Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Effe Ambrose

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Strange he's only signed until the end of the season. Maybe some of the moves he may have had lined up fell through.
    I reckon hell be paid more 6 months at derby than he earned at hibs sadly

Going to see Derby on Wednesday, just because I'm down there and it's on .

@hibs.net private member Libby Hibby's Avatar
    It’s a weird one. To activate the clause, you would’ve thought he had something immediate lined up but it took him 5/6 weeks to sign for someone.

Unless moves broke down, why trigger the release clause?

I loved the big guy. Could very well still end up our player of the season,

I was disappointed he left when he did, we gave him a chance to gain his British citizenship and he could easily have waited till his contract ran out, or at least a small fee for him moving would've been a nice gesture.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    I was disappointed he left when he did, we gave him a chance to gain his British citizenship and he could easily have waited till his contract ran out, or at least a small fee for him moving would've been a nice gesture.
    Footballers are no different to anyone else though, would you really knock back the chance to earn thousands more per month if offered another job? We only ever think like this because we have an emotional attachment to the club, for most of these guys it's a way to earn money, nothing more and nothing less

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Footballers are no different to anyone else though, would you really knock back the chance to earn thousands more per month if offered another job? We only ever think like this because we have an emotional attachment to the club, for most of these guys it's a way to earn money, nothing more and nothing less
    Agreed

I didn't knock him for earning more but we gave him an opportunity to gain his visa, a visa which he needed to move south for those bigger wages, I just thought he could moved for a small nominal fee as a thank you to Hibs football club instead of triggering his get out free clause in January.

i've been worshiping him every day on this months official calendar :)

Quote Originally Posted by Malthibby View Post
    Watched through my eyes sometimes but usually strolled through games.
    How else are you going to watch him??

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    And there's the hat-trick.

On fire today.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Fingers, I meant fingers.........

I didn't knock him for earning more but we gave him an opportunity to gain his visa, a visa which he needed to move south for those bigger wages, I just thought he could moved for a small nominal fee as a thank you to Hibs football club instead of triggering his get out free clause in January.
    No one would pay a fee for him though knowing he had that clause in his contract

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    i've been worshiping him every day on this months official calendar :)
    Took my wee one on Saturday and he kept on asking if man from the calendar was playing yet. He got over it with two pizzas for two goals 😂

No one would pay a fee for him though knowing he had that clause in his contract
    Why wouldn’t they? A club worth about £100m have just signed him. He’s not went to Brechin.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Why wouldn’t they? A club worth about £100m have just signed him. He’s not went to Brechin.
    They didn't pay a fee for him did they?

Obviously no one except Efe and the club knew of this clause, I was just disappointed Efe felt it necessary to have it added so he could enforce it.

Yip I agree annoying, pretty sure his agent would have been making clubs aware

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Efe was released from his contract due to a clause, so he was a free agent?

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Efe was released from his contract due to a clause, so he was a free agent?
    I haven't disputed that, have you read the previous posts?

Aye, I’m not disputing it either. So why were you annoyed then ? Are you just an annoyed kind of guy?

They didn't pay a fee for him did they?
    No, but I’m sure if a manager of a club worth hunners of millions wants you and a manager like Lampard wants him he’s not going to phone up Ambrose and say leave on a free so we don’t have to pay your club a couple of hundred £k.

Aye, I’m not disputing it either. So why were you annoyed then ? Are you just an annoyed kind of guy?
    What the hell are you on about, I said it was annoying he left, I would rather he stayed

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    No, but I’m sure if a manager of a club worth hunners of millions wants you and a manager like Lampard wants him he’s not going to phone up Ambrose and say leave on a free so we don’t have to pay your club a couple of hundred £k.
    Worth hundreds of millions!! Time for you to go back on ignore so I don't need to see the rubbish you spout

Quote Originally Posted by Malthibby View Post
    Fingers, I meant fingers.........

What the hell are you on about, I said it was annoying he left, I would rather he stayed
    Yes, so does everyone, but I wasn’t annoyed and I never felt Efe had any obligation to stay.

Why don’t you switch yourself to ignore, more fun that way, ya charmer that you are,

Worth hundreds of millions!! Time for you to go back on ignore so I don't need to see the rubbish you spout
    No bother Allan. So the derby owner hasn’t ploughed over £100m into them and they where ****ting it over spending a couple of £100k on Ambrose off Hibs.

Off I pop onto your ignore 😂😂😂😂

Yes, so does everyone, but I wasn’t annoyed and I never felt Efe had any obligation to stay.

Why don’t you switch yourself to ignore, more fun that way, ya charmer that you are,

Super furry - I believe - you just made the list!!! 😂😂😂

I also didn't feel he had any obligation to stay, hence why I said no one would turn down the offer of earning more per month, I also said I didn't think clubs would pay a fee for him as his agent would have been making them aware he could leave for nowt, not really sure what your problem was with that?

I replied to the latter quote, in which you said it was annoying in response to someone else saying they were disappointed Efe felt the need to have the clause added so he could then “enforce” it?

So given that you understood why he was going to leave, why was it annoying? I felt only disappointment myself. Quite contrasting emotions in my life, disappointment and annoyed, although they can occasionally be simultaneously felt I suppose.

What I find annoying on here are people who switch to ultra defensive-aggressive mode at the merest hint of red rag to a bull in a china shop opportunity. Smacks of a certain level of hibs.net performance anxiety to me.

I replied to the latter quote, in which you said it was annoying in response to someone else saying they were disappointed Efe felt the need to have the clause added so he could then “enforce” it?

So given that you understood why he was going to leave, why was it annoying? I felt only disappointment myself. Quite contrasting emotions in my life, disappointment and annoyed, although they can occasionally be simultaneously felt I suppose.

What I find annoying on here are people who switch to ultra defensive-aggressive mode at the merest hint of red rag to a bull in a china shop opportunity. Smacks of a certain level of hibs.net performance anxiety to me.
    I was annoyed he left when he did as I'd rather he had stayed and helped us further up the table but as I said before, cant blame the guy for wanting more cash, but in hindsight yip it was probably more disappointment
    Last edited by Allant1981; 18-02-2019 at 08:29 PM.