Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Historically surely it has to be Joe Baker and Gordon Smith? Allegedly amongst the best in the world in their era.

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    Best two I've seen would have to be Gordon and O'Rourke
    Me too, what a combination.

Gordon Smith

Willie Hamilton.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Historically surely it has to be Joe Baker and Gordon Smith? Allegedly amongst the best in the world in their era.
    I take it you never had the pleasure of seeing Gordon and ORourke ?

What a combination a partnership made in heaven

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    It seems most replies are naming strikers they have seen.
    The OP asked for best 2 forwards !

When i first watched Hibernian,we played with 5 forwards

So any one member of our two finest forward lines would get my mention.

Arthur Duncan scored more goals in one season (as a winger) than some strikers mentioned

As for strikers

Steve Cowan was top scorer in Scotland at the end of his first season at the club.

A wee,nay,big mention for centre forwards Gerry Baker and Joe McBride

A bit hard to say if you haven't seen them though!!!!

For all we know there could have been somebody brilliant in the 1880s or 1920s but we haven't heard of them.

Gordon and O'Rourke were my favourites when I was at school probably when I was at my most impressionable. It was only recently that I discovered that Alan Gordon didn't actually play an awful lot of games for Hibs and partnered Jimmy in less than 50 games (if I'm recalling the conversation correctly).

Quote Originally Posted by Famous Fiver View Post
    Gordon Smith

Willie Hamilton.
    Genuine question, was Willie Hamilton a forward?

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    A bit hard to say if you haven't seen them though!!!!

For all we know there could have been somebody brilliant in the 1880s or 1920s but we haven't heard of them.

Gordon and O'Rourke were my favourites when I was at school probably when I was at my most impressionable. It was only recently that I discovered that Alan Gordon didn't actually play an awful lot of games for Hibs and partnered Jimmy in less than 50 games (if I'm recalling the conversation correctly).
    Alan Gordon played 143 games for HIBS scoring 82 goals over four seasons not a bad return his only problem was all his brains were in his heid according to Eddie Turnbull

Joe Baker, how many Scottish players could play in Serie A ? he played in the equivalent in the early sixties and i doubt we will ever see the likes again. My second choice would be Neil Martin, signed from QOS but what a find ! scored a lot of goals for us in only a few seasons before moving to England.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Alan Gordon played 143 games for HIBS scoring 82 goals over four seasons not a bad return his only problem was all his brains were in his heid according to Eddie Turnbull
    Signed in January 1972 and left in November 74, less than three years at the club.

Goals to games ratio superb.

Neil Martin, 65 appearances and 53 goals ! Not a bad record.

Genuine question, was Willie Hamilton a forward?

Yes, the term back then would be "inside forward" . 8 or 10
    In the days when strips were numbered 1 to 11
    Willie Hamilton was the finest player i saw in a Hibernian jersey .
    Am not alone there.
    Pat Stanton and Jimmy O'Rourke are but two former players who rated Willie as the best player they played alongside at ER.

Jock Stein said Willie was one of the most gifted players he ever managed.
    He compared Willie to Dalglish
    Willie was a footballing genius.
    The trouble was he seemed to treat football as his hobby and not a real job.
    He glided through games.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-12-2018 at 07:19 PM.

Signed in January 1972 and left in November 74, less than three years at the club.

Goals to games ratio superb.
    Current forwards take note

Alan Gordon 143 games 82 goals
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 08-12-2018 at 06:56 AM.

I would say Deek and Sparky in recent years. O'Connor in his pomp was very good. As a kid, seeing Steve Archibald was a joy. I was devastated when he left after just one season.

Gordon Smith would have to be my no.1
    The other would be Joe Baker.
    Even Lawrie Reilly regarded Joe as a better striker than himself because of the quality of the forward line he was a member of compared to Joe.

the Dream Ticket , Drew

Joe Baker is the best forward I have seen playing forHibs.I find it difficult to choose between Bobby Johnston and Willie Hamilton for second place.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Gordon and O’Rourke for me.

