Thread: Hibs club

Hibs club

Hibs club lounge to made smaller to keep the noise from the main hall . £100,000 ive heard it takes 20minsbto get served already. Total waste of money

Wow there’s people with such a loose grasp on reality to believe such things.

How much then and a good idea

It’s being renovated. Seen the plans and they look great.

Place really needs it. Good to see them using the funds from these busier years to smarten the place up.

Fine rather see the money going towards the playing squad than a vanity plan for the green blaziers

I like the club but its the time it takes to get served that puts me off

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Fine rather see the money going towards the playing squad than a vanity plan for the green blaziers
    The supporters association is independent from the actual football club.

I think they do make donations to the club quite a bit and do a lot of charity work. I pay 17 a year for membership and they give me a ten quid voucher for drink in return. Prices are so cheap I doubt they make much money.

If there is a bit of profit then I have no problem in them doing the place up. I’m 30 and have never known the place to look any different than it does now.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    It’s a social club not a football club!

Hahahaha nowt to do with the team.its.a.hibs.supporters.social. Club.name gives it away no ?

Hibs club lounge to made smaller to keep the noise from the main hall . £100,000 ive heard it takes 20minsbto get served already. Total waste of money
    Seems you've had no problems getting served tonight mate. How many have you had?

Are they gonna stick in a couple windows?

Much needed, look at the plans and it’s not all just about a small refurbishment to keep the noise down!!! Whoever told you £100k just for that has another agenda. FAKE NEWS

Quote Originally Posted by Sharon Stone View Post
    Much needed, look at the plans and it’s not all just about a small refurbishment to keep the noise down!!! Whoever told you £100k just for that has another agenda. FAKE NEWS
    Aye but that £100k would be better spent signing Griffiths 😂

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    Aye but that £100k would be better spent signing Griffiths
    Hahaha doesn’t take him 20 minutes to get a pint in the club :)

You on the wind up?

Always zone in on the Hibs club whenever back in Edinburgh on holiday.

Haven’t been back for a while but pretty sure the committee wouldn’t enter into any renovations without thoroughly going through the pros and cons.

Only criticism I have ever had of them is what I perceived, rightly or wrongly, was a willingness to embrace and adapt to change.....do you still need to get a tray when you order a pint?

Those who are concerned about the renovations/budget had the chance to ask questions and vote on the proposals at the AGM

Haven't been in there since "Tie a Yellow Ribbon" was number one in the charts and I had long hair and wore flares. Is it still 15p for a pint?

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post
    Those who are concerned about the renovations/budget had the chance to ask questions and vote on the proposals at the AGM
    Pretty sure nearly everybody will end up happy with any renovations...good to see them modernising the premises.

My question about the Trays though, was a serious one......when I left in 1974 it was mandatory that trays be used.......and even back in 2013 the trays were still there.

Is the requirement STILL in place, or did an ensuing committee FINALLY work out at some point that floor coverings had evolved over the decades and it was possible to get industrial flooring that absorbed drink leakage?

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Pretty sure nearly everybody will end up happy with any renovations...good to see them modernising the premises.

My question about the Trays though, was a serious one......when I left in 1974 it was mandatory that trays be used.......and even back in 2013 the trays were still there.

Is the requirement STILL in place, or did an ensuing committee FINALLY work out at some point that floor coverings had evolved over the decades and it was possible to get industrial flooring that absorbed drink leakage?
    'You'll need a tray'.

So a business/club should give Hibs £100k “just because”

Aye ok.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Haven't been in there since "Tie a Yellow Ribbon" was number one in the charts and I had long hair and wore flares. Is it still 15p for a pint?
    It's 17.5p for Tennents now. I know, I know.

And you don't need a tray.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    It's 17.5p for Tennents now. I know, I know.

And you don't need a tray.
    nae trays..good.!!

Always one of my favourite places over the years, and I should add, my appreciation to those who put in so much time to make the place continue to tick over...but sometimes receive little praise for their efforts.
    Last edited by Forza Fred; 27-08-2018 at 12:15 AM.

nae trays..good.!!

Always one of my favourite places over the years
    I've not been there for a couple of years, but trays weren't required then.

Not a member but have friends who are so have been in quite frequently in recent years. Couple of things would improve the place in my opinion, windows in the main hall (patio would be great but probably laws against that) and better air conditioning. Well done all who have made the club successful, enjoy my visits.

This is what the club needs - cuts out the fake 20 minute wait and may help keep the noise down with folk crowding and shouting at the bar :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiu_IX14wLI

Quote Originally Posted by norhfc View Post
    Not a member but have friends who are so have been in quite frequently in recent years. Couple of things would improve the place in my opinion, windows in the main hall (patio would be great but probably laws against that) and better air conditioning. Well done all who have made the club successful, enjoy my visits.
    They had windows in the main hall years ago, down the wall that runs down the lane.

They had to brick them up, think it was due to noise and complaints from local residents.

@hibs.net private member hibbymac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by macca70 View Post
    They had windows in the main hall years ago, down the wall that runs down the lane.

They had to brick them up, think it was due to noise and complaints from local residents.
    Sure they put up another full wall of bricks to create a "double wall" to keep the noise in.

That Jonny and Fags N' Matches were a noisy bunch
    " Whatever the future may hold, Fans of this unique club will stand firm in Hibernians corner. Yes, united they stand, those wonderful supporters and The greatest football club on earth, " - Hibernian F.C. The team that wouldn't die. Click here

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    nae trays..good.!!

Always one of my favourite places over the years, and I should add, my appreciation to those who put in so much time to make the place continue to tick over...but sometimes receive little praise for their efforts.
    Same here. My old man was a Green Blazer for decades but because I left Edinburgh at 17 most of my memories of the place are childhood ones. It's my first stop on match day when I'm home and I've always been made welcome by the staff despite not being a member. There's been some characters in that place over the years and many of them looked after me as a bairn when going to away matches when my old boy stopped going. Bill Alcorn, Maude, Jackie Ernest and Eric Meechan to name a few. Although why my old boy put me on a bus full of radges "St Giles" as a boy I'll never know.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I've not been there for a couple of years, but trays weren't required then.
    Trays are there if you need them, useful when getting a big round in - but fortunately The days of insisting on a tray for one pint are gone!

Great club, but biggest improvement that could be made - getting rid of the stanctions that block customers/bar staff from seeing each other when queuing up. Staff must get fed up roaring "next" every few mins.