Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    as it was a home game - think it was more likely sept 74... 2-1 victory .. cheers!
    Certainly an autumn game as opposed to a New Years Day game.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    The 4-1 game was at Tynecastle.

I wasn't sure the picture was Easter Road, my memory was the enclosures at Easter Road were on a slope, the enclosure in the picture looks to be pretty level.

Yeah - not easy to see from that angle - the top image on here shows it was at ER....
    Attached Images Attached Images

Spalding it is then eh...cheers guys....Better than chatting about that nonsense Scotland game :-)

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    as it was a home game - think it was more likely sept 74... 2-1 victory .. cheers!
    I'm not sure I can tell where the game was from the photo but he played in both derbies 74/75.....

Second photo concludes!

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    I'm not sure I can tell where the game was from the photo but he played in both derbies 74/75.....
    see above for a better set of pics - showing it was a home game :). definitely Spalding - helped by your sleuth work. - cheers Columbo! :)

Certainly an autumn game as opposed to a New Years Day game.
    Spalding though right?

Yeah - not easy to see from that angle - the top image on here shows it was at ER....
    Yes, top picture confirms it was Easter Road.

7th September 1974, Hibs won 2-1 and if memory serves me correctly Hibs missed two penalties.

Spalding though right?
    Think it has to be squire, certainly played in the game we are agreed on as did the others in the picture.

see above for a better set of pics - showing it was a home game :). definitely Spalding - helped by your sleuth work. - cheers Columbo! :)
    Are those Shoot! Photos?

7th September 1974, Hibs won 2-1 and if memory serves me correctly Hibs missed two penalties.
    Yep. Harper and Cropley. Wait for it...ref was Bobby Davison !

Are those Shoot! Photos?
    Don't know Iggy. My source was Twitter

Are those Shoot! Photos?
    Looks like it Iggy.

Yep. Harper and Cropley. Wait for it...ref was Bobby Davison !

Mind you @scoopyboy...with your Iain Munro guess..reckon you use the same opticians that Davidson used

Looks like it Iggy.
    Do you remember the Shoot cardboard cut out league tables you used to get. Got to move the team up and down the league after every game

Was much better than this online stuff you get now😄

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Do you remember the Shoot cardboard cut out league tables you used to get. Got to move the team up and down the league after every game

Was much better than this online stuff you get now
    Loved them.....although have to admit I only lasted about 4 weeks then got fed up moving them......would be nice to have kept some....

Was much better than this online stuff you get now😄
    Aye, used them religiously for the first few weeks then got cheesed off wi them.

Loved them.....although have to admit I only lasted about 4 weeks then got fed up moving them......would be nice to have kept some....

I dont have any either
    I used to use the teams to play imaginary cup draws using a dice. If Hibs lost I threw it again

I dont have any either
    I used to use the teams to play imaginary cup draws using a dice. If Hibs lost I threw it again
    I used to use the many scores in the Sunday papers to run imaginary leagues...somehow Hibs often won...so don't think I was as random as I thought I was ! :)

Mind you @scoopyboy...with your Iain Munro guess..reckon you use the same opticians that Davidson used

Aye Big Bad Bobby Davidson from Airdrie who was a staunch Orangeman who hated green, or so I was told by older Hibbies at the time.

Interestingly enough I was reading an old Scottish Cup book the other night and in particular the 1958 semi v, Rangers at Hampden. First game was a draw and Hibs were winning 2-1 in the replay with a minute to go when Rangers scored an equaliser, or so they thought but a certain R.H.Davidson from Airdrie disallowed it.

Aye Big Bad Bobby Davidson from Airdrie who was a staunch Orangeman who hated green, or so I was told by older Hibbies at the time.

Interestingly enough I was reading an old Scottish Cup book the other night and in particular the 1958 semi v, Rangers at Hampden. First game was a draw and Hibs were winning 2-1 in the replay with a minute to go when Rangers scored an equaliser, or so they thought but a certain R.H.Davidson from Airdrie disallowed it.
    Yeah...heard those too.....those myths still exist about referees today...when in reality , they are just sometimes not very good!

Decent thread this bigwheel, hate weekends when Hibs aren't playing.

Game at Easter Road definitely Derek Spalding

Decent thread this bigwheel, hate weekends when Hibs aren't playing.
    Yes...it went in a decent little journey didn't it...the ones you least expect often do.....

Me too....my suggestion for UEFA is. Play all international games...qualifiers and finals only in the summer...so we don't have boring weekends like this :). no international breaks will allow season to be shorter..players can rest before the internationals....sorted !

Davidson didn't disallow the goal, the lino did. Ralph Brand clearly punched the ball into the net. Davidson gave the goal but the lino kept his flag up & eventually goal was disallowed. Legend had it that lino never officiated again.

Yep & Yams goal was a penalty. Should have been 4 or 5 zero.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Yep & Yams goal was a penalty. Should have been 4 or 5 zero.
    I love that fitba fan logic...our two missed penalties should have counted...but the yams one shouldn't have.... Got to love football fans!

I didnt really mean that. Just my recall of the game was that we murdered them 2-1! ☺

to end the thread.... its defo Derek Spalding!

Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post

Promising Youngster
    Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post
    But it’s not Des.