Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: The name Hibs

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    Very good question.

I thought we were The Hibernians ie of the land of Ireland.
    Actually, I believe Hibernia is the name for Ireland, and Hibernians is the name of the people. So our name essentially means ‘the people of Ireland’.

Paraphrased from Wikipedia: “By the 18th century, the use of Hibernia had revived in some contexts. Hibernia was a useful word to describe Ireland with overtones of classical style and civility, including by the prosperous Anglo-Irish Ascendancy who were taught Latin at school. "Hibernian" was used as a term for people, and a general adjective.”

Lots of teams are recognised by their abbreviated names, Spurs, QPR, Wolves, even Hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Lots of teams are recognised by their abbreviated names, Spurs, QPR, Wolves, even Hearts.
    Huns

Having lived in England my whole life, I've found that if a football fan is knowledgeable enough to know of our club, they always seem to refer to us as Hibs.

When people ask who I support, I always tend to say Hibs, and if they look like they're unsure, I'll go on to say 'Hibernian, from Edinburgh' etc. Quite a few folk down here seem to have a soft spot for Hibs, Sunshine on Leith certainly helps.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    The Huns

Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    Having lived in England my whole life, I've found that if a football fan is knowledgeable enough to know of our club, they always seem to refer to us as Hibs.

When people ask who I support, I always tend to say Hibs, and if they look like they're unsure, I'll go on to say 'Hibernian, from Edinburgh' etc. Quite a few folk down here seem to have a soft spot for Hibs, Sunshine on Leith certainly helps.
    I was on the AFC Bournemouth fans forum a few weeks back responding to a thread about Emerson Hyndman and one poster admitted he didn't even know Hibs were from Edinburgh I also found out they get really tetchy if you leave out the AFC part, seems it differentiates them from another local team of a similar name … somebody should tell MOTD then.

I never refer to Hibs as Hibernian, though I sometimes use our Sunday name as emphasis when I'm writing something.

And people who support Hibs are Hibbies ( singular Hibby ) …. I hate hearing our fans referred to as Hibees .. that's the team or club, not the fans.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    When I was five my Daddy took me down to Easter Road
    He lifted me up high upon his shoulder
    High-bernian!
    High-bee
    High-bernian

Got the best name best strip and best songs of any other club
    I love that song. I was disappointed when I found out it was sung by a Jambo.

First Team Regular HIBEES 4 LIFE's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    Its alright, our Scottish Cup winning captain is (now was) a Jambo. Occasionally they do good.

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Huns
    Sevco.

I've always thought of 'Hibees' as referring to the team and the players on the pitch and the club as a whole and 'hibbies' referring to the fans - one can be both a Hibee and a Hibby but we'll never play a team as 'the hibbies'.

Totally artificial distinction maybe but there you have it. On another note I've always quite liked that we're referred to primarily by our nickname of 'Hibs' - with the obvious exception of Hearts there aren't many teams that get that treatment. I like to think it reflects the cultural dimension of our club

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Huns
    The Huns
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Sevco.

Think your all being very generous here to the zombies

Quote Originally Posted by Swanson's Swans View Post
    I've always thought of 'Hibees' as referring to the team and the players on the pitch and the club as a whole and 'hibbies' referring to the fans - one can be both a Hibee and a Hibby but we'll never play a team as 'the hibbies'.

Totally artificial distinction maybe but there you have it. On another note I've always quite liked that we're referred to primarily by our nickname of 'Hibs' - with the obvious exception of Hearts there aren't many teams that get that treatment. I like to think it reflects the cultural dimension of our club
    On the other hand we are all one and the same. Players, management, fans, the club is all of us. The club needs all of us. So while you're artificial distinction has merit I don't see any real point in over thinking the terms .

Quote Originally Posted by Swanson's Swans View Post

Tottenham Hotspur = Spurs.
    Arsenal = The Arse.

For the original question, Google shows up a reference to 'the Hibs' from an 1886 edition of 'Bon-Accord: The News of the North' in reference to them beating Dumbarton in an exciting game, so I suspect Hibs have been Hibs pretty much from the outset.

content.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    Tottenham Hotspur = Spurs.
    Arsenal = The Arse.

Gunners

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    Very good question.

I thought we were The Hibernians ie of the land of Ireland.

