Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Dundee away

There was nothing wrong with Dundee in the 60s but like many other places, Ayrshire comes to mind, there has been a gradual decline. At least Dundee seems to be on the up again.

Dundee is a great City

I lived in Dundee for a few years. You get to know everyone eventually. Great vibe to it but was a total dump when I was there.

Happy to see it making a comeback. Nearly unrecognisable.

Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    I lived in Dundee for a few years. You get to know everyone eventually. Great vibe to it but was a total dump when I was there.

Happy to see it making a comeback. Nearly unrecognisable
    I will take a look around before the game, in the interest of being fair. Perhaps I've been overly harsh. I shall try to be objective.

Quote Originally Posted by Chic Murray View Post
    Was thinking of going, but am put off by potential for traffic chaos. It's the September weekend, and the first weekend there's public access to the V&A.

Is it not the sept weekend this weekend? Schools.here are off and I'm sure its a public holiday pay day at work tomorrow?

Its an open day at Dundee Uni on saturday too.
    Last edited by Jay; 16-09-2018 at 03:31 PM.

Was thinking of going, but am put off by potential for traffic chaos. It's the September weekend, and the first weekend there's public access to the V&A.
    This is the sept weekend??

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Is there a more dreary, depressing place than Dundee? Awful town.
    ??? Dundee is a great place. I'm guessing you don't know it very well.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    In a 2017 poll only 16% of Edinburgh's residents described their lives as happy
    Dundee is fine, looking forward to getting to the new V&A with my wife

As for that poll? That one was commissioned for 9Nine Superseeds (who?). I could have done a better one by wandering the streets for a couple of days - It surveyed 3000 people across the UK - think about those numbers and how many that would mean in Scotland - perhaps 300 bodies? How many in Edinburgh? Apparently Glasgows numbers in that one were almost as bad.

Its as stupid as those ones which regularly tell us that place XY or Z is the best to live. Honestly, newspapers just reprint this kind of advertorial pish without even thinking.

p.s. google brings up a more recent alternative view to that 2017 one, perhaps with a more valid sample size - 5000 Edinburgh Residents were polled in 2018 and 95% said they were happy..........

https://stv.tv/news/east-central/141...-life-in-city/

Quote Originally Posted by Paisley Hibby View Post
    ??? Dundee is a great place. I'm guessing you don't know it very well.
    Not very well, other than a few visits and for Hibs games. It's always left me with a sense of bleakness.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    My old man loves Dundee as just about every pub sells McEwan's 80!
    really, would die for one now

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    Is it not the sept weekend this weekend? Schools.here are off and I'm sure its a public holiday pay day at work tomorrow?

Its an open day at Dundee Uni on saturday too.
    I think it's the Glasgow September weekend next week.

Ahhhh...but whens the Dundee one then?

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    Ahhhh...but whens the Dundee one then?
    I'll tell you the next time I'm working there.

Been surrounded by Weedgies the last couple of days.

Will this be PATG?

Just heard Dundee are on a terrible run. What are the odds we are the team they end it against?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Just heard Dundee are on a terrible run. What are the odds we are the team they end it against?
    I think every football fan thinks this way about their own team - keep the faith!

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    I think every football fan thinks this way about their own team - keep the faith!
    Suppose I could counter it by saying we are not winning games away from home. Our run could be coming to an end.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Suppose I could counter it by saying we are not winning games away from home. Our run could be coming to an end.
    Hibs haven’t won away from home in the league since February I’d heard
    So this is the time to put it right

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Dundee’s a tremendous place. Genuinely creative undertone to it, some really good places to eat and drink and friendly people.
    What is a " creative undertone"

Quote Originally Posted by stuart-farquhar View Post
    What is a " creative undertone"
    Fergal Sharkey?

Quote Originally Posted by S4uzee View Post
    Will this be PATG?
    Anyone know?

Quote Originally Posted by bodhibs View Post
    Anyone know?
    Of course it will be. Can’t remember in recent time us selling out our Stand

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Of course it will be. Can’t remember in recent time us selling out our Stand
    Gee thanks bud 🙄

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Is there a more dreary, depressing place than Dundee? Awful town.
    Totally disagree there. Dundee is a great day out.

Nae Kenny Miller next weekend. Straight red was it yesterday?

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Fergal Sharkey?
    Genius... 10/10 😀

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    In a 2017 poll only 16% of Edinburgh's residents described their lives as happy
    right then. hae a nice life in bankook

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    Think I used to go to the Ambassador,up the hill fae ground many moons ago,
    Was in Whites last week and it’s a bit scruffy now. Ticky Boos in town but will be packed out on a Saturday with shoppers

Dundee away Hibs TV

As I am out of the country is there any chance I will get this game live on International Hibs TV

Dundee is a fabulous place. Lived and worked there from 2000 to 2017, and regard it as home. Fantastic re-birth going on.