Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty Leither View Post
    Sounds like you're the kind of person the club should be speaking with.

The catering and Behind the Goals experience is definitely not "Hibs class", and the third parties that it's contracted out to should be getting told to up their game, and pronto.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    An even simpler solution is for the club to listen to the complaints and do something about it.

LD has often spoken of the ‘match day experience’ being important to her and the club...it seems on this subject though those words ring rather hollow.

So rather than boycotts with people and kids doing without in an attempt to make a point the club should simply sit up and listen and take some affirmative action.

In all fairness, The Hibs Board have got much , much more right than they have wrong over the past few years, but like ALL workplaces, there will undoubtedly be room for improvement in some areas.

Rather than grab a pitchfork, a reasoned approach may put it back on the club’s agenda.

Complaints about catering can be very much in the eye of the beholder, with a common defence by the caterers to be advised of ‘specifics’ which tend not to be forthcoming.

Maybe the board can engage an independent company to carry out a ‘secretshopper’ Type exercise and provide feedback to them.

I find the title of the thread somewhat confusing.

I would have entitled it 'Lack of catering', or' Unsatisfactory catering'.

To describe what is on offer at Easter Road with catering, as I understand it, is extremely misleading.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Is it easier typing in that style with deliberate spelling mistakes than just typing normally?!
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    I don't think there is anything cringier than typing in a "Scottish" accent. Do people write like that as well?
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    Jakey is Scots slang. How very dare you.
    It's not Scots slang or deliberate spelling mistakes, Phil, is writing in the Scots language. Some favourite wirds o mine in the laid are dreich, blether, daunder, wifie, huckled, beastie, playpiece and greetin.

You can learn more here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scots_language and here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBb_jKKCcC8 if you wish.
    Last edited by Ross4356; 11-10-2018 at 12:06 PM.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Nah, it was auto correct on his phone.

Even still, no one actually writes in “Scots Language”, whatever that is.

It looks crap when written down and as someone else said it’s cringey.

It’s also damn hard to read compared to using normal English.

Fair enough, better not get you started on Gaelic road signs I bet.

Quote Originally Posted by Ross4356 View Post
    It's not Scots slang or deliberate spelling mistakes, Phil, is writing in the Scots language. Some favourite wirds o mine in the laid are dreich, blether, daunder, wifie, huckled, beastie, playpiece and greetin.

You can learn more here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scots_language and here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBb_jKKCcC8 if you wish.
    You can learn more here, if you wish:

http://www.hibs.net/misc.php?do=vsarules

"All posts must be written in English"

I fail to see why text speak should be banned but equally unintelligible "Scots" is not only tolerated but folk are criticised for taking issue with it.

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar

Its really no hard to read, it is, like Gaelic, phonetic. Your ignorance of the writers of Scots doesn't mean people don't write in Scots, you just don't know about them or more likely choose to ignore them. One of the greatest poets to have lived wrote exclusively in Scots. There have been Booker prize nominees and winners who have in part written in Scots and Scots dialects. To say no one actually writes in Scots couldn't be further from the truth.

I don't understand how it looks crap when written down, would it be safe to assume you think all non English languages look crap {maybe because you find them hard to read}?

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Am stertin a campaign furry road signs tae be wrote in dialect.
    E.G. Gonnae stoap an hae a deek afore ye go.
    Ye cannae drive doon issway.
    Watch oot furry hoarses.
    Slow doonyap rick.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Am stertin a campaign furry road signs tae be wrote in dialect.
    E.G. Gonnae stoap an hae a deek afore ye go.
    Ye cannae drive doon issway.
    Watch oot furry hoarses.
    Slow doonyap rick.
    Gonnae no dae that.

Quote Originally Posted by vince1973 View Post
    Its really no hard to read, it is, like Gaelic, phonetic. Your ignorance of the writers of Scots doesn't mean people don't write in Scots, you just don't know about them or more likely choose to ignore them. One of the greatest poets to have lived wrote exclusively in Scots. There have been Booker prize nominees and winners who have in part written in Scots and Scots dialects. To say no one actually writes in Scots couldn't be further from the truth.

I don't understand how it looks crap when written down, would it be safe to assume you think all non English languages look crap {maybe because you find them hard to read}?
    Wow. That’s some amount of assumptions you’ve made about me personally from a light hearted post about something written on here!

