Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Rowan Vine.

I expected Vine to be utter pish, and right enough he was absolutely nowhere near as good as that.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I expected Vine to be utter pish, and right enough he was absolutely nowhere near as good as that.

First Team Breakthrough LioNeilMessi's Avatar

Gamertag: soakingdisk795
    Andrew Shinnie did ok but I thought he’d be a great signing for the Scottish championship.

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Quote Originally Posted by therealgavmac View Post
    Owain Tudur Jones....

And before you ask, no he doesn’t

Centre forward from Coventry in the 80's - forgot his name🤔

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by houstonhibbee View Post
    Centre forward from Coventry in the 80's - forgot his name🤔
    Houchey.

Cammy Bell

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Houchey.
    Played in the LCF defeat to Aberdeen the same year hearts did the double IIRC

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Rowan Vine.

100%. Even after many games if convinced myself he would come good for some reason.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by houstonhibbee View Post
    Played in the LCF defeat to Aberdeen the same year hearts did the double IIRC
    Didn't sign for us until 1989.

Merouane Zemamma

Started brilliantly. His home debut vs Motherwell was sparkling, and I came away thinking we'd do well to keep hold of him for a season.

Ended up just showing it here and there.

Ach weel

George Best
    How many times did we all turn up and George didnae
    What wiz he like !

Lyndon Andrews. I expected Latapy V2.

Quote Originally Posted by LioNeilMessi View Post
    Andrew Shinnie did ok but I thought he’d be a great signing for the Scottish championship.

I liked Shinnie...put in some good performances towards the end of that season...would have been happy for him to sign..

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    100%. Even after many games if convinced myself he would come good for some reason.
    He did eventually produce a damned fine beard. His biggest achievement at Hibs.

Graham Fyfe

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Paul Hartley
    Paul Cairney
    Shefti Kuqi
    Danny Swanson
    I actually think Paul Cairney was a pretty good player for us in an otherwise dire team.

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    Lyndon Andrews. I expected Latapy V2.
    A 6-2 legend though. Don’t forget, he was a totally different style of player. Think we did ok out of wee Lyndon.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibiza View Post
    Tony Rougier
    Agreed. I was expecting big things from him - he always seemed to perform well against us. Thought he was a major signing at the time so his impact as a so-so player was underwhelming.

By no means the worst but that isn't what the thread was asking for.

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Hibee View Post
    I actually think Paul Cairney was a pretty good player for us in an otherwise dire team.
    That dire team were top of the league in November one year

Earl Jean

Sure his debut he looked decent off the bench

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Anthony Stokes. His third spell at the club was a huge disappointment after his cup final heroics where he put in arguably the greatest individual performance seen in a Hibs strip.

Jay Sinclair and also the Glaswegian Somalia guy we had on loan from Chelsea. Can't remember his name

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by steelendhibs View Post
    Jay Sinclair and also the Glaswegian Somalia guy we had on loan from Chelsea. Can't remember his name
    Islam Feruz - yes, that didn’t really work out. Wonder where he plays now? Not a name we hear too much about.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Mark Caughey
    Barry Lavety
    Paul Wright
    Ricky Hill
    The Sowumni brothers
    Ricky Hill that takes me back we brought him in winter. Auld bought him a sheepskin coat he was frozen and was told we’ll bring you back in the summer which never happened

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Anthony Stokes. His third spell at the club was a huge disappointment after his cup final heroics where he put in arguably the greatest individual performance seen in a Hibs strip.
    In saying that he still scored a fair few in his 3rd spell

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Jonatan Johannson is probably the epitome, I think there was a common assumption he would score for fun.

Although he wasn't with us for long, I remember thinking Allan Smart would rattle them in as well. He was a consistent scorer in the English leagues.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

I agree. A fair proportion of our goals came from free kicks and corners won by Cairney.
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint Hibee View Post

Fabian Yantorno. Was delighted when we signed him but such a let down

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Didn't sign for us until 1989.
    must have been a different cup final Im thinking of