Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Tonights games

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    0-3 city.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    The performances there last season were very, very poor when you consider how superior we were to them in the league. We were miles ahead of them but didn’t turn up in those games really.
    I agree, it was hugely frustrating how poorly we played in a couple of those games. But despite how s**** they were last season only Celtic won a league game at Tynecastle last season IIRC.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Shaktar 0 City 3
    Roma 3 CSKA 0
    Hoffenheim 2 Lyon 3

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Norwich 2 Villa 1

One man team

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Shame they couldn’t do that back in 86 .
    Dundee just lost 4 against Livi .
    Celtic will pump them on Sunday . Then it’s our chance to totally burst their bubble.
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    If we go 11 points behind we won’t catch them.

Look at our form in the second half of last season. We still couldn’t catch those in front of us and I don’t think the gap was that big.
    11 points behind with a game in hand. Win that and it's back to 8 points. They still need to visit Easter Road and Parkhead. They're clearly a good side by Scottish standards and have improved a lot on last season but this isn't Manchester City we're talking about, it's Hearts.

They won't win the league and I'm not even certain they'll finish 2nd. They'll be closer to us at the end of the season than they will be to Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    I agree, it was hugely frustrating how poorly we played in a couple of those games. But despite how s**** they were last season only Celtic won a league game at Tynecastle last season IIRC.
    There was a lot of draws in there for them as well though, I think.
    It’s not as if they were blowing teams away.

The cup game you could argue they needed to win to try and save their season but it was still a crap performance from us. And the last game, when we had a lot more riding on it than them, was dreadful.

For me, us turning up and winning there is one of the big things missing from Lennon’s time here.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    The missed pen was utterly horrific. He was surely trying to miss?!
    ​​
    Scottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    So.....hearts won at a pish Dundee by the same score we won at a pish Dundee?

Is it wrong to say both Hibs and Hearts are good teams this season?

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Shame they couldn’t do that back in 86 .
    Dundee just lost 4 against Livi .
    Celtic will pump them on Sunday . Then it’s our chance to totally burst their bubble.

Maybe not, Celtic have a difficult euro game on Thursday.

Quote Originally Posted by essexhibee View Post
    The missed pen was utterly horrific. He was surely trying to miss?!

Behave.

Quote Originally Posted by YanYansen View Post
    And yet they were five points to the good, and now eight. Seems weird to me that so many people on this board seem totally "aye, they're no that good". I agree with the poster above - if we go 11 behind, we are not catching them.
    That's the spirit. At first glance I thought your username was YamYamsen.

The fact we lost at Celtic (hardly a disaster), coupled with wins for those around us, makes the league table look worse than it is. Provided we pick up where we left off against Hamilton when we get back among the more winnable games, our season will take care of itself and under Lennon I'm confident we'll continue to do well. Yes, they're our biggest rivals, but it's important to look at the bigger picture and not focus everything on 'catching Hearts'.

Last season we were 11 points clear of the yams at the start of December. Less than three weeks later they'd cut that gap to two points. Yet after new year we pulled away again and the gap was eventually 18 points. Just shows you how quickly things can change.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Behave.
    https://twitter.com/teamdeeuk/status/1054811691140239365?s=21
    ​​
    Scottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    11 points behind with a game in hand. Win that and it's back to 8 points. They still need to visit Easter Road and Parkhead. They're clearly a good side by Scottish standards and have improved a lot on last season but this isn't Manchester City we're talking about, it's Hearts.

They won't win the league and I'm not even certain they'll finish 2nd. They'll be closer to us at the end of the season than they will be to Celtic.
    They absolutely won’t win the league.

11 points would be a big gap to us though. As I said in another post, remember our form last season after Christmas was as good as you’ll ever see from us but we were still short of catching those in front of us.

And I remember the second season in the championship being told that the gap was fine, it was early in the season etc. We went on a brilliant run, got it down to 3 points but couldn’t sustain the form (granted there were other factors).

Not for a minute suggesting they are Man City or anything like that. But neither are we. Our form is actually pretty decent. We’ve won more than half our games. We can perhaps maintain that over the course but really increasing that win percentage would be difficult.

Their form will drop off, but we can’t give them too big a lead IMO because we’ll also drop plenty points.

Beat them and get it down to 5 points and that really gives us a shout at getting after them.

