Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Sunderland Till I Die - Netflix

Anyone else started watching this? Really great insight to a football club and how’s it operates.

Downside is Martin Bain is on camera a lot.

Enjoy.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaffer1875 View Post
    Anyone else started watching this? Really great insight to a football club and how’s it operates.

Enjoy.

Started it today as was rough. Watched 6 episodes, it is really good.

It's a warts and all series, shows a lot thats wrong with current game, one saving grace is the fans dedication passion and support, mind Bain doesn't come over well, how he earned 1.2 million a year I will never know.
    Series 2 is being filmed this season and with reviews for this series being so positive I would imagine netflix will screen it.

Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal G View Post
    It's a warts and all series, shows a lot thats wrong with current game, one saving grace is the fans dedication passion and support, mind Bain doesn't come over well, how he earned 1.2 million a year I will never know.
    Series 2 is being filmed this season and with reviews for this series being so positive I would imagine netflix will screen it.
    When the fan tried to have a square go with Coleman! Embarrassing.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Did hear about this earlier in the week somewhere and despite not being big into watching English football, this is something I would definitely like to watch. Whether I can wrestle the remote off the missus and drag her away from her Ozark binge remains to be seen though.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Just heard about this today. One for the festive holidays.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Some of those fans are a different breed

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    Just heard about this today. One for the festive holidays.

Definitely going to watch this over the festive holiday period as well.

I’ve still to watch the Man City All Or Nothing documentary on Amazon Prime which received some pretty good reviews so definitely got that on the watch list.

Gamertag: ORAMAGE95
    Disappointed that it didn’t start at the beginning of pre-season. Was hoping to see a wee bit of Hibs in there. Would have liked to maybe see bits of our game against them

Quote Originally Posted by hfc rd View Post
    Definitely going to watch this over the festive holiday period as well.

I’ve still to watch the Man City All Or Nothing documentary on Amazon Prime which received some pretty good reviews so definitely got that on the watch list.
    City ones pretty polished but when your that good I guess it's a given, still worth watching mind.

Quote Originally Posted by Cardinal G View Post
    City ones pretty polished but when your that good I guess it's a given, still worth watching mind.
    After watching the city one. I hope they fail miserably as they are everything that’s wrong with modern football.

Did Bain not help ruin make 1?

A programme about Sunderland you say. I assume this is a comedy?

Quote Originally Posted by Gaffer1875 View Post

Enjoy.

Don't worry Bain won't appear much in the new series!
    Just comes across as an arrogant ar$e.

Quote Originally Posted by hfc rd View Post

Definitely recommend it. Pep Guardiola just seems to be loved by his players. Some of the biggest stars in the world and they sit like kids listening to his every word. You can certainly see why the fans of every club he's managed love him.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Watched the first 3 episodes last night, decent watch considering Sunderland are one of the least interesting clubs I can think of.

Found it funny in the first episode where one of the Sunderland fans had hoped for a 4 or 5 nil win against Celtic to give them a bit of confidence for the season. Shows how little they think of Scottish football. Celtic spanked them 5-0 at the Stadium of Light.

Martin Vain is a tit..

Watching this just now binge watch on Netflix brilliant!

Reminds me of the bad old days of two weeks ago 😁

Just finished it. What a shambles that club has been. I thought there was an awful lack of accountability from some senior players. Speaking to the cameras seemed to get panned off on a few young lads, and Gibson. I thought Jack Rodwell came over as a fud but then the club chose to give him his contract as well so there's blame lying at other peoples door for that situation too.

Thought Coleman came across pretty well and if anyone was going to keep them up it was most likely going to be him but I think it was a poisoned chalice and I'm amazed he left Wales for that job.

Martin Bain exThe Rangers is David Brent!

Martin Bain and Jim White are in so much in the opening two episodes I considered bailing out on it, they are both so skincrawlingly annoying. But then you realise that Bain becoming a laughing stock/hate figure is part of the story, him being the self satisfied succulent lamb range rover driving love himself so much he'd eat himself tit that he is. Him planting unwanted kisses on the women in the office was pure David Brent.

But it's a quality production, really good documentary.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Martin Bain and Jim White are in so much in the opening two episodes I considered bailing out on it, they are both so skincrawlingly annoying. But then you realise that Bain becoming a laughing stock/hate figure is part of the story, him being the self satisfied succulent lamb range rover driving love himself so much he'd eat himself tit that he is. Him planting unwanted kisses on the women in the office was pure David Brent.

But it's a quality production, really good documentary.
    Jim White is annoying but would recommend his interview on Si Ferrys Open Goal on YouTube has a few good stories

First Team Breakthrough northgreen24's Avatar
    Binged watched this yesterday, really good show, the part where Martin Bain was raging when Roswell said he would be staying to run down his contract😂

The club were stupid enough not to put a clause in but expect the player to walk away,

SPOILER ALERT!

68k a week or something I think I would be staying put

Basket case of a club!

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Watched episode two last night. Martin Bain - the last time I think I saw anyone in a v neck sweater with nothing underneath was Franco Begbie in Trainspotting. Maybe still popular in the North East of England..

Haha Chris Coleman has just gone to my old local cafe in Whitley Bay I'm only on episode five so nae spoilers ta

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Haha Chris Coleman has just gone to my old local cafe in Whitley Bay I'm only on episode five so nae spoilers ta
    Safe to say he doesn't die in the end then...

I just started watching it last night.

Looks like I'm alone here, but I thought Martin Bain seemed ok. He was hated by the Sunderland fans, but had an impossible job - move on a load of crap players who were earning a fortune and not really wanting to contribute anything, and replace them with players who earned less but contributed significantly more.

That will be a tough club to turn around, but by all accounts they are now just about going in the right direction.

I really liked the city one. Kompany has such a huge presence on that club.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    SPOILER ALERT!

68k a week or something I think I would be staying put

Basket case of a club!
    Likewise. Rodwell would be lucky to get a contract on 10% of that if he left Sunderland yet Martin Bain wanted him to walk away from at least 18 months (as he’s still at Sunderland now and the conversation on the show was almost a year ago) or £4.5m+ to become unemployed. I’d be doing the exact same as Rodwell.