Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundee away

Promising Youngster

Gamertag: Doogz97

Dundee away

Sorry if posted elsewhere, where is everyone heading pre-match for a few beers? Looking for somewhere that is fine with wearing colours and ideally does food 🍻 🍔

Think I used to go to the Ambassador,up the hill fae ground many moons ago,

The V&A?

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Not sure what its like on football days but visited the BrewDog on Panmure Street quite recently, good beer selection, food etc.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    The Beer Kitchen on Perth Rd has good beer and good food.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Was thinking of going, but am put off by potential for traffic chaos. It's the September weekend, and the first weekend there's public access to the V&A.

The Ambassador is normally where I end up before the game. Decent wee pub.

Is there a more dreary, depressing place than Dundee? Awful town.

First Team Regular NthCarolinaHibs's Avatar
    We're heading to Trades house..no far from station then a Joe up to the ground..🇳🇬

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Edinburgh

Quote Originally Posted by Chic Murray View Post
    Was thinking of going, but am put off by potential for traffic chaos. It's the September weekend, and the first weekend there's public access to the V&A.
    it’s only an hour up the road from the bridge ....the route to the ground doesn’t take you through the city centre , or the river area where the Gallery is...give yourself and extra 30mins if you are concerned and it will be a breeze ..

Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Edinburgh
    Nae chance. Dundee could be the setting of any Kafka novel.

Always head to Halleys at Strathmartine Road. Where else do you hear of the same guy having a pub for thirty years. The pint of Tennents is the best I've ever tasted.

Hopefully Dundee keep their manager as we'll pump them

Change and it could give them a lift for Saturday

It’s not the most attractive place but the people are generally okay. I was at uni there for four years in mid 80s so it might have improved. Mind you my daughter says Aberdeen runs it close. Must be all the grey granite and the fact that temperatures are baltic all year round.

Tickety Boo's does the job for lunch and early live matches.

Quote Originally Posted by Crab apple View Post
    It’s not the most attractive place but the people are generally okay. I was at uni there for four years in mid 80s so it might have improved. Mind you my daughter says Aberdeen runs it close. Must be all the grey granite and the fact that temperatures are baltic all year round.
    Dundee has improved beyond recognition over the past decade, the continuing development on the Riverside are pretty impressive. I would have had Aberdeen slightly ahead of Dundee in terms of an attractive place to live over the past twenty years but Dundee is moving ahead now.

Quote Originally Posted by Crab apple View Post
    I actually don't mind Aberdeen. Yes it's austere, but I kind of like that melancholic vibe. Dundee, on the other hand, leaves me cold; there's a hopelessness about the place. It's like the darkest days of Thatcher's Scotland have permanently settled there.

That sounds exactly like Lanarkshire to be honest.

My old man loves Dundee as just about every pub sells McEwan's 80!

Quote Originally Posted by Chorley Hibee View Post
    That sounds exactly like Lanarkshire to be honest.
    Lanarkshire can have some life to it. I quite like Motherwell/Hamilton/Bellshill. Perhaps I have strange taste

My best pal stays in Wishy, like yourself.

Aberdeen

Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Edinburgh
    In a 2017 poll only 16% of Edinburgh's residents described their lives as happy

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    In a 2017 poll only 16% of Edinburgh's residents described their lives as happy
    Yams, after our cup win.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Dundee’s a tremendous place. Genuinely creative undertone to it, some really good places to eat and drink and friendly people.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Lanarkshire can have some life to it. I quite like Motherwell/Hamilton/Bellshill. Perhaps I have strange taste

My best pal stays in Wishy, like yourself.
    There's nae danger that those three hovels are better than Dundee.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Grew up in Carnoustie and Dundee has improved considerably since I moved there. It's a great city.

Quote Originally Posted by RoYO! View Post
    The V&A?

Perfect opportunity for a double whammy of culture & Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Dundee’s a tremendous place. Genuinely creative undertone to it, some really good places to eat and drink and friendly people.
    I get what you're saying, but I just can't connect with it. Dundee always makes me think of the Morrissey song 'Everyday Is Like Sunday': dreich, desolate, grey.

There are plenty of such places in the UK, but Dundee has always given me the fear for some reason. I can imagine being sent to live there as punishment; one of those tenements near Tannadice for the winter.

Quote Originally Posted by Chic Murray View Post
    Absolutely no need to go anywhere near the city centre or the V&A

A90 until turn off for Strathmartine Road. Take that and travel towards the city.
    You will come across the junction for Dens Road on your left, take that and Bob's your Aunty.

An hour after crossing the Forth Road Bridge to the ground.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 16-09-2018 at 02:44 PM.