Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Innocent until proven guilty. Thats all I got to say.

Ronaldo just happens to have a "previous claim of rape" levelled against him, whereby due to "insufficient evidence" no prosecution took place. Doubt however will always remain in such a case, even though "innocence is assumed" That assumed "innocence" is tentative and hangs on there not being a 2nd and subsequent rape claim against him.

When Ronaldo again finds himself "accused of rape" (by a completely different woman) and he then "buys her silence", alarm bells inevitably go off and questions are inevitably raised.
    Last edited by Hi Heid Yin; 08-10-2018 at 12:20 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Lennon's Lip View Post
    Ronaldo just happens to have a "previous claim of rape" levelled against him, whereby due to "insufficient evidence" no prosecution took place. Doubt however will always remain in such a case, even though "innocence is assumed" That assumed "innocence" is tentative and hangs on there not being a 2nd and subsequent rape claim against him.

When Ronaldo again finds himself "accused of rape" (by a completely different woman) and he then "buys her silence", alarm bells inevitably go off and questions are inevitably raised.
    Rich man, known for paying off malicious claimants, attracts malicious claimants. Could be an alternative explanation.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    That assumed "innocence" is tentative and hangs on there not being a 2nd and subsequent rape claim
    So because he hasn’t been found guilty of any wrong doing more than once, innocent until proven guilty doesn’t apply to him anymore?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Just my humble opinion in general that there seems to be a hell of a lot of judges and experts on most subjects these days. I have not looked at the report from the German rag Der Spiegel as from memory that paper was the German equivalent of the sun if not worse. Will leave this for others to discuss and concentrate on Hibs related subjects.
    The Spiegel isn't a newspaper, it's a weekly news magazine that is world renowned for it's investigative journalism. Hardly a rag.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    So because he hasn’t been found guilty of any wrong doing more than once, innocent until proven guilty doesn’t apply to him anymore?
    Saturday Boy will be along shortly advising you to check out something called the Moorov Doctrine.

I would echo that advice.

Quote Originally Posted by Chic Murray View Post
    Rich man, known for paying off malicious claimants, attracts malicious claimants. Could be an alternative explanation.
    Out of court payoffs will always attract attention and be questioned. Innocence and guilt thus will be assumed by different onlookers.
    And that's why claims (malicious or otherwise) should be brought to the courts of justice, where a jury will weigh up the evidence presented.
    By avoiding scrutiny in the courts the rich and powerful can get away with murder (literally).
    Equally, justice is trampled on and bye-passed when a "malicious" claimant is rewarded with a nice, hefty payoff. Their testimony and lies are not heard and deliberated on by the courts.

And on that note, I will now leave this thread and subject to others.
    I have given my tuppence worth and I'd much rather focus on our beloved Hibees.
    Last edited by Hi Heid Yin; 08-10-2018 at 12:09 PM.

Out of court payoffs will always attract attention and be questioned. Innocence and guilt thus will be assumed by different onlookers.
    And that's why claims (malicious or otherwise) should be brought to the courts of justice, where a jury will weigh up the evidence presented.
    By avoiding scrutiny in the courts the rich and powerful can get away with murder (literally).
    Equally, justice is trampled on and bye-passed when a "malicious" claimant is rewarded with a nice, hefty payoff. Their testimony and lies are not heard and deliberated on by the courts.

I would agree with that. I don't like payoffs, particularly in crimes of violence. If the allegation is true, then the offender shouldn't be able to avoid justice by throwing money at the victim. And as you've said, it shouldn't be possible to profit from malicious claims.

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    I would agree with that. I don't like payoffs, particularly in crimes of violence. If the allegation is true, then the offender shouldn't be able to avoid justice by throwing money at the victim. And as you've said, it shouldn't be possible to profit from malicious claims.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    It’s called reading, give it a bash. The fuds know who they are.
    I can't even spell phud.

I agree, he would have saved himself a lot of bother letting her take him to court. In his defence, football is a short career, and he appears focussed on getting the most out of it.

“Fake news” a phrase often used by an American Idiot. Known for flip flopping and lying.
    Bad choice of words smacking or arrogance but that’s PR/lawyers for you.
    Is the Pavlovian response to the dismissive phrase “fake news” been to just ignore what goes Around this?

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    “Fake news” a phrase often used by an American Idiot. Known for flip flopping and lying.
    Bad choice of words smacking or arrogance but that’s PR/lawyers for you.
    Is the Pavlovian response to the dismissive phrase “fake news” been to just ignore what goes Around this?
    Look at all the things trump has got away with though. Ronaldo is probably right to follow his lead.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Look at all the things trump has got away with though. Ronaldo is probably right to follow his lead.

If Ronaldo’s claims are true and those documents in the public domain (including his ‘confession’) are forgeries, then we should expect some pretty heavy legal action from his team soon.

It would be a clear case of defamation.

We shall see.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    If Ronaldo’s claims are true and those documents in the public domain (including his ‘confession’) are forgeries, then we should expect some pretty heavy legal action from his team soon.

It would be a clear case of defamation.

We shall see.
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45824263

So...

Another week has passed and still no concrete evidence

Didnae happen

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    So...

Didnae happen
    Did you expect him to be tried and convicted. You are an attention seeking moron, give it a rest.

Another week has passed and Der Speigel has not been sued.

It is reported that Las Vegas police wish to interview Mr Ronaldo.

Speculation is that, if found guilty, he could be looking at 10 years.

In the current climate in USA, Bill Cosby, Harvey Weinstein, et al it looks as if, didnae happen or not, this could run for a while yet.

Did you expect him to be tried and convicted. You are an attention seeking moron, give it a rest.
    How?

How?
    By saying that a week has passed without concrete evidence.

What concrete evidence would you like?

So...

Didnae happen

I will assume you are at it. I’ve no idea why you would be though.

So...

Didnae happen
    That's an idiotic remark.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    As if Ronaldo is going to rape a woman never mind anyone

He's got millions of men/women who are going to drop their pants in a second just to spend a couple of minutes with him

Didnae happen
    So...

Didnae happen
    Bad enough once, but twice......

Jeezo - hadn't realised both outrageous posts were by the same poster.

Whether trying to be funny, or just very ill-educated or whatever else.... they need help.

So...

Didnae happen
    Another very stupid post.

How do you know there is no concrete evidence? Do you think its a good legal strategy to publish all your evidence on twitter before any trial has taken place?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Another very stupid post.

How do you know there is no concrete evidence? Do you think its a good legal strategy to publish all your evidence on twitter before any trial has taken place?
    Guys a total weirdo mate, best ignored.

So...

Didnae happen
    Answer on The Chase right now, "Empty vessels make the most noise."

Pretty apt here.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but expect to be told if yours is particularly ill informed.