Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    They should have come to sunny Sydney......

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    A very expensive pint

It’s a massive city, very long and thin and stretched out along the waterfront. Where are you staying about?

Pubs are all pretty much in hotels, as others have said the Dubai Hibs boys seem to meet in Fibbers which is pretty much in the middle. Restaurants of every variety, hotel ones tend to be pricey, get yourself out and about (taxis are dirt cheap and there’s loads). Temperature just now will probably be spot on, nowhere near the 45-50 degrees it sometimes gets to in the height of summer.
    I'm teetotal so all good.

Staying at Recency think it's central. Can't wait to see this mall for clothes I keep hearing about
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post

Staying at Recency think it's central. Can't wait to see this mall for clothes I keep hearing about
    Keep an eye out for the Mall with the indoor ski-slope. Unreal,

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mcfly View Post
    Have you ever visited Dubai?

It’s certainly not a backward country
    Not if you are one of the type of people who they "approve " of.
    Last edited by NORTHERNHIBBY; 04-01-2019 at 07:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by StirlingHibee View Post
    I understand Dubai won't be everyone's cup of tea but I find it a fantastic (and fascinating) place to holiday (I've also worked out there). It's not cheap (around £10 a pint) but great nightlife if you know where to go. Almost 80% of the population are non-emiratis and to a certain extent some of the previous posts are true in that the migrant workers are poorly treated. The taxi drivers tend to be largely Pakistani and Bangladeshan who often work 12 hour shifts 7 days a week. The construction workers tend to be from India and work in extremely uncomfortable conditions. Filipinos and Nepalese work in the hospitality sector. Average wage for migrants is around £250-300 a month. I'll be honest it does play with my conscious sometimes, however, it's important to remember that the migrant workers send the vast majority of their wages back to their families to support them. Bottom line is, like it or not, the migrant workers are better off in Dubai as the opportunities are simply not there at home. I also tip well at every opportunity (particularly taxi drivers). Last bit of info if i may - have a few beers, even a dance, but normal rules don't necessarily apply here. I think the best approach is don't do anything that brings attention on yourself!! All said and done - a great place to go.
    Sounds fantastic right enough. Was that the good points?

'Don't do anything that brings attention to yourselves...' What like have fun

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    Seems like a fair reflection. However there are number of countries with similar records.
    Are Hibs visiting these countries?

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    Are Hibs visiting these countries?
    LeeAnn has negotiated a summer friendly season, Including a three night stay in Pyongyang, a trip to Brazil to watch the new fascist regime hack down the rainforest and an intercontinental bawbag trophy in Saudi where there will be a ceremonial limb removal of shoplifters at the centre circle at halftime.

Love it or leave it, liberal justice warrior snowflakes

Who is not going?

Quote Originally Posted by Luna5 View Post
    Who is not going?
    Me

Who is not going?
    Me

You couldn't pay me to go there

Do they no behead folk in Dubai for drinking in the streets or is that Saudi Arabia?

Meant players!!!
    Heard Lewis Martin Ross all not - any more?

Quote Originally Posted by Connollys11 View Post
    Do they no behead folk in Dubai for drinking in the streets or is that Saudi Arabia?
    Greenock

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Greenock
    Hahaha they behead folk for less than that in greenock bollah

Wink

Be interested in older fans recalling places Hibernian have visited that may/would have been on Human Rights Watch/Amnesty Intl. at the time.

I recall us touring Nigeria pre season, late 60s, at a time of civil war (Biafra) in that
    Country.

The Tornadoes played FC Besa in Albania at a time when that Country was possibly the most secretive/closed Country in Europe.

Players could not go for a p without being watched by the "official guide" (cop) or "tour rep." (another cop)

On Dubai....

Peter Cook and Dudley Moore toured there.
    They were so unimpressed,they wrote a song about the place.

Dubai ,Dubai
    we're leaving now, Dubai
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 04-01-2019 at 08:05 PM.

Meant players!!!
    Heard Lewis Martin Ross all not - any more?

Ofir is in the dominican republic just now so presume he isn’t going or joining the team later in the week

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    LeeAnn has negotiated a summer friendly season, Including a three night stay in Pyongyang, a trip to Brazil to watch the new fascist regime hack down the rainforest and an intercontinental bawbag trophy in Saudi where there will be a ceremonial limb removal of shoplifters at the centre circle at halftime.

Love it or leave it, liberal justice warrior snowflakes
    Limb removal for shoplifting, just aswell we never re signed sparky 😀

Who is not going?
    Wimbledon fans.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Is it true that the folk from Dubai don’t like the Flintstones?..........

....But the folk from Abu Dhabi do?!! 😂

Be interesting to see if Agyepong goes to Dubai. Give us an indication if he’s staying or not

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Be interesting to see if Agyepong goes to Dubai. Give us an indication if he’s staying or not
    Hope not Billy, looks to be made of paper and we need players who are prepared to really bust a gut to get into the side and play football. Good player he may be, he's offering us zero.

I'm not entirely convinced of his injury to be even more brutally honest.

Any estimates of how many are going? Good effort by all concerned

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Hope not Billy, looks to be made of paper and we need players who are prepared to really bust a gut to get into the side and play football. Good player he may be, he's offering us zero.

Why?

When will we know who is in the squad to travel ?

Quote Originally Posted by SiinDubai View Post
    Limb removal for shoplifting, just aswell we never re signed sparky 😀
    As long as it wasn’t his left peg.

Strange comments. Every time I’ve seen the wee man I’ve always been impressed at his willingness to get stuck in.

Flight ready to depart

Quote Originally Posted by Blurry Face View Post
    Paul Hanlon
    Payls away with the squad so not sure where your hearing that pish. They are away tonight for a week decent trip that.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

The look in his face when he came off against Dundee suggests otherwise - looked distraught and obviously knew he was in trouble.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post

If you’re reading this S, get me a team sheet if you can.
    Stay out of trouble now and keep out the papers! Takes a long time to get folks back from there.
    S.