Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Dirty players

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Smashing Ian Black is more a pleasure thing
    I always thought Kenny Black was worse..remember Hibs Monthly with a story that he got shipped of to Portsmouth in a cage 😂

As Scotland are playing tonight, anyone remember David Speedie from the 80s?

I remember one mate couldn't believe we stooped so low to have David Speedie in the team. All he did was barge into people and kick them.

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post

I remember one mate couldn't believe we stooped so low to have David Speedie in the team. All he did was barge into people and kick them.

He scored over 300 goals for top flight English teams. Wish we had someone of that quality now.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    He scored over 300 goals for top flight English teams. Wish we had someone of that quality now.
    You sure it was that many?

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    You sure it was that many?
    Sorry, doing 2 things at once. He played over 300 games in the top flight & averaged about a goal every 3 games. Still better than anything we have now.

Brilliant shout. God there's a name. Good wee player though. Don't knock wee Speedie.

All the hibee boys thought we were in heaven when big Alan Gordon made it 7

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Tackling Shades was like tackling a brick wall the best example I can think of for younger posters to view is the 7-0 game. The seventh goal Schaedler goes on a typical lung bursting overlap he kicks the ball too far in front of him a Hearts defender comes across to intercept Schaedler crashes into him allowing his momentum to let the ball travel through to Arthur Duncan who looks up picks out the trusty head of Alan Gordon one flick of the head the ball hits the near post travels along the line to the far post and crosses the line 7-0!
    Did you mean this Tynehibs ?

The only one I can recall being out and out dirty was Farrell. He didn't really have much more to his game. Some the other names mentioned are ridiculous. Darren Jackson. Pat McGinlay.

The best laugh I've had on this thread though is the description if Ian Murray as 'classy'.

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    Brilliant shout. God there's a name. Good wee player though. Don't knock wee Speedie.
    Great wee player. Superb in the air for his size and a real grafter. Still very highly regarded at Chelsea.

Quote Originally Posted by AK86 View Post
    I could be wrong, but was it not that he was part time?
    Actually wasn't a bad defender, not the type I would have liked marking me though . ( not that I needed marked, I was guff!!)
    I’m pretty sure Billy Mac had a fairly senior role in the Civil Service.

Dirty players?
    When I started going to games in the mid sixties the Hibs players changed in to freshly laundered strips at half time. Always clean and sparkling.

Is that not what you were duscusding? 😜

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Kenny Burns.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    And yet he was voted Ranger's Greatest Ever Player.

Says a lot about what style of football appeals to them the most.

Doesnt it just! and they are still the same all these years later.

Its time they evolved into the 21st Century instead of staying steeped in all that bitterness and religion stuff.

No place for that in today's society and especially in football!

Speedie had far more to his game than that.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    I’m pretty sure Billy Mac had a fairly senior role in the Civil Service.
    Inland Revenue I think.

Alan Anderson told me that the most painful thing that happened to him on the park(other than 7-0)was against Rangers when Stein grabbed him by the balls and squeezed very hard.It was a few minutes before half time so Alan tried to banjo Stein as they went in.Stein was most upset saying that what happened on the park should stay on the park.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Speedie had far more to his game than that.
    Speedie signing for Liverpool epitomised Liverpools fall from the top of the mountain.

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Juniper Greens View Post
    Ryan Porteous has potential!
    Absolutely, looks like he has the making of a "no nonsense" type of player

Peter Grant was a thug on the pitch. Roy Aitken, Rickson, Hurlock & Berry are the immediate names that I think off when I hear 'dirty player'