Clearly I wasn’t talking about Burns, Wallace, Welsh or whoever.

Don’t take everything so, erm, literally.

Chill out.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    Ah think its cos ah use quite a bit of slang oan ma mobile, seems tae huv kerried across tae Hibsnet ya bas. Ah find it a bit strange tae.
    😂😂

Utterly pointless things that “no one” can read. ( ok, a few folk can and maybe do read them, but the fact that they also speak English kinda makes them pointless)

Same as train station signs and if it wasn’t for the football, BBC Alba too.

Anyways, I’m talking about jakey writing on here, not Gaelic or Too a Flipping Mouse!!

... jakey writing ...
    So this is really just a social class thing, then?

You're okay with Burns, or even writers like Irvine Welsh or James Kelman being promoted into the respectable literate classes while still writing in something akin to the dialect they originated from. Heaven forbid if an actual, real-life schemie or Hibs fan should attempt to transcribe their own speaking patterns, though. If they want to write, they should learn to write like you and me, is that it? Their dialect is there to be written about by others, not by themselves.

Utterly pointless things that “no one” can read. ( ok, a few folk can and maybe do read them, but the fact that they also speak English kinda makes them pointless)

Same as train station signs and if it wasn’t for the football, BBC Alba too.

Anyways, I’m talking about jakey writing on here, not Gaelic or Too a Flipping Mouse!!
    The roll out of the bi-lingual road signs, started by Labour, will continue and the Scots Language including 'jakey writing' is growing so you just try and chill out.

Quote Originally Posted by Aim Here View Post
    So this is really just a social class thing, then?

You're okay with Burns, or even writers like Irvine Welsh or James Kelman being promoted into the respectable literate classes while still writing in something akin to the dialect they originated from. Heaven forbid if an actual, real-life schemie or Hibs fan should attempt to transcribe their own speaking patterns, though. If they want to write, they should learn to write like you and me, is that it? Their dialect is there to be written about by others, not by themselves.
    You’re taking this way too seriously!!

I’ll chip in. Waste of time and money. Why? And putting the gaelic version of police on police cars seems to be the latest. Wtf is that about?
    Last edited by tamig; 11-10-2018 at 04:19 PM.

Aye, but whae ate all the pies?

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    I’ll chip in. Waste of time and money. Why? And putting the gaelic version of police on police cars seems to be the latest. Wtf is that about?
    AFAIK the signs are replaced as they would normally i.e. when they're naturally due for replacement. Why? The mindboggles why there would be road signs, in Gaelic, in the Highlands of Scotland when the indigenous language is Gaelic.

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Replacing a poor product with a poor product.
    took the words right out of my keyboard!

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    The pies in the West upper are sound that’s why no one is complaining.

In fact, I’d guess the pies throughout the stadium are generally fine, it’s only a dozen or so folk on here complaining when they probably sell thousands each game.
    I think it's more, the pie filling isn't bad - could be better - but the case is awful, it is solid and uncooked at the same time - incredible. It is not difficult to get decent cases. But they have gone for the cheapest to maximise the margin.

A boycott would hit the caterers profit and would leave them with one option, improve the quality to improve the sales.

Hibs do need to look at this, everything to do with what happens in the stadium affects the reputation of the club.

Several pies were tried and tested by the caterers also involving the club for their opinion. The current pies came top in the test results.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Several pies were tried and tested by the caterers also involving the club for their opinion. The current pies came top in the test results.

Was it a bunch of Labradors that tasted them?

I think there may have been some labradors involved, but not in the tasting...

They sell plenty of them so must be half decent

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Sounds like they are being cooked to within an inch of their lives, which might be more of the problem. I presume the taste testers didn't get the burnt version of said pies.

Embrace your culture, man.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Sounds like they are being cooked to within an inch of their lives, which might be more of the problem. I presume the taste testers didn't get the burnt version of said pies.
    Exactly!

The ‘secret shoppers’ need to carry out unannounced site inspections......not telegraph they are coming and then, unsurprisingly, find everything is tickety boo!

the mild mannered janitor Last Minute's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Spot on, tell them to go at Half time and try one.it will be rock hard and burnt to a crisp.

I never actually buy food at half time. Do they actually just leave the pies in the oven for the entire first half meaning they are brick hard or burnt?

I'm no michelin star chef but that seems extremely stupid to me.