Never saw that much of Joe Baker, but his brother Gerry was a terrific centre forward for us too.
    2 English Internationalists, both on the Hibs books! Saw Joe, but only had a chewin' gum sticker of Gerry.

Can't argue with that.
    They were lethal and a joy to watch.
    I can only refer to players I have seen play in my lifetime, so will leave Smith and Baker for an even older generation of Hibbies.
    Last edited by Hi Heid Yin; 07-12-2018 at 07:45 PM.

Only saw Joe Baker on his return so can't comment on his first spell but everyone a few years older than me idolised him.

Joe McBride Snr banged in a few when I was a young lad but have to agree Alan Gordon & Jimmy O'Rourke remain my favourite two forwards.

Derek Riordan is the only one close in recent years in my opinion.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    If it has to be a partnership then Deek and Garry. If it's two different ones then Deek and Sparky. In my lifetime anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    2 English Internationalists, both on the Hibs books! Saw Joe, but only had a chewin' gum sticker of Gerry.
    Gerry Baker born in New York capped by the US

Gerry was born in New York and played for the USA
    Joe was around a month old when his family returned to Scotland
    Nowadays, i suppose both would be eligible for Scotland.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-12-2018 at 07:51 PM.

Has to be Ally McLeod and Colin Campbell.

We would have won the treble in '79, if only the midfield had supplied the service they deserved!!!!

Gerry was born in New York and played for the USA
    Boo to both of you! I had it in my heid that both played for England. I stand corrected

Its a strange one though
    Two brothers born on different Continents end up at Hibernian and representing their birth Countries at football

PS
    Gerry used to come to my Ma's house for a cuppa and a bran scone

Its a strange one though
    Two brothers born on different Continents end up at Hibernian and representing their birth Countries at football

PS
    Gerry used to come to my Ma's house for a cuppa and a bran scone
    your at the wind-up . Americans cannae eat bran scones Bagels

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    Has to be Ally McLeod and Colin Campbell.

We would have won the treble in '79, if only the midfield had supplied the service they deserved!!!!
    Colin Campbell Shudda went doon as if he had been shot by a sniper from the stand when pole axed by the Girvan Lighthouse instead of trying to stay on his feet in the last minute the only way you would get a penalty in them days against Rangers well maybes naw!!

Joe Baker scored nine goals versus Peebles Rovers in the Scottish Cup
    Gerry Baker scored ten goals versus Glasgow University for St Mirren

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    As we’ve already discussed, we are a similar vintage. My formative years were consumed by idolising the team fronted by Alan Gordon and Jimmy O’Rourke but your take is beyond argument. To think that Gordon Smith was still picking up league medals elsewhere while Joe was tearing it up at Easter Road is regrettable and if it been allowed to happen in this .Net era we would be taking to the streets.

If it’s only gonna be players we have seen then there’s enough demographic on here (say aged 15-75) to pick a team of 11 goal scoring forwards and a couple of subs that couldn’t be argued with.

Reilly
    Smith
    J.Baker
    Martin
    Stein
    McBride Snr
    O’Rourke
    Gordon
    Harper
    Cowan
    Irvine
    Wright
    O’ Connor
    Riordan
    Mixu
    Cummings

Only seen 12 of them (and one of those I remember **** all about seeing him) but I would hate having to leave any of them out if they were all available.

Yes, the term back then would be "inside forward" . 8 or 10
    In the days when strips were numbered 1 to 11
    Willie Hamilton was the finest player i saw in a Hibernian jersey .
    Am not alone there.
    Pat Stanton and Jimmy O'Rourke are but two former players who rated Willie as the best player they played alongside at ER.

Jock Stein said Willie was one of the most gifted players he ever managed.
    He compared Willie to Dalglish
    Willie was a footballing genius.
    The trouble was he seemed to treat football as his hobby and not a real job.
    He glided through games.
    Thanks Mick.

Saw him playing in my first Edinburgh derby but it was for Hearts.