Paul Hartley on Open Goal

Just watched this, one of the better Open Goals, although I know it’s not everyones cup of tea, Si Ferry is quite an irritating interviewer, but some really interesting lnsight into PH’s time at hearts during the romanov era and the financial mismanagement that went on. Not much Hibs related content, briefly touches on his short spell with us. Definitely worth a watch.

https://youtu.be/CS76mK58urI

Quote Originally Posted by Leitherhibs View Post
    Just watched this, one of the better Open Goals, although I know it’s not everyones cup of tea, Si Ferry is quite an irritating interviewer, but some really interesting lnsight into PH’s time at hearts during the romanov era and the financial mismanagement that went on. Not much Hibs related content, briefly touches on his short spell with us. Definitely worth a watch.

I've watched nearly all these interviews, and this was one of the best imo. Some very funny stories and comes across as a like able bloke.

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Watched all these interviews always a good watch highly recommend

hadn't realised he was in our youth system from 12 to 16 before he left to go to Accies...

Brilliant!

Well worth a watch probably one of the best so far

Try this link

https://youtu.be/CLqfZGP8cnM

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Seems like a decent guy to be fair.

I'm no fan of Paul Hartley but that was a good watch and in interesting insight. Big fan of Ferry's interviewing style!

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    Probably the best yet.

I really like these though i would say is avoid the Maurice Ross one.

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Ingram View Post
    Probably the best yet.

I really like these though i would say is avoid the Maurice Ross one.
    Yeah, I swerved that one. Hardly had a career woth profiling, has he?

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    Yeah, I swerved that one. Hardly had a career woth profiling, has he?
    He has actually. He just seems dull, deluded and weird.

Simon Ferry worked his nuts off to get something out him but he was fighting a losing battle.

Enjoyed it a lot more than I thought i would. Thought it was quite interesting hearing about Potter losing his temper and smashing **** up. Suspect he's stopped that now for the sake of her heart.

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Ingram View Post
    He has actually. He just seems dull, deluded and weird.

Simon Ferry worked his nuts off to get something out him but he was fighting a losing battle.
    He’s been on sportsound a couple of times and just come across as vacant. Making his way in the world of coaching..

I thought he was pretty good the time he was at ER. He was employed as a dashing winger and he scored a couple of cracking goals.

I don't think a return to this parish would be a success, however.

I was surprised to hear that he was a HIBS S Form signing

I remember his debut on Boxing Day 1998 he came on as a sub in a 3-0 win over Ayr United a ball was launched towards him on the right wing it came doon with snow on it he trapped it first time nipped inside his man and sent over a cracking cross

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

I remember his debut on Boxing Day 1998 he came on as a sub in a 3-0 win over Ayr United a ball was launched towards him on the right wing it came doon with snow on it he trapped it first time nipped inside his man and sent over a cracking cross
    Wasn’t his debut the 5-1 game against Raith on January 2nd? Scored in the first minute IIRC.

Quote Originally Posted by CraigMNFitba View Post
    Wasn’t his debut the 5-1 game against Raith on January 2nd? Scored in the first minute IIRC.
    No!

HaHa!

Too long in the tooth now to post on here without checking the facts first

Source: fitbastats

PS

Yes I was actually at the game ... Baltic!

PH came on as a sub in the 5-1 victory at Starks Park
    McGinley x 2 Latapy Lovell and og
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 13-02-2019 at 02:01 PM.

@hibs.net private member s2hart's Avatar
    Good watch, I agree one of the best so far.

Just watched the Jason Scotland one, I always thought he hated us with a passion due to the permit thing but comes across well, loved a goal against us though!!

No!

HaHa!

Too long in the tooth now to post on here without checking the facts first

Source: fitbastats

PS

Yes I was actually at the game ... Baltic!

PH came on as a sub in the 5-1 victory at Starks Park

McGinley x 2 Latapy Lovell and og

It was at Easter rd.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    What a great listen that was

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    £1,500 (and rising) win bonuses! Ooft!

Hartley was one of those folk who I knew I should probably hate but couldn't bring myself to.

I always respected him for the fact that instead of getting involved with us fans he just let his football do the talking against us instead.

He was a player that we should never have let go in the first place.

And I still think there's a decent manager in there, in spite of the fact that his last couple of jobs didn't work out for him.

@hibs.net private member Aubenas's Avatar
    Favourite memory of Hartley:

He was sub in a game at Easter Rd and was warming up in front of the West stand towards the Albion Rd end.
    Hibs got a free kick midway in the other half towards the Dunbar End and took it quickly into space in front of where he was warming up.
    He looked round, assumed the ball had been kicked away to stop a quick kick, ran on the pitch and kicked it back.

Booked - for interfering with play and entering the pitch while a game was in progress!

Booked without playing.

Always good for a quiz question!
    Philly McGuinness, Leitrim GAA, died playing in a club match for Mohill. He epitomised all that is best about sport, making a 6 hour round trip to training three times a week from his workplace in Mayo, and was never late. His motto was 'Give it all, or give nothing'. One for all sportsmen to consider.

First Team Breakthrough superbam's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Aubenas View Post

He was sub in a game at Easter Rd and was warming up in front of the West stand towards the Albion Rd end.
    Hibs got a free kick midway in the other half towards the Dunbar End and took it quickly into space in front of where he was warming up.
    He looked round, assumed the ball had been kicked away to stop a quick kick, ran on the pitch and kicked it back.

Booked - for interfering with play and entering the pitch while a game was in progress!

Booked without playing.

Quality. He was easily rattled by fans but never really minded the guy. He wasn't spectacular with us but have good memories wildly celebrating his goal at brockville.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    £1,500 (and rising) win bonuses! Ooft!
    +£500 for every win.....a wee 5 game winning streak and they are pulling some serious money

The yacht and P diddy club is classic stories too

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    It was at Easter rd.
    Yip! It was at Easter Road

Look forward to that Podcast every Monday. Enjoyed that one.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Hartley comes across as a decent guy. To be honest, nearly everyone interviewed does. I suppose it’s possible to be a bit of a James Hunt on the field and a normal guy off it.

The only Si Ferri interview I can’t bring myself to watch is the one with Davie Weir. Total prick, dirty bassa and I want to maintain my dislike in perpetuity.

Quote Originally Posted by Aubenas View Post

Booked without playing.

My memory of it is that someone was playing the ball out for a goal kick after a stoppage in play e.g. A drop ball?

..and when he took that ball down for his first ever touch in a Hibs strip, the entire east stand went ''ooaaagghh', followed by an embarrassed giggle.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    +£500 for every win.....a wee 5 game winning streak and they are pulling some serious money

The yacht and P diddy club is classic stories too

Wonder how many of the 200 creditors have watched, no doubt delighted to find out their money was spent on yachts and P Diddy.