Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    New Years Day derbys The guy walking aboot ringing a big bell carrying a bottle o whisky to attract friends and family members from both sides of the divide game usually always finished 0-0 apart from 1973 of course

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Toilet rolls flying through the air onto the pitch.

Policeman’s hats getting thrown about the terracing.
    We used to ask the bus conductor for any spare ticket rolls 😀

Quote Originally Posted by ozhibs View Post
    We used to ask the bus conductor for any spare ticket rolls 😀
    I must have been on the earlier bus

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Lifetime ban for this hooligan, please Hibs.
    Wisny me. I must have had my account hacked!

The boy standing at the bridge in the long coat used to sell packs of razor blades as well as the spearmint chewing gum. We called him the 'Erzi man' as in "Erzi macaroon bars 'n' spearmint chewing gu-em!"

I also remember one afternoon at a game seeing a Hun supporter opening his coat to reveal several pockets which each contained a bottle of whisky or can of beer. When you think of it, it's amazing there weren't more injuries then with the amount of potential missiles lying on the terracing.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    The ‘plain clothed’ coppers who used to stand among the crowd near the top of the cowshed hoping to catch hooligans.

Problem was, rather than blending in with the crowd, they stood out like a sore thumb and it wasn’t long before an empty circle formed around them as the fans moved a couple of yards away from them!

Hmm, in those days a smart haircut and sheepskin coat did nothing for blending in. I was at a Scottish Cup game at Firhill in the seventies when they lifted what appeared to me to be an innocent guy that put me off the bizzies. Then my wee brother joined them!

Quote Originally Posted by Pat 0-7 View Post
    Parking along the middle of the road when there were no spaces left - Dalmeny or Iona St I think - I could leave Bathgate at 2pm and be in the East for kick off.......
    Albert Street.

Hibs catering 1973

First Team Breakthrough Jim_in_Canada's Avatar
    I always remember Glasgow matches where the guy selling the chewing gum would add a 'y' in the middle of 'spearmint; :

Erra Macaroon bars and Spearymint chewin' gum .

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Ah Toilet rolls ...the 70s smoke bomb !
    We used to nick them from the public bogs before the game

Classic shouts like “taxi for ( insert name)”or my favourite “get warmed up son yir coming aff”

Quote Originally Posted by Halmyre Hibee View Post
    Two teams playing in nearly the same colour as well.

Surely a mention for Hibee Popcorn - delicious even if it did look like it came with pre-grown mould.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Home made knitted Hibs strips

One for the older viewers..who remembers this? Beechnut chewing gum - quite brittle stuff if I correctly recall ?

Anyone other things from footballs bygone days which bring back fond memories ??
    Yep. Brilliant combination. The youngsters today don't know what they're missing.

Remember getting a job around 1971 selling the snacks walking round the ground. First time we were playing der hun and some weegie said "an gies some ginger" I looked at him and said "we've no got ginger here" He then thought I was being smart and started pointing at the juice on the tray. I said "that's no ginger mate, it's red kola". He was adamant it was ginger as were his mates. It was the first time I'd been selling stuff to them and we were told to never balance the tray on the wall as you usually did, but have the tray on the ground behind you "cause these illegitimate's will have the sugar oot yer tea". Wise counsel indeed.

Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    Remember getting a job around 1971 selling the snacks walking round the ground. First time we were playing der hun and some weegie said "an gies some ginger" I looked at him and said "we've no got ginger here" He then thought I was being smart and started pointing at the juice on the tray. I said "that's no ginger mate, it's red kola". He was adamant it was ginger as were his mates. It was the first time I'd been selling stuff to them and we were told to never balance the tray on the wall as you usually did, but have the tray on the ground behind you "cause these illegitimate's will have the sugar oot yer tea". Wise counsel indeed.
    The cry was no sell ginger

One for the older viewers..who remembers this? Beechnut chewing gum - quite brittle stuff if I correctly recall ?

Anyone other things from footballs bygone days which bring back fond memories ??
    "Gerra macarooonnn, tablet. Chewing the chews"

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Classic shouts like “taxi for ( insert name)”or my favourite “get warmed up son yir coming aff”
    Taxi for Farrell 😉

gettin a lift over the turnstiles

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Having to wait outside the pub after the game till it opened at 5.00.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    The wee club hut at the back of the old east, the glass on the top of walls, still got the scar, sitting oot side the pub waiting for ma dad who would always come out 2 minutes before KO, the stairs up to the east, what a climb.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    The wee club hut at the back of the old east, the glass on the top of walls, still got the scar, sitting oot side the pub waiting for ma dad who would always come out 2 minutes before KO, the stairs up to the east, what a climb.
    There's not a lot of fans remember about that "Hibs Club" for some reason.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Spot the Ball in the Evening News. Did it every week.

The programe hut at the top of old east Ricky ?

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    The programe hut at the top of old east Ricky ?
    A few stood in the queue for pies there before realising their error. Personally know three people who made that mistake!

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post

had forgotten about that - sat out there with my bag of crisps and can of juice many a time! :)

ps. What was the name of that club round the back of the East?
    Last edited by bigwheel; 16-09-2018 at 07:36 PM.

Count me in as well. I've actually mentioned it a couple of times on here. Stood in the queue for a good ten or fifteen minutes and just went hungry. Reckon it must have been about 1983.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    had forgotten about that - sat out there with my bag of crisps and can of juice many a time! :)

ps. What was the name of that club round the back of the East?
    I think it was something original like "Hibs Supporters Club" and I'm sure I had a membership card at one time.