Pedal for Scotland

Anyone else doing it tomorrow?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Good luck!

A couple of guys from my office are doing it, hopefully you get similar weather as today. Oh, and hope you've a padded seat/trousers!
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Good luck!

A couple of guys from my office are doing it, hopefully you get similar weather as today. Oh, and hope you've a padded seat/trousers!
    Cheers.

Forecast is a bit mixed. The rain doesn't bother me too much, but if it's windy....

At my age, everything is padded....

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Not this year ive done it a couple of times.

Great fun
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Forecast is a bit mixed. The rain doesn't bother me too much, but if it's windy....
    Wind is generally fine at PfS as it's almost always at your back. I doubt you'll have to bother pedalling at all on one or two uphills today.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Wind is generally fine at PfS as it's almost always at your back. I doubt you'll have to bother pedalling at all on one or two uphills today.
    Um.... can I have a word, Mr. Kettley?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Um.... can I have a word, Mr. Kettley?

Whit? Was a bit swirly, admittedly, so not ideal, but mid-teens mph "WSW" you would have wanted to be cycling to Edinburgh rather than Glasgow shirley.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Whit? Was a bit swirly, admittedly, so not ideal, but mid-teens mph "WSW" you would have wanted to be cycling to Edinburgh rather than Glasgow shirley.
    I ken.....

My previous experience had been exactly as you suggested it would be today.

But see when I was struggling with that wee headwind before I even got out of the Weege....

Was a good day, though. The swirliness added to the fun.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    I took my boys down to watch for a bit (unlike most folk in Kirkliston who spent the day complaining about the road closures, miserable bassas). It was great to see people of all ages doing the ride; my eldest son fancies doing the wee jaunt next year.

Well done CwG!

Apologies for the bump but I see they have announced this years event will be the last
    Last edited by BroxburnHibee; 26-06-2019 at 06:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    Apologies for the bump but I see they have announced this years event will be the last
    Thats a shame.

Think they killed it when they moved the finish to ingliston.

Always really enjoyed it every time I've done it

Quote Originally Posted by mvteng View Post
    Thats a shame.

Think they killed it when they moved the finish to ingliston.

Always really enjoyed it every time I've done it
    Agreed. I did it twice. Once finishing at Victoria Park then the next year Murrayfield.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    I get why they're stopping. The level of organisation and cost for such an event must be massive and there are now enty other events and opportunities for people to get involved with locally. It's a shame but hopefully some of the more local events will benefit in am upturn in numbers.

If anyone is looking to get out for some social cycles as practice for this week year (or just to get out on the bike) I'm involved on a couple of groups that run such things