In terms of Hibs, Gordon Hunter (as said before a quiet gentle guy away from the pitch), Sloop, Willie Miller and Ian Murray all set out, at times, to do damage.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    There's a distinction between being hard & being dirty which seems to have been lost in some of these comments. The 2 dirtiest players I ever saw were Johnny Giles & for Hibs, Bertie Auld. Both wee guys & fine footballers but were never afraid to put the foot in, usually about knee height. In or about 1970 we played Middlesbrough pre season at ER. Pre match the talk was all about the potential clash between supposed hard man, Nobby Stiles & oor Bertie. Sure enough 1st 2 times Auld got the ball, Stiles went in late & kicked him. 3rd time, Bertie pretended to miscontrol the ball, Nobby lunged in & Bertie stamped on Stiles' extended leg. Result Bertie walks away, Stiles carried off after about 20 minutes IIRC.
    That was Bertie’s HIBS debut. On the second Stiles challenge he fell awkwardly on the hard ground and broke his collar bone.Tom McNiven came on made a quick diagnosis and told Bertie he would have to come off. OK he said give me five minutes. Five minutes later Nobby Stiles was getting carried off in a stretcher!

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    Neil Berry horrendous tackle on Paul Wright broke his leg and all but ended his Hibs career Hearts Bassa !!
    I remember that one so well, he was an absolute thug, but no a patch on, Drew Busby🙄

[QUOTE=AK86;5544520]Going back a bit , Billy mclaren was not to messed with.
    Matty Jack could put it about and some more. Andy Goram liked to leave some stud marks on anyone who came near.

Kenny Black was born to play for the zombies and the poppy thieves. Horrible horrible little man .[/"]

"Studs" McLaren who Hibs signed from Morton was a dirty B. However the nastiest sleekit sh#@/hoouse of fouling player that I ever seen was Fergie. The great Sir Alex never missed an opportunity to leave a bit on an opponent. Thug.

I cannot let this thread go without mentioning national treasure Sir Alex Ferguson’s tackle on Alex Cropley at Brockville 1972 broke his ankle meant that he missed the 1971/72 Scottish Cup Final.

Eddie Turnbull never spoke to Fegie again - the tackle was that bad.

Fergie later got sent off in the same game.

Quote Originally Posted by cmcd View Post
    John Macnamee

The Hardest I ever saw

Quote Originally Posted by confused View Post
    the hardest i ever saw
    they shall not pass!

Gamertag: HibsMrP
    So wasn't with us long but Martin Scott, if someone caught him, or gave him a kick he spent the rest of the game chasing them around the pitch to give them a kick !!

I cannot let this thread go without mentioning national treasure Sir Alex Ferguson’s tackle on Alex Cropley at Brockville 1972 broke his ankle meant that he missed the 1971/72 Scottish Cup Final.

Eddie Turnbull never spoke to Fegie again - the tackle was that bad.

Fergie later got sent off in the same game.
    Totally hadnt realised Cropley didnt play in that final as was a young pup and mortified we got horsed in the game. Can remember being given a coin or two from friendly/patronising Celtic fans at the game every time they scored so made a few bob but absolutely devastated as thought we would win.

Quite an interesting article about Jim Herriot mentioning the final.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...-6-1-1-2937684

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    Not one of ours but the footage of Tommy Gemmell chasing after the German player who had just tripped him up is superb. Gemmell ran round Hampden trying and failing to boot the guy up the backside after being fouled by him. Gemmell was sent off and I think Scotland also lost the game and in doing so failed to qualify for the WC in Mexico in 1970. Talk about red mist.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs1969 View Post
    Not one of ours but the footage of Tommy Gemmell chasing after the German player who had just tripped him up is superb. Gemmell ran round Hampden trying and failing to boot the guy up the backside after being fouled by him. Gemmell was sent off and I think Scotland also lost the game and in doing so failed to qualify for the WC in Mexico in 1970. Talk about red mist.
    Was in Hamburg, not Hampden. Helmut Haller.

Yeah, we lost 3-2, which all but killed off our hopes of qualifying.

As a young boy, I couldn't help but feel the sheer injustice of it..... "the German guy started it. It's only fair that Gemmell kicked him back."

Here it is. It was a borderline decision, no?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9TTvvICNHA
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 10-09-2018 at 09:18 AM.

I remember a player called Mark Dennis down in England he seemed to get sent off every second or third game he played at a time when no one got sent off. Also Kevin Muscat was a total thug.