Hybrid View

Official Site: PAT STANTON | FIVE MEMORIES

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    He is the man that the word "Legend" was invented for!

Lovely touch from Hibs.

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    Our greatest ever player, my boyhood hero.

@hibs.net private member wandering_hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs1969 View Post
    Our greatest ever player, my boyhood hero.
    Says it all for me.

Pat is 74 today. Hopefully the club could honour him in some way whilst he is alive so he can see it eg name a stand after him, a statue, a hospitality suite, or some other suggestion???

A legend until he signed for Celtic.....

'S' Form
    My favourite footballer ever. A class player.

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    Legend, no more no less. My hero.

The Wee Lad Fae Niddrie

I had the honour of writing a wee ditty for Pat's 70th Birthday Party which to my embarassment Grant Stott read out to all present! Hope you like it.

The wee lad fae Niddry”

In the streets of Niddry a wee lad kicked a baw
    Nae goalposts in them days, all he had was a wa’
    He’d go oot in the morning, ball under his arm,
    Wi Jumpers for goalposts, he could do nae harm.

He kicked and he passed from pillar to post
    So quickly he ran just like a ghost
    No one got near him as he played his tricks
    A wee shimmy here, with a few fancy kicks

At school he played in the Holy Cross team
    He was as good a player then, as they’d ever seen.
    On leaving school he signed as a schoolboy, for Hibs
    His dad guided him wisely, to wear one of those bibs.

They farmed him out to Bonnyrigg, to mature and to refine
    The skills he was showing were simply Devine.
    A long lanky school boy, he became a legend in his day
    Everyone wanted to play the Pat Stanton way.

As one of Turnbull’s tornadoes he rose to the fore
    No one could have given that Hibs team more.
    His pride in the jersey in which he played
    Shone through with every pass, that he made

Sublime were his movements as he hovered over the field
    Goals he would score and results, they were sealed
    They nicknamed him “GOD” of which he was true
    I don’t think God minded ‘cause he didn’t sue!

He led with dignity and with grace
    his head held high, whilst cutting the chase.
    The punters they loved him this man they called “God”
    But he always felt this was a fraud.

I’m a wee lad fae Niddrie he’d say in reply
    Why do the fans hold me so high?
    You gave your all Pat, for that jersey of green
    You are the best footballer, they’d ever seen

You’re our king and our hero all made in one
    You’re the sunshine on Leith, an all season sun.
    Thank you Pat Stanton, the wee lad, with the baw
    You gave us excitement and magic, some never saw.
    So let’s take the time to thank you right now
    Patrick Gordon Stanton please take a bow!

@hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    Great wee poem Stanton’s Angel 👍 brilliant, thanks for sharing
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

Quote Originally Posted by ano hibby View Post
    Great wee poem Stanton’s Angel 👍 brilliant, thanks for sharing

Well thank you my friend.

First Team Regular Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    I’ve lived in Niddrie for years and I can tell you that all Niddrons of a certain age, no matter their team, idolise Pat here, he is one of his areas greatest success stories, as a Hibby and long term Niddron I feel the same, legend is an overused word but not for Pat