Hearts' next 5 league games are;

Hibs (h)
    Celtic (a)
    Kilmarnock (h)
    St Mirren (a)
    Rangers (h)

If they're still 8 points ahead of us and sitting top of the league after those run of fixtures then I'll start to worry.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Hearts' next 5 league games are;

Hibs (h)
    Celtic (a)
    Kilmarnock (h)
    St Mirren (a)
    Rangers (h)

If they're still 8 points ahead of us and sitting top of the league after those run of fixtures then I'll start to worry.
    Yup. I agree with that.

Yes, that's the one concern. Celtic are likely to lose that one quite comfortably so we just have to hope they pick themselves up, shrug off any travel lethargy and get straight back to the form they've shown in their last two league games. If so, they should win with something to spare at Murrayfield.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Cracking the Tynecastle conundrum is a challenge for all teams in the league.. If this home advantage is down to a fundamental difference in Hearts fans vs the rest of us (seems doubtfull..), than shame on the rest of us for being lame 'home' supporters. If its down to the stadium design, then shame on the rest of us for our lame stadium designs.

If their home advantage is worth an extra 3-6 points to them a season (no idea if it is like!) , than hell mend the rest of us for not trying to work out why..

Quote Originally Posted by essexhibee View Post
    https://twitter.com/teamdeeuk/status/1054811691140239365?s=21
    Jeez, that's woeful. Surely Kenny Miller should be taking spot kicks for a side whose confidence is clearly shot?

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by rcarter1 View Post
    Cracking the Tynecastle conundrum is a challenge for all teams in the league.. If this home advantage is down to a fundamental difference in Hearts fans vs the rest of us (seems doubtfull..), than shame on the rest of us for being lame 'home' supporters. If its down to the stadium design, then shame on the rest of us for our lame stadium designs.

If their home advantage is worth an extra 3-6 points to them a season (no idea if it is like!) , than hell mend the rest of us for not trying to work out why..
    Jesus Christ........

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Not hard to work out why. They play on a child size pitch with a **** surface. Are you suggesting that if every other team adopted a child size pitch with a **** surface they would all be 3-6 points better off?

Hearts are getting into the habit of winning.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Hearts are getting into the habit of winning.
    So were we until the 7 in a row champions beat us at home

@hibs.net private member SneakersO'Toole's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Before tonight we’d scored 5 more goals and kept the same number of clean sheets as Hearts.
    But yet, before tonight, they were still five points ahead of us and therefore are making those clean sheets and goals work further for them.

But no facts allowed right?

Folk need to get a grip.

If they go into the last game of the season needing a point at Dens Park to win the league then we all know that's the time for folk to start 5hitting themselves.

Until then we should calm down. We've got a decent team of our own - time will tell if it is better than theirs.

I can't believe the high regard so many of our fans have for them after they have done nothing more than have a decent start to the season.
    Last edited by Smartie; 23-10-2018 at 09:42 PM.

Dear oh dear!

Bed wetters oot aw ready and it’s no even November?

It’s only Hearts no Juventus!

Keep the faith !

As others have said if Celtic keep playing the way they played on Saturday even without Scott Brown the destination of the League is a foregone conclusion

It is shaping up to be the most competitive League in years and even if the worst should happen next week there is still a lot of fitba to be played and another window to come

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    So.....hearts won at a pish Dundee by the same score we won at a pish Dundee?

Is it wrong to say both Hibs and Hearts are good teams this season?
    Celtic: 2-4 v 1-0
    Kilmarnock: 3-2 v 1-0
    Livingston: 1-2 v 0-0
    Rangers: N/A v 1-3
    Aberdeen: 1-1 v 2-1
    St Johnstone: 1-1 v 2-1
    Hamilton: 6-0 v 4-1
    Motherwell: 3-0 v 1-0
    St Mirren: 1-0 v 4-1
    Dundee: 3-0 v 3-0

Our results aren't too dissimilar, but they seem to have a knack of grinding out difficult wins. A draw at Tynecastle would be a good result given an away win for either side in the derby was over four years ago and that in almost a year and a half they've only lost there once, to Celtic.

When did we last lose a league match at home?

I'm just back from Old Trafford. Utd were, as per this season, garbage. it's so negative and slow. Juve were decent, moved the ball around but didn't really create much bar a couple of De Gea to class saves.

It was hard to tell if Juve were good or the lack of movement and press from Utd made them look better. all in all it wasn't a good game.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

So Hearts getting the rub of the green and playing Celtic again on Back of Celtic playing in Europe
    Fixtures also have been kind to them So they must be due some bad results to even things out
    Would be nice to think Celtic and Us will beat them but they have momentum so the Onus is on Us to do something we rarely do Win at Tynie