Fact

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    That depends on how you class Smith.
    As a winger?

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Two I’ve seen . Archibald just shades Keith Keith Keith and second pick has to be the Deekmaster . With Sparky Gaz and Fletcher very close .
    But the best two would have to be Reilly and Baker ( Smith was a winger ) imo
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by Criswell View Post
    I remember Colin Stein and Peter Cormack from my early supporting days. Maybe not the best ever but worth a mention.
    Agree. And both went for big money and won European medals. Hibs were a great side to watch in the mid to late sixties.

Steve Archibald and Garry O’ Connor

Quote Originally Posted by eastmainsmsh View Post
    Steve Archibald and Garry O’ Connor
    Neil Martin & Joe McBride (snr).

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    Neil Martin & Joe McBride (snr).
    Neil Martin's goals to games ratio was fantastic and McBride was a great goalscorer

Tosh & Power

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Tosh & Power
    I'll raise you, Ally Scott and Graham Fyffe.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sarf View Post
    Gordon Smith

Joe Baker

Fact

Me too but what is your fact?

Quote Originally Posted by cmcd View Post
    Neil Martin's goals to games ratio was fantastic and McBride was a great goalscorer
    Pretty sure he was the first player to score 100 goals in both Scotland & England ( Neil that is)

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    My hand I think - Isak Refvik and Svein Mathisen.

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Earlydelivery View Post
    Alan Gordon and Jimmy O’rourke

Same for me an outstanding pairing

In my lifetime from the players I have seen....individually Baker and Durie. As a pair O’Rourke and Gordon.

Can only go on who I have seen in my lifetime:

Jimmy O'Rourke

Alex Edwards

And this being open to interpretation as Edwards being an attacking midfielder.

If not acceptable, then Alan Gordon.
    Last edited by PapillonVert; 09-12-2018 at 09:23 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by PapillonVert View Post
    Can only go on who I have seen in my lifetime:

Jimmy O'Rourke

Alex Edwards

And this being open to interpretation as Edwards being an attacking midfielder.

If not acceptable, then Alan Gordon.
    This 😁

Quote Originally Posted by GreenArmyyy! View Post
    O’Connor and Riordans partnership was pretty special.
    for the younger fans, those2 were something special. I agree. their partnership was good. Riordan, is was one of my all time favourites. I watched the Tornadoes, but he was very special and scored some great goals against the gorgie mob. that will do for me
    O'Connor complimented him with his big bustling style. never a great footballer, but always a trier and a hustler.

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    both signed from der hun, on a knock down price or with a giveaway swap deal if I reacalll ? that seemed like the start of bringing in real pish!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    My hand I think - Isak Refvik and Svein Mathisen.
    I like that move...………..were the 2 of them NOT eventually n pulled oot, on technicality\\\\\\\\\\\/ something happened, if I REMEBER.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    I like that move...………..were the 2 of them NOT eventually n pulled oot, on technicality\\\\\\\\\\\/ something happened, if I REMEBER.
    Work permit issues.
    Hibernian "fought" the authorities to allow both to remain at ER,but to no avail.

They only played a handful of games for the club between them.
    Sad as the fans were really excited about these two players.

Of course, had they been signing for 2 well known clubs in Glasgow, i am sure that would have been sorted out !

PS !!
    Some of the names on here widnae have been "best forwards" for Heriot Vale !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 09-12-2018 at 10:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    both signed from der hun, on a knock down price or with a giveaway swap deal if I reacalll ? that seemed like the start of bringing in real pish!!!!
    Swapped for Iain Munro a real class act who only played about 6 games for Der Hun before being shipped back to St Mirren He eventually made his way back to Easter Road but a strange move?

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Swapped for Iain Munro a real class act who only played about 6 games for Der Hun before being shipped back to St Mirren He eventually made his way back to Easter Road but a strange move?
    Munro was superb for us. correct.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Work permit issues.
    Hibernian "fought" the authorities to allow both to remain at ER,but to no avail.

They only played a handful of games for the club between them.
    Sad as the fans were really excited about these two players.

Of course, had they been signing for 2 well known clubs in Glasgow, i am sure that would have been sorted out !

PS !!
    Some of the names on here widnae have been "best forwards" for Heriot Vale !!
    I knew there was something dodgy Mick. Isak was a bit special, if I remember

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    With the emergence of talent such as Bobby Smith and Des Bremner, Iain Munro should have become a mainstay of the second generation tornadoes. Sadly, Turnbull’s judgement went awol, swapping him for Fyfe and Scott proved to be one of the great man’s more flawed pieces of business during that period ( starting with buying Harper when we had an awesome strike force and needed a goalie and a centre half).

