative but I don’t think we should just ignore them. I personally think there were mitigating circumstances with both those periods and he’ll be a better manager for the experiences.

I think he’ll be a really good appointment but only time will tell, really looking forward to hearing what he’s got to say.
    Last edited by bingo70; 13-02-2019 at 04:17 PM.

Are you Heckingbottom's agent?

That's some spin.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbiemacfie View Post
    Seems to me the board picked in their estimation the best of who is available and who we could afford.
    Is that not the definition of good governance?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Tbf you’ve missed out the sections where his record was patchy 😉

He was on a very poor run at Barnsley with something like 1 win in 13 and then struggled at Leeds.
    He left Barnsley sitting 21st in the league on a run of 1 league win in 15. The previous season they won only 2 of the final 18 league games of the season.
    Last edited by CapitalGreen; 13-02-2019 at 04:21 PM.