Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Couldn’t believe what I was hearing when Smith suggested that Lennon should just accept that he’s going to receive sectarian abuse in Scottish football grounds and just get on with it.
    Know your place Neil.
    I haven't heard the broadcast in question. But if a man who was at one time in charge of the SFA even tacitly suggested that anybody in Scottish football should just 'accept' sectarian abuse then that is incredible. Does he still have connections with football in any capacity EG as an agent? … If the answer is yes then I'm sure the SFA have the power to drag him into their Hampden offices and ask him to explain himself. As usual they wont.

Players and match officials getting hit by objects has been 'part of the game' for decades … would Smith suggest that players and officials should just accept that and get on with it?

Is it any wonder that we have been unable to eradicate sectarianism when morons like that are treated as authorities on the game and allowed onto mass media to spout utter pish

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I haven't heard the broadcast in question. But if a man who was at one time in charge of the SFA even tacitly suggested that anybody in Scottish football should just 'accept' sectarian abuse then that is incredible. Does he still have connections with football in any capacity EG as an agent? … If the answer is yes then I'm sure the SFA have the power to drag him into their Hampden offices and ask him to explain himself. As usual they wont.

Players and match officials getting hit by objects has been 'part of the game' for decades … would Smith suggest that players and officials should just accept that and get on with it?

Is it any wonder that we have been unable to eradicate sectarianism when morons like that are treated as authorities on the game and allowed onto mass media to spout utter pish

Its because Smith is a fine upstanding chap as he said he was subject of abuse at Darkheid calling him a Proddy this and that but he just ignored it

Total bellend of a man
    Last edited by poolman; 07-11-2018 at 07:11 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post

He's got no formal connection to the game anymore. Ayrshire Hun, ex Rangers player , decent career, manages to climb the greasy pole to become SFA chief executive for three years where he opines that there is an 'anti Rangers agenda's in Scottish football, and also thinks Lennon should just get on with it when confronted with sectarianism.

It's pretty clear who and what Smith is . He might even be the Grand Wizard or whatever they call themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    He's got no formal connection to the game anymore. Ayrshire Hun, ex Rangers player , decent career, manages to climb the greasy pole to become SFA chief executive for three years where he opines that there is an 'anti Rangers agenda's in Scottish football, and also thinks Lennon should just get on with it when confronted with sectarianism.

It's pretty clear who and what Smith is . He might even be the Grand Wizard or whatever they call themselves.
    He was also director of football under Craig Whyte at Rangers for a spell.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    He was also director of football under Craig Whyte at Rangers for a spell.
    See, 'grand wizard' right there

I’d love to see Michael Stewart involved in some kind of role within the SFA, pretty sure he would put a few things right.

If only he had a f*****g wand he might have been able to do something to stop us winning the 2016 cup final.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaffer1875 View Post
    I’d love to see Michael Stewart involved in some kind of role within the SFA, pretty sure he would put a few things right.

I don’t think any one person can make a massive difference. The problem lies with everything being done by committee.

They all protect their own little empires.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    I don’t think any one person can make a massive difference. The problem lies with everything being done by committee.

They all protect their own little empires.
    Spot on. If it was left to one person to organise and oversee then there's a woman at Easter Road who would be absolutely perfect for the role. I hope that never happens.

Also went bankrupt.

i was in his company at a Charity Dinner a couple of years ago when he claimed Rangers Sectarian songs were " Folk Songs"
    Some of those who were present hadhad a few Swallies and argurd with him
    He dfended his point for almost fifteen minutes , by which time I had moved on out of disgust
    It was simply a matter of trying to defend the indefensible . sad and almost cringeworthy
    No respect for him as a person am sorry to say
    i am not of any religious leaning , gave up forty years ago and am now a Humanist

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Also went bankrupt.
    Haha. Serves him right. **** you, Gandalf

Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    i was in his company at a Charity Dinner a couple of years ago when he claimed Rangers Sectarian songs were " Folk Songs"
    Some of those who were present hadhad a few Swallies and argurd with him
    He dfended his point for almost fifteen minutes , by which time I had moved on out of disgust
    It was simply a matter of trying to defend the indefensible . sad and almost cringeworthy
    No respect for him as a person am sorry to say
    i am not of any religious leaning , gave up forty years ago and am now a Humanist

He was half correct
    "Folk the Fenian songs", he likely meant !

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Not exactly on the same message but I once asked him politely at a BP garage in Stepps if he could move his large black Range Rover forwards a wee bit to let me fill up, and he asked me did I know who he was.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaffer1875 View Post

He’s absolutely no interest in pursuing that unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Not exactly on the same message but I once asked him politely at a BP garage in Stepps if he could move his large black Range Rover forwards a wee bit to let me fill up, and he asked me did I know who he was.
    Did you reply, “aye, a ****er with a big car”?

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    Its because Smith is a fine upstanding chap as he said he was subject of abuse at Darkheid calling him a Proddy this and that but he just ignored it

Total bellend of a man
    Yep. He claimed he was subjected to abuse 25 years ago and managed to not reply so Lennon should at every match he almost managed in this day and age. Imagine the uproar if Smith was black and said he got abuse 25 years ago so someone else should just take it now.

I hate the sectarian **** from both them and Celtic and the rest but they do have an attitude of people should know their place and accept it. Meanwhile it will be the same people that are saying there’s no issue and ignore it that will be trying to rigorously get Celtic done for the sex abuse scandals using child abuse as some kind of sick point scoring.

Did anybody ask Smith how he feels about missing that last minute sitter in the FA Cup final (then going on to lose the replay?)

Guaranteed to make him lose it....
    Last edited by Paisley Hibby; 07-11-2018 at 07:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Yep. He claimed he was subjected to abuse 25 years ago and managed to not reply so Lennon should at every match he almost managed in this day and age. Imagine the uproar if Smith was black and said he got abuse 25 years ago so someone else should just take it now.

I hate the sectarian **** from both them and Celtic and the rest but they do have an attitude of people should know their place and accept it. Meanwhile it will be the same people that are saying there’s no issue and ignore it that will be trying to rigorously get Celtic done for the sex abuse scandals using child abuse as some kind of sick point scoring.
    The difference is he was getting abused by his own supporters for missing a sitter in the FA Cup final.

Remember the “and Smith must score “

Terrible thing amnesia.
    At least he remembers to dye the hair.

Quote Originally Posted by ben johnson View Post
    Terrible thing amnesia.
    At least he remembers to dye the hair.
    I think he sends it to the dry cleaners once a fortnight

Should have said " no, I dont watch gay porn"