Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    The programe hut at the top of old east Ricky ?
    Ricky Reginas Programme Hut
    Remember saying tae him ahve goat aw oh these programmes !
    And him saying Aye, and so have ah ! Are ye going to buy anything?
    Like the barman oot oh Still Game.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I think it was something original like "Hibs Supporters Club" and I'm sure I had a membership card at one time.
    50 club?

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I think it was something original like "Hibs Supporters Club" and I'm sure I had a membership card at one time.
    I’ve still got my Hibs Supporters Association (club card’) from 1974 for the Sunnyside club.

There WAS a club in the old car park owned by Hibs that was there for a while, but before and after there was also the St Andrews Bowling Club...

@hibs.net private member Greenfly's Avatar
    Getting lifted over turnstiles as a bairn.

I remember a time when squads were fully assembled prior to the season starting.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    I remember a time when squads were fully assembled prior to the season starting.
    Yet clubs could add to their personnel at any point during the season.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post

ps. What was the name of that club round the back of the East?

Joined when it first opened around the late 60's.
    Pretty sure it was the Hibernian Social Club.

Getting a pink paper after the game....they were brilliant

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    One for the older viewers..who remembers this? Beechnut chewing gum - quite brittle stuff if I correctly recall ?

Anyone other things from footballs bygone days which bring back fond memories ??
    I like cocktail bars and Spearmint Rhinos

Quote Originally Posted by hibbydog View Post
    Getting a pink paper after the game....they were brilliant
    Queuing outside the newsagents at six on a Saturday evening.
    The same faces in the queue.
    Pink and ten no6.

Radio HIBS the wee hut in the North Enclosure DJ Bill Barclay

Everytime an opposition player went down injured the chant would go out from the shed “dig a hole and bury him” dug on the pitch “ Colin Colin Colin Stein” opposition fans fighting amongst themselves “ Hooli Hooli Hooligans!” Great days ! Building site hard hats painted green and white to protect you from flying bottles.

I can still picture Stewart Brown EEN peering out from the press box a big Hibby sadly dead now.

Many of his team lineups including those great players NEWMAN TRIALIST and AN OTHER !

White dog *****!
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 17-09-2018 at 12:16 PM.

Peter Cormack in goals

Willie Wilson oan the left wing wi a bandage roond his heid

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    The Hibernian development club?

Standing in the corner swinging my chain
    Along came a jambo, asked my name
    Kicked him in the balls and kicked him in the head
    Now that jambo is dead

Na na na na na na na

We are the mentol hibees

(sang many a time in the old shed)

In retrospect not entirely politically correct wording for a song I suppose ...

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    A bold attempt to force people to buy a programme by announcing half time scores as " Match A nil nil, Match B zero two, Match C one nil ".

The booing and whistling forced the announcer to read the teams names' fully .

I was at that match. It was when we had the old electronic scoreboard which, up until then, had always shown the half time scores with the team names written out in full. That day the scores came up A 1-0, B 0-0, etc. and the supporters started booing. Then 5 minutes later the announcer said "here are the half time scores A 1-0, B 0-0.... I've never heard fans going so mental outwith match time. 2 minutes later the scores sere announced in full.

Does anyone remember climbing up the telegraph pole at the back of the Dunbar End to get in buckshee?

Quote Originally Posted by Tomsk View Post
    Does anyone remember climbing up the telegraph pole at the back of the Dunbar End to get in buckshee?
    I remember shinning up a plank of wood and over the wall as a laddie. Was there a builders yard at the Dunbar end around 67-69?

They started a Sunday market in the old car park, and it must have been Salvador Dali that designed the poster.

I remember a cartoon of Bertie Auld, smoking a big cigar, getting out of a taxi wearing a massive cap. The words on the side of the taxi were "Bertie's Caps".

Perhaps I had too much Camenbert the night before, but I have no idea how that was supposed to drum up custom, and how anybody would think punning cap for cab would be in the slightest bit amusing.

Feet on the wall and hands on the wire and you walked up the wall to get round the broken glass in the top. You had to jump down as you couldn't dreep because of the glass!

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    I remember shinning up a plank of wood and over the wall as a laddie. Was there a builders yard at the Dunbar end around 67-69?
    I remember there was some work done on the social club at the back of the main terracing around about 1972-74, which resulted in various ladders, planks and whatever conveniently placed for the patrons.

Walking along Albion Road at a night game especially the European games and seeing the floodlights on. It's no the same now as when the big floodlights were there.

I remember there was some work done on the social club at the back of the main terracing around about 1972-74, which resulted in various ladders, planks and whatever conveniently placed for the patrons.
    Maybe....just can't trust the memory these days

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    Feet on the wall and hands on the wire and you walked up the wall to get round the broken glass in the top. You had to jump down as you couldn't dreep because of the glass!
    Such a marvellous word. I don't think I've seen it written down before.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Dreeping usually scuffed your ‘clarks commandos ‘

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    It made an appearance in a Higher English Reading Comp paper in the 80's in an article by the columnist Miles Kington. He went to boarding school in Scotland, and the article was about words we have up here he liked that don't have English equivalents. He also liked our use of the word 'bucket' as a universal term for rubbish disposal containers ('Put it in the bucket'), with no need for tedious specifics like 'waste-paper bin'.

I don't know why I remember this, I'll be 51 net week.

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Dreeping usually scuffed your ‘clarks commandos ‘
    Clarks Commandoes. Now there was a piece of ace marketing before marketing was invented.
    (PS I've checked and there's nae apostrophe in Clarks. Then again if they are the commandoes of Clarks, maybe there should be one!)

Dreeping is now built into the sport they call "free running".

Quote Originally Posted by Halmyre Hibee View Post
    Those cameramen Dinnae half look dodgy. The matching jacket and hat is a beauty😀

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    It made an appearance in a Higher English Reading Comp paper in the 80's in an article by the columnist Miles Kington. He went to boarding school in Scotland, and the article was about words we have up here he liked that don't have English equivalents. He also liked our use of the word 'bucket' as a universal term for rubbish disposal containers ('Put it in the bucket'), with no need for tedious specifics like 'waste-paper bin'.

I don't know why I remember this, I'll be 51 net week.
    Higher English..takes me back..remember someone walking past the exam room in "E" Block at Firhill with a "gettoblaster" just before the exam started..

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    Life membership was five bob.Wasn’t it closed when someone was knifed?