Thread: Shan

Shan

Some lassie on x factor with that handle...no bad but needs to change her agent....p.s.not my choice of viewing...the wife 😎😎😂😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by vuefrom1875 View Post
    Some lassie on x factor with that handle...no bad but needs to change her agent....p.s.not my choice of viewing...the wife 😎😎😂😂😂
    Aye, ok then ☺️

Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    Aye, ok then ☺️
    Bit of a shan thread, really!

Gamertag: Rehabacrossthesea Wii Code: 4040
    Old Edinburgh word.

Probably not used nowadays.

Spelt SIAN?

I know at least 2 women named Sian.

Quote Originally Posted by MackTheKnife View Post
    Old Edinburgh word.

Still used by me🤣

Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post
    Still used by me🤣
    And me. What a shan thread😁

Shan asf, love these type threads, random 👍

It could be worse I went into this chemist the other day near me for some painkillers
    Shan photo.jpg

Shan't.

It's a city in Chine. With clay soldiers, Xian.

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    It's a city in Chine. With clay soldiers, Xian.

China, even. French auto correct.

On this topic - was at Killie away last year and two lads in the Hibs end were having a right go at one another.

One was calling the other a bowtay (?) - what is that?

Old Edinburgh word.

It still is, by kids especially.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    That's pure Shan man.

Old Edinburgh word.

Kin ye "mang the cant"?
    Shan is originally a romany/traveller word

Not specific to Edinburgh

Hibs were shan in their last home game

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Kin ye "mang the cant"?

That's true, Geordies also say 'Shan'.

[QUOTE=hibsbollah;5607691]That's true, Geordies also say 'Shan'.[/QUOTE

Was going to mention the NE of England
    IIRC the character Jimmy Nail in the tv series
    auf wiedersehen pet used the word

Probably a recognition of his brickwork !

He also said gadgie a lot !!

I am 66 now, and this word and other romany/gypsy terms/words were not uncommon when i was a wee chavvy

Kin ye "mang the cant"?

Loads of Scots words came from Romany, nash, peeve, hirie being just a handful of others.

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post

Loads of Scots words came from Romany, nash, peeve, hirie being just a handful of others.
    I can mind nash, peeve and shan. What was hirie?

Can u mind chorey? ( verb to steal) and "Shottey" for "watch out" usually when the police were arriving!!!

I know a bloke called Shan, he's from Livingston originally. He spells it that way too.

[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;5607701]
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    That's true, Geordies also say 'Shan'.[/QUOTE

Was going to mention the NE of England
    IIRC the character Jimmy Nail in the tv series
    auf wiedersehen pet used the word

Probably a recognition of his brickwork !

He also said gadgie a lot !!

I am 66 now, and this word and other romany/gypsy terms/words were not uncommon when i was a wee chavvy

The excellent Geordie ale 'Radgie Gadgie' deserves a mention on this thread. Both words are also derived from Romany,which has its roots in various Hindi dialects and languages.

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post

Can u mind chorey? ( verb to steal) and "Shottey" for "watch out" usually when the police were arriving!!!

The same (chourer - to steal) word is used in French slang - it's definitely Romany in origine.

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post

Did Irvine Welsh not write about hiries? Never used it but always took it to mean cash

There's a family in Leith called Shan I think.

[QUOTE=hibsbollah;5607717]

The excellent Geordie ale 'Radgie Gadgie' deserves a mention on this thread. Both words are also derived from Romany,which has its roots in various Hindi dialects and languages.
    Indeed, the roots are Indian.
    Had me thinking.
    Over 30 yr ago i was working in Northampton.
    My wifes brother and me were in a boozer called the King Billy (naw,no that one !

Group at the next table after we sat down proceeded to converse in the Cant.

I started to laugh a wee bit.
    I understood near every word.
    (bar a bit of accent/dialect)
    Eventually got chatting and my brother in law later on sold them a caravan that was used on the building site he was the gaffer on.
    They were travellers,of course.

I translated the negotiation.
    Barry deal.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 19-11-2018 at 09:20 PM.

Sha hoor...
    hiries and lowie was always money
    and Mort.. as in bird
    “Barry deekin mort gadge”

Quote Originally Posted by Montford View Post
    Sha hoor...
    hiries and lowie was always money
    and Mort.. as in bird
    “Barry deekin mort gadge”
    Mort is a good one, deek is another.
    Its amazing how many of these words are in use, but few probably recognise where they come from.

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    My favourite Edinburgh book, from which I took my user name, is full of Romany derived words which were taken into slang.

It can be read here - it's an enjoyable romp and the report of his trial in the Scotsman is a hoot if you can find it . George Borrow refers to him in Lavengro - his Romany novel, though Haggart himself Ii don't think was of Romany extraction. I have an 1821 copy of the book which also has a phrenologist report which he allowed to happen while he awaited execution.

https://archive.org/details/b24930052/page/56

https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Haggart,_David_(DNB00)

There's a glossary at the end full of the slang of the day

https://archive.org/details/b24930052/page/172

It includes words like 'kipping' for playing truant which we still used at porty school in the 60s/ 70s

...anyway Shan is out of the X Factor which just shows how crap the show is
    Last edited by son of haggart; 20-11-2018 at 07:42 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    On this topic - was at Killie away last year and two lads in the Hibs end were having a right go at one another.

One was calling the other a bowtay (?) - what is that?
    Might have been Bow-Tow, as in one who hails from Newhaven.