In my lifetime...

Keith Wright
    Leigh Griffiths

Imagine that paring up front in their pomp!

Historically it's got to be Gordon Smith and Joe Baker shirley?

Some crazy suggestions on this thread.

I'll go for Rowan Vine and if it's allowed, Rowan Vine again.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    With the emergence of talent such as Bobby Smith and Des Bremner, Iain Munro should have become a mainstay of the second generation tornadoes. Sadly, Turnbull’s judgement went awol, swapping him for Fyfe and Scott proved to be one of the great man’s more flawed pieces of business during that period ( starting with buying Harper when we had an awesome strike force and needed a goalie and a centre half).
    Yip! Pretty much how I saw it at the time.

Shudda hung onto Munro and as you say we had the makings of a new generation TTs coming through a young Bobby Smith, Des Bremner, Derek Spalding though sadly went stateside and the real Ally Macleod

I was never a fan of Tony Higgins -looks like me in a HIBS strip -but he did all right for us -we shudda signed George Stewart sooner I spoke to him in the Chesser Inn a proper gentleman a big Hibby said he would have left Dundee in a heartbeat

Jim McArthur to me was too wee as a keeper but he did all right for us as well
    Ned was probably a bit hasty in getting rid of Herriot but he took the blame for the Split disaster and he had already decided to split up the Tornadoes

Iain Munro returned to Easter Road to play for us later in his career

Being a Hibby is all about cycles maybe we will have another good team in another thirty years

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Yip! Pretty much how I saw it at the time.

Shudda hung onto Munro and as you say we had the makings of a new generation TTs coming through a young Bobby Smith, Des Bremner, Derek Spalding though sadly went stateside and the real Ally Macleod

I was never a fan of Tony Higgins -looks like me in a HIBS strip -but he did all right for us -we shudda signed George Stewart sooner I spoke to him in the Chesser Inn a proper gentleman a big Hibby said he would have left Dundee in a heartbeat

Jim McArthur to me was too wee as a keeper but he did all right for us as well
    Ned was probably a bit hasty in getting rid of Herriot but he took the blame for the Split disaster and he had already decided to split up the Tornadoes

Iain Munro returned to Easter Road to play for us later in his career

Being a Hibby is all about cycles maybe we will have another good team in another thirty years
    Jim McArthur definitely gave us good service, but he wasn’t a top class keeper by any means. For the money spent on Harper we could have signed Alan Rough and George Stewart. Would have won the league that season if we had ( mibbies).

Another strange one, albeit slightly later, was the swapping of Shades for Bobby Hutchison, deary me.

Anyway back to the strikers.

Lawrie Reilly and Joe Baker are strong candidates for the greatest Hibs centre forwards of all time. Only saw Baker play when he returned to ER in 1971.

I did have the pleasure of gieing the baw tae Reilly, albeit aged about and kicking a fitba in the street outside the Bowlers Rest. Living the dream back then. Moved to Elbe St, Leith. Surrounded by Hibs daft laddies and able to make my way up to ER for the big games that my auld man wouldn’t take me to. The icing on the cake was seeing the legend coming oot his boozer on a regular basis. He always had time for the kids, a truly lovely man.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Jim McArthur definitely gave us good service, but he wasn’t a top class keeper by any means. For the money spent on Harper we could have signed Alan Rough and George Stewart. Would have won the league that season if we had ( mibbies).

Another strange one, albeit slightly later, was the swapping of Shades for Bobby Hutchison, deary me.

Anyway back to the strikers.

Lawrie Reilly and Joe Baker are strong candidates for the greatest Hibs centre forwards of all time. Only saw Baker play when he returned to ER in 1971.

I did have the pleasure of gieing the baw tae Reilly, albeit aged about and kicking a fitba in the street outside the Bowlers Rest. Living the dream back then. Moved to Elbe St, Leith. Surrounded by Hibs daft laddies and able to make my way up to ER for the big games that my auld man wouldn’t take me to. The icing on the cake was seeing the legend coming oot his boozer on a regular basis. He always had time for the kids, a truly lovely man.
    Never saw them two in their pomp though like you I was at Joe Bakers second debut versus Aberdeen

I remember the sideburns and white boots

My Auld Boy used to rave about the Baker Boy Last Minute Reilly and his all time favourite Gordon Smith

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    If its strike partners in the same team, the majority have went for Alan G and Jimmy O
    Who am i to argue with that !
    The thread does have me salivating at some wonderful forwards i saw at Hibernian.
    What price Alex Edwards in todays transfer markets ?
    Alex was my favourite player back then, but we had a whole good talented team back then.