Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: VAR for SPFL

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    The vast majority of goals are given with no need for VAR.

The occasional goal will be looked at do that the correct decision is made.

That's definitely a good thing.
    Watching the Southampton Derby replay the other night it did nothing for excitement and dragged the game backwards. Jeez, there was even a suggestion by the commentary team that every televised game would have its goals reviewed. Hopefully not. Not seeing VAR as progress. Jumping about re-celebrating a strike 60 seconds after the fact will drain the game of its current peak excitement.
    Watching the game as a neutral on the telly was hard enough. And it spoiled what could have been pretty good viewing.
    Last edited by Iggy Pope; 18-01-2019 at 07:04 PM.

Not a fan of VAR, football should just be left the way it is

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Watching the Southampton Derby replay the other night it did nothing for excitement and dragged the game backwards. Jeez, there was even a suggestion by the commentary team that every televised game would have its goals reviewed. Hopefully not. Not seeing VAR as progress. Jumping about
    re-celebrating a strike 60 seconds after the fact will drain the game of its current peak excitement.
    Watching the game as a neutral on the telly was hard enough. And it spoiled what could have been pretty good viewing.
    I don't see it like that.

If Hibs score, we'll cheer as usual. If it is then challenged, we'll hold our breath.

When it's reviewed and given, we'll cheer again.

It won't just be for goals, the vast majority of which will not need VAR. It'll be for penalty claims, simulation and hand balls.

Those decisions need to be correct and VAR will help ensure they are.

John Macdonald would have been sent off if we'd had VAR in 1978.

If Hibs score, we'll cheer as usual. If it is then challenged, we'll hold our breath.

It won't just be for goals, the vast majority of which will not need VAR. It'll be for penalty claims, simulation and hand balls.

Diving Wee b

Enjoy your holiday 😁

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar

I agree 100% works very well in rugby. John Macdonald I relive that every sevco game at Easter Road! f@£$%^&G hate him! was about 13 or 14 when that happened, scarred for life!

Yeh and we would have lost the Killie game at home which we won 3-2 with both penalty decisions being reversed, careful what you wish for with VAR !

Quote Originally Posted by delbert View Post
    Yeh and we would have lost the Killie game at home which we won 3-2 with both penalty decisions being reversed, careful what you wish for with VAR !
    And the Griffiths, Forster and Shaw goals would have stood against Hearts

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar

I don’t see it happening that way and I’m not sure VAR is helping get it right at all.
    And it’s took the edge off the telly viewing already. Don’t know, but that could be important to a lot of folks who might depend on watching some form or other of TV pictures for their football......?

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Diving Wee b

Enjoy your holiday 😁
    I'm back 👍

I'm back 👍
    See you behind the goals then 😁👍🏾⚽️🏆🇳🇬

Quote Originally Posted by SirDavidsNapper View Post
    Completely agree
    Me tae Anaw. I agree with the anti-VAR comments and would add my concern: we teach our bairns to become as resilient as possible. One way of getting the message across is to ensure they are aware, that at the end of the day, life is feckn’unfair. How we deal with the downs in life determines our well-being. Surely grown up laddies could learn to accept a poor decision - without all this need for delay and hi-techy intervention - and be the better person for it. Learn to accept, that mistakes, although a frustrating part of the game, are also a catalyst for good banter/slagging/debate which can literally last for years.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    See you behind the goals then 😁👍🏾⚽️🏆🇳🇬
    My next trip to Edinburgh will be for the Aberdeen game.

I had considered going up tomorrow, but I'm not long off the plane and I'm knackered. A journey tomorrow would finish me off.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    I'm in favour of VAR with the following caveat.

The referee only gets 30 seconds to look at the footage. If he can't see anything to overturn the original decision in that time frame, then it isn't clear and obvious so the original call on the field should stand.
    But the whole point is to get the decision correct, this not only puts the referee under pressure to get it right but then gives them a time constrain like a game of ****ing countdown.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    But the whole point is to get the decision correct, this not only puts the referee under pressure to get it right but then gives them a time constrain like a game of ****ing countdown.
    If the whole point is to get the decision correct then we need twenty cameras at every game and reviews could last fifteen minutes.

If the whole point is to avoid obvious errors then a thirty second review period will satisfy the objective without overly disrupting the flow of the game.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.