My son just bought me Hibernian history handbook.
    When Fr Hannan ,.Michael Whelahan and some members of the parish were discussing a name for us .
    The catholic Young Men’s Society Football Club , which was soon discounted as being too long -winded .
    St Patrick’s,Harp,Shamrock,Emerald and Celtic were all suggested and dismissed.
    Whelahan put forward Hibernians as the ancient order of Hibernians had been absorbed into the CYMS (Hibernians had been the ancient Roman word for the people of Ireland )
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    Dictionary.com and Wikipedia seem to agree it translates to "Land of Winter"

hibernia: definition from Dictionary.com: https://www.dictionary.com/browse/hibernia
    Yes. The Roman’s called Ireland Hibernia. Some mammals ‘hibernate’ in the winter. Same etymology.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post

Aye sung by Colin Chisholm, former lead singer of Edinburgh band Bilbo Baggins
    (3 of them hailed fae Clermiston)

My wee brother Billy was Bilbo's roadie and he also sang backing vocals on Colin's Hibernian song.
    When i say backing "vocals" I mean the ooh ahh bits !
    I knew Colin well back in the day.
    An old St Patrick's schoolboy is Colin.
    I think he was dropped off the kitchen bunker as a bairn and woke up a Jambo !

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    My son just bought me Hibernian history handbook.
    When Fr Hannan ,.Michael Whelahan and some members of the parish were discussing a name for us .
    The catholic Young Men’s Society Football Club , which was soon discounted as being too long -winded .
    St Patrick’s,Harp,Shamrock,Emerald and Celtic were all suggested and dismissed.
    Whelahan put forward Hibernians as the ancient order of Hibernians had been absorbed into the CYMS (Hibernians had been the ancient Roman word for the people of Ireland )
    The club has always been called, officially, Hibernian.

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser_Sauzee View Post
    Yes. The Roman’s called Ireland Hibernia. Some mammals ‘hibernate’ in the winter. Same etymology.
    HIBS used to hibernate every winter and no come oot till Spring usually after a promising start 😁

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    Dictionary.com and Wikipedia seem to agree it translates to "Land of Winter"

hibernia: definition from Dictionary.com: https://www.dictionary.com/browse/hibernia
    Hence the word hibernate.

Caledonia means land of cold.

Quote Originally Posted by IWasThere2016 View Post
    I use:

Collective - Hibs not Hibernian

Plural - Hibees not Hibbies .. eg I'd yell "Come on the Hibees"

Singular - Hibby not Hibee .. eg I'd describe myself as a Hibby not a Hibee

In summary, I am seriously mucking fuddled up
    This is exactly how I'd describe our name.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    As the song goes:

High-bee High-bernian ZOOM ZOOM HUUWHHHH
    High-bee High-bernian
    High-bee High-berrrrrrrrnnnnnniiiiiiiiaaaaan ZOOM ZOOM
    Hiiiiiigh-bee High-berniiiiaa ZOOM ZOOM HUUWHHHH ZOOM ZOOM
    Aye but that was sang by a Hearts fan who hadn't a clue.

It's Hi-bernian.

I had a football card, a reproduction from one produced in the early 1900s, with the phrase 'Play up Hib's' on it.

Doesn't really answer the question in the OP beyond the fact that it suggests the name has been in use for a large chunk of our history.

In Oz, I feel when asked by your average Aussie about what is the name of the team I support I have to respond with Hibernian...but among fellow Scots I simply respond with....Hibs.

I guess it’s a bit like the formalities with strangers...or more precisely the lack of formality with ‘family’ members...where we have our own nicknames that we are used to..and recognise them instantly and comfortably

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    In our early years, in fact right into the 1930s I believe, the written press would refer to us as Hibernians, 'Hibs' is just a shortened version of that.
    This is true. More interesting question was when and why we stopped being called 'Hibernians' and started being referred to as 'Hibernian'.

Too early in the morning for me.....I’ll get my coat!

Always been HIBS or Hibees as far back as I can remember and I have been supporting HIBS and going to matches for fifty years

To complicate matters even further and this may be of interest to the OP but nothing to do with the football club there is also Hutt International Boys School in NZ known as HIBS

Impersonation is the sincerest form of flattery and there is also at one time or another been Cork HIBS Malta HIBS and Dundee HIBS I wonder what ever happened to them?
    In a strange twist of fate, I just bought a house about a mile away from that school. Even so far away, I am still close to HIBS
    Last edited by Steve-O; 10-10-2018 at 02:25 AM.

Jimmy Meikle in his book “Fitba Daft” Moved to the States to work for the British Consul and he had a private number plate on his car. He still has it and it appears on the books cover it is simply HIBS
    He is forever getting stopped and being asked what this HIBS is/means??

Quote Originally Posted by IWasThere2016 View Post
    I use:

Collective - Hibs not Hibernian

Plural - Hibees not Hibbies .. eg I'd yell "Come on the Hibees"

Singular - Hibby not Hibee .. eg I'd describe myself as a Hibby not a Hibee

In summary, I am seriously mucking fuddled up
    So why not Hibbie?

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    So why not Hibbie?
    One less key stroke...