Thread: Game in doubt?

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar

Game in doubt?

Yellow warning of snow and amber warning of ice in place in the central belt over the weekend - possible fans could get stranded/pitch will be unplayable?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Yellow warning of snow and amber warning of ice in place in the central belt over the weekend - possible fans could get stranded/pitch will be unplayable?
    Not for a yellow warning.

Think the forecast is for a bit snow during the night but not enough for it to lie.

Is that not what Undersoil heating is for?

It would have to be higher than a yellow warning.

I've never known a game to be cancelled because of Yellow Snow.

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan69 View Post
    Is that not what Undersoil heating is for?

underfoot conditions on surrounding streets don't have undersoil heating, health and safety and all that

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post

hope no one ever thinks of eating it either, just sayin likes

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    underfoot conditions on surrounding streets don't have undersoil heating, health and safety and all that

So get some Skis!

Bl**dy Snowflakes!

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Game in doubt cause it’s a bit chilly in Scotland in December?

Aye ok then.

I can remember tha game against them last December felt about -6!! Cracking game though. We should have ended their run in the last few minutes of that game!

So get some Skis!

Bl**dy Snowflakes!

snowflakes are for the holy ground forum

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Man/woman/non-binary up, ffs!

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I can remember tha game against them last December felt about -6!! Cracking game though. We should have ended their run in the last few minutes of that game!
    Was that the one when Boyata had an incredible block from Shaw with the last kick of the game?

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Was that the one when Boyata had an incredible block from Shaw with the last kick of the game?
    Wasn't it Lustig with that block? Boyata had an eventful game too, though - a second yellow for a foul on McGeough just outside the box, then goes on to nearly score, then made a really good tackle on Stokesy (IIRC).

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Did they not call off a game at Easter Road about 2011/2012 because of the surrounding streets conditions?

The pitch was absolutely fine

@hibs.net private member Radium's Avatar

Can’t see there being an issue

Quote Originally Posted by Aim Here View Post
    Wasn't it Lustig with that block? Boyata had an eventful game too, though - a second yellow for a foul on McGeough just outside the box, then goes on to nearly score, then made a really good tackle on Stokesy (IIRC).
    It was Lustig that stopped Shaw from scoring a winner
    What a moment this is!
    It's Liam Henderson to deliver......

Would be a right pisser if it was.

If travelling from Inverness or Aberdeen...I'd understand.
    From Glasgow is a well used gritted route.

🤣 called off because of a couple of hailstones

If this is even close to serious then Scottish Football needs to take a good Long hard look at itself. We haven’t spent a fortune on under soil heating to call a game off at a little bit of weather.

Quote Originally Posted by SingaporeHibs View Post
    If this is even close to serious then Scottish Football needs to take a good Long hard look at itself. We haven’t spent a fortune on under soil heating to call a game off at a little bit of weather.
    Games can be called off because of the streets surrounding the ground being deemed unsafe.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Games can be called off because of the streets surrounding the ground being deemed unsafe.
    Seriously mate, there is weather that makes transport impossible (consider safety) and there is just normal winter weather. Normal winter weather is not a game changer. We could argue all day Long about what is or isn’t normal weather but please don’t let’s worry about this type of forecast. Call me old fashioned but omg, the world is going nuts

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Last year v Huns (1-2) game. The underfoot conditions on the streets around the stadium were treacherous. My pal fell and dislocated his knee, also tearing ligaments into the bargain. He said whilst waiting for medical attention someone else fell and sustained a head injury. Meanwhile I had turned down South Clair St and halfway down was an auld boy, guys helping him but looking incapacitated, and no through the bevvy....buckin carnage.

That was a disgrace and the council should have known there would be 20000 people at the game, no gritting of pavements at all.

Just saying, but.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Last year v Huns (1-2) game. The underfoot conditions on the streets around the stadium were treacherous. My pal fell and dislocated his knee, also tearing ligaments into the bargain. He said whilst waiting for medical attention someone else fell and sustained a head injury. Meanwhile I had turned down South Clair St and halfway down was an auld boy, guys helping him but looking incapacitated, and no through the bevvy....buckin carnage.

That was a disgrace and the council should have known there would be 20000 people at the game, no gritting of pavements at all.

Just saying, but.

Blame the Yam Cooncil!

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Man/woman/non-binary up, ffs!

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    Did they not call off a game at Easter Road about 2011/2012 because of the surrounding streets conditions?

The pitch was absolutely fine
    seriously mate my memory is goosed, maybe if it was just 6 weeks ago i would remember..but not 6 years sorry :(

Just saying, but.

i can't remember which game it was but it was a night game and St Clair St was indeed atrocious, i remember posting on here after the game that an older woman had went a burton between the kerb and car and she took a right sore one, the pavement was a freakin disgrace

If you believe BBC Scotland we face Armageddon.

Just saying, but.
    Even Leith Walk was treacherous that night

They don’t close the shops if it’s slippy outside

I love winter fitba