Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Definitely was.

I used to live in Iona Street, and got the 13 bus past the Post Office every morning.

Disclaimer. I say "definitely", but I am probably miles off.
    The mysterious 13 bus.Used to (and still does)make furtive appearances in strange parts of the city.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    The mysterious 13 bus.Used to (and still does)make furtive appearances in strange parts of the city.
    It felt like an exploration of the social strata of Edinburgh. The mean streets of Lochend and Leith, to the boulevards of Ravelston.

And in a single decker....

Thundering over the subterranean lav in Albert Street-a visit there was an adventure not readily undertaken

Definitely was.

I used to live in Iona Street, and got the 13 bus past the Post Office every morning.

Thanks CWG I was sure there was a hibs shop and post office on albert st

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybrian View Post
    Old North East Corner Scoreboard circa 1950
    Attachment 21243

Newer South East Corner Scoreboard 1969
    Attachment 21244
    Look at that crowd in 1950. My Father in Law used to talk about the crowds then.

It still does.

Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    I remember it well, bought my first pair of Peter Bonetti green gloves in there for 2/6.
    Did the shop not become The Rose Street Brewery?

Jock Stein opening the shop.
    I thought it was on the other side of the street towards Scott's Bar.

Definitely was.

There was a P.O. @ Shrubhill, cannae remember one on Albert Street (mid 70s onwards).

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There was a P.O. @ Shrubhill, cannae remember one on Albert Street (mid 70s onwards).
    The Easter Road end is what I'm thinking. Opposite side from the Royal Nip.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Deffo was one big red letter box outside !

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I remember the old guy that used to walk around Easter Road holding aloft the blackboard with the lucky programme numbers which were printed on the front of your programme everyone used to pelt it with pies.

I also remember the half time scoreboard with the shaky numbers which were waited on in great anticipation and huge gasps when the scores were put up in prearranged alphabetical order according to your programme in pre internet social media days as only the Sados had a tranny wired to their ears in those days listening to David Francey and Alister Alexander!
    Were the pies rubbish then as well

No away strips.

No away strips

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    The 13 bus was at least partly responsible for me following Hibs. Great King Street to St Claire Street. No equivalent to the piggery.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Dainty toffee....mouth watering and chewy......but on a freezing winters day was like trying to bite through glass
    Black Jacks...... that literally turned one's teeth black
    Toffoes.......minty and otherwise
    Spangles...flavoured, hard boiled and square
    Last edited by Hi Heid Yin; 06-11-2018 at 07:46 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    I thought it was on the other side of the street towards Scott's Bar.
    Yes, other side from Rose St Brewery.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    I remember it well, bought my first pair of Peter Bonetti green gloves in there for 2/6.
    Did the shop not become The Rose Street Brewery?

Jock Stein opening the shop.
    According to Wikipedia Stein got rid of Simpson from Hibs because he had a bad attitude in training. Did he have a better attitude at Celtc, where he went on to become their 'greatest ever goalie', and make up with Stein? Anyone got the skinny on that?

Miss watching the away fans getting soaked in the rain and snow and That view of Arthur's seat...

Quote Originally Posted by Lennon's Lip View Post
    Dainty toffee....mouth watering and chewy......but on a freezing winters day was like trying to bite through glass
    Black Jacks...... that literally turned one's teeth black
    Rolos.......minty and otherwise
    Spangles...flavoured, hard boiled and square
    Don’t remember minty rolos?

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Think she means minty Toffoes.

You could also get mixed flavoured Toffoes .

The Easter Road end is what I'm thinking. Opposite side from the Royal Nip.
    My mind is a blank in regard to that end of the street!

Quote Originally Posted by Lemonade View Post

I remember Mintoes not the mixed ones though. Also remember Aztec bars.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=minty+toffoes&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-gb&client=safari#imgrc=YfkH0H9Bwt7atM:

Oops, I meant minty Toffoes!

Quote Originally Posted by Lemonade View Post

She is a he, but yes, you are correct, I meant Toffoes! lol

Mintola even

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Mintola even
    Ah, now you are talking!

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    This is a sexual activity from the 70s that I don't recall at Easter Road.
    Brilliant 😂

Polos

Oops, I meant minty Toffoes!
    Now ur talking !