Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by Flyman View Post
    But it’s not Des.
    It is Derek Spalding and the player almost horizontal is defo Des Bremner !

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I didnt really mean that. Just my recall of the game was that we murdered them 2-1! ☺
    I know...was just celebrating your reflections

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by delbert View Post
    It is Derek Spalding and the player almost horizontal is defo Des Bremner !
    You think so? Looks like Bobby Smith to me despite what the caption says. The player almost horizontal I mean!

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    You think so? Looks like Bobby Smith to me despite what the caption says. The player almost horizontal I mean!

defo Des Bremner for me....

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Davidson didn't disallow the goal, the lino did. Ralph Brand clearly punched the ball into the net. Davidson gave the goal but the lino kept his flag up & eventually goal was disallowed. Legend had it that lino never officiated again.
    Checked back the book and it claimed it was Maxie Murray who handballed it into the net.

Don't think I've ever read a football book that didn't contain errors.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Could be the answer....
    Correct sir!

Very sure it is Derek Spalding!!

So I obviously recognise Arthur and Des Bremner. (edit - at least I think its Des ! :-) ...but can't for the life of me recall who the other player is. Was thinking Derek Spalding - but don't think its him..

Anyone help me out here??
    Derek Spalding.

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin07 View Post
    Just to confuse things I think the pictures are from 2 different matches. Top one Easter road and the bottom one tynecastle.
    Don’t think so. Looks like Easter road enclosure to me ...

Quote Originally Posted by vuefrom1875 View Post
    Correct sir!
    I think we have subsequently found out the game and the team and concluded Derek Spalding

This image is doing my nut in!

I can see Arthur and Derek Spalding but not convinced horizontal guy is Des Bremner.

Have we agreed a date and match result?

It is difficult to get info online for games that took place 45 years ago

I was thinking horizontal guy could be Roy Barry but he wasn’t a HIBS player in August 1974??

I know...was just celebrating your reflections

You're 100% correct about the way fans think, me included!

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Checked back the book and it claimed it was Maxie Murray who handballed it into the net.

Don't think I've ever read a football book that didn't contain errors.
    You're right there! This report states Brand handled it & Millar put it in net, that sounds right. I actually found a Pathe newsreel of the game but it missed our pen & the handball incident!

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/hibbe...inal-1-1243807

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Spalding is in this team pic....do we think it's same guy??
    John Blackley's hair is Epic in the that pic.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    defo Des Bremner for me....
    Suppose the legs are too long for Bobby....

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    John Blackley's hair is Epic in the that pic.

hahah. so it is.....Dare you to grow it! :)

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

I can see Arthur and Derek Spalding but not convinced horizontal guy is Des Bremner.

I was thinking horizontal guy could be Roy Barry but he wasn’t a HIBS player in August 1974??
    Read the whole thread Billy and see post #28.
    This site is brilliant and shows that Derek Spalding (for it is he), Bobby and Des all played in the game we are talking about.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=17318

Save it in your browser as it is a goldmine of info for collectors and enthusiasts.

Edit. It’s beyond me how any of a certain vintage see that as anyone other than Des Bremner.....
    Last edited by Iggy Pope; 15-10-2018 at 01:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Read the whole thread Billy and see post #28.
    This site is brilliant and shows that Derek Spalding (for it is he), Bobby and Des all played in the game we are talking about.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=17318

Save it in your browser as it is a goldmine of info for collectors and enthusiasts.

Edit. It’s beyond me how any of a certain vintage see that as anyone other than Des Bremner.....
    Ha Ha! Been on fitba stats all morning trying to work this out.

I was at most games in the seventies but cannot remember this one.

Must have been winching

I have looked at this player from all angles

The hair is similar to Des Bremner but the cheeks are puffier the jaw is squarer and the legs seem to be too muscley A young Des Bremner was thin and wirey built like a whippet.

The narrative says it is Des

The only other possibilities 3-0 New Years Day game but seem to remember that was played mostly under the lights or the 1-0 Joe Harper game but Hearts wore maroon socks that day.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Ha Ha! Been on fitba stats all morning trying to work this out.

I was at most games in the seventies but cannot remember this one.

Must have been winching

I have looked at this player from all angles

The hair is similar to Des Bremner but the cheeks are puffier the jaw is squarer and the legs seem to be too muscley A young Des Bremner was thin and wirey built like a whippet.

The narrative says it is Des

The only other possibilities 3-0 New Years Day game but seem to remember that was played mostly under the lights or the 1-0 Joe Harper game but Hearts wore maroon socks that day.
    Its Des Bremner. Those legs look slim enough to me and it’s all getting a bit CSI when we start talking about jaw line.
    Its Des Bremner. We only played them once any season at ER all through that era and the kits narrow it down to only one possibility, 74/75. Who else can it be in the picture? Derek Spalding never played in the 1-0 game (first ever PL derby) in 75/76 and he’s certainly the man pointing in the photo where all this (satisfying and entertaining) thread started. Spalding never played in the 73/74 derby. It’s not 72/73 Arthurs mowser is evidence of that and neither Des or Spalding were there any way. Process of elimination.

Definitely Des.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Its Des Bremner. Those legs look slim enough to me and it’s all getting a bit CSI when we start talking about jaw line.
    Its Des Bremner. We only played them once any season at ER all through that era and the kits narrow it down to only one possibility, 74/75. Who else can it be in the picture? Derek Spalding never played in the 1-0 game (first ever PL derby) in 75/76 and he’s certainly the man pointing in the photo where all this (satisfying and entertaining) thread started. Spalding never played in the 73/74 derby. It’s not 72/73 Arthurs mowser is evidence of that and neither Des or Spalding were there any way. Process of elimination.
    After much deliberation and as you quite rightly say due to the process of elimination it can only be Des Bremner with his face puffed out and contorted awaiting possible further impact from the wee Jambo bouncing oan his heid!

Sorry guys still no sleeping at night!

Dont want to get all CSI again but Des Bremner had a side parting this guy has a centre paring with a wee cherub face and stockier build than Des defo ........

BOBBY SMITH !

Sorry guys still no sleeping at night!

Dont want to get all CSI again but Des Bremner had a side parting this guy has a centre paring with a wee cherub face and stockier build than Des defo ........

BOBBY SMITH !

Desy all day long night night

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Desy all day long night night

Des had a shocking hairstyle while Bobby had a top perm

Thought about that!

Des Bremners hair style was like a hedgehog with a side parting and at that time he was thin and wiry

It looks to me as if it must have been raining that day as everyone’s hair is flat and Arthur’s moustache makes him look like Pancho Villa

Thought about that!

Des Bremners hair style was like a hedgehog with a side parting and at that time he was thin and wiry

It looks to me as if it must have been raining that day as everyone’s hair is flat and Arthur’s moustache makes him look like Pancho
    the thin muscular thighs says Des . Bobby was wee and solid

Yip!

Thought about that as well

Night Night !

Yip!

Thought about that as well

Night Night !

Much though I loved wee Bobby he never got that close to an oppo player in his life. That's Dessie, taking one for the team as usual.

Yip!

Never realised how good Des Bremner was until after he left big gaps started to appear all over the pitch!

The Oracle has spoken

Des Bremner it is