Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    I would guess it might be Meadowbank may be wrong. Agree should have had a bit about Hearts also possibly Murrayfield also.

Yeah looks like Meadowbank.

My interpretation of the video/song is it's "their view" of Edinburgh hence Easter Road is prominent and Meadowbank in a background shot.

Not a huge fan but loved the video, showed the crappy places as well as the nice ones.

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    Yeah looks like Meadowbank.

My interpretation of the video/song is it's "their view" of Edinburgh hence Easter Road is prominent and Meadowbank in a background shot.
    Which in hindsight is probably fair enough.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    First up I am a huge fan of the Proclaimers......however....

This song is a dirge and as somebody who grew up in Sighthill I barely recognise any of these ‘streets of Edinburgh’ apart from the City Centre.

Not their best.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post

This song is a dirge and as somebody who grew up in Sighthill I barely recognise any of these ‘streets of Edinburgh’ apart from the City Centre.

Not their best.
    How many neighbourhoods would they have to get into the video to cover everyone/everywhere? There's no Gracemount, Liberton, Inch, Tollcross or Blackhall either as far as I can make out...but it still looks and feels like home to me.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    How many neighbourhoods would they have to get into the video to cover everyone/everywhere? There's no Gracemount, Liberton, Inch, Tollcross or Blackhall either as far as I can make out...but it still looks and feels like home to me.
    Don’t recognise anything west of the castle in the video to be honest. Not expecting google maps or anything but other than Easter Ro didn’t really spend much of my life in Leith or the southside so it just isn’t that familiar or nostalgic to me, sorry, really wanted to like it.

The song is (as I see it) their perspective so doesn't include areas you mention for that reason.

the lyrics about worrying about her health due to human wealth and how she'll recover herself are particularly excellent.

it'll grow. I like it a lot.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    the lyrics about worrying about her health due to human wealth and how she'll recover herself are particularly excellent.

it'll grow. I like it a lot.

The lyrics below - they don't quite say the interpretation you've taken i think. Listened to it without watching the video and it's just as good if not better. Though the finish of the video with the boy just dancing and playing and beautiful Edinburgh in the background is stunning to me. Like poetry.

Along these broken pavements
    I let my mind run free
    The past and the present
    Seem just the same to me
    The people I have loved most
    Among these stones did dwell
    And in the plainest language
    The stories they did tell

They pass, they pass, they pass, they pass
    The streets of Edinburgh
    Hold half the world for me
    In scores, in droves, the living and the ghost
    The streets of Edinburgh
    Mean most to me

Depending on your view point
    This place is blessed or cursed
    And in the years I've lived here
    I've seen the best and worst
    An air of sordid passion
    A look of dirty grace
    But not right in your face
    It's not that kind of place

The streets of Edinburgh
    Mean most to me

Down greasy potholed roadways
    I watch the traffic crawl
    But for the cars and buses
    I give no thought at all
    I think about the future
    I wonder at her health
    How with this human wealth
    She does renew herself

The streets of Edinburgh
    Mean most to me

I've always liked the Proclaimers, seen them many times and met them a couple of times after concerts, good guys both. The songs starting to grow on me, as some have said it's difficult to work Edinburgh into a song and then satisfy everyone, unless they decide to put music to the contents of the Edinburgh phone directory thereby only pissing off the ex directory brigade

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    I've listened to it again last night and this morning. You better get used to hearing it whether you like it or not because it's definitely got legs.

Lots of things about it don't quite work individually but somehow collectively it all adds up to an absolute cracker.

I sent the link to a mate in New Zealand who was born and bred Edinburgh but moved there 'temporarily' about 25 years ago after his marriage failed. He's not been able to watch it all the way through because he keeps choking up.

BTW is that Tynie floodlights in the distant background at 1.53? Good if so.

Defo a grower and I think you are right that we will hear a lot of it.

I can understand why people dont like them but to say they are garbage is wrong, they are brilliant song writers. They polarise opinion which is a far better thing than going unnoticed.

I like the Proclaimers but I would only really listen to the first 2 albums. As with a lot of artists they kind of ran out of steam and it gets progressively blander as you go on. I think they know that themselves, the majority of their setlist is still the first 2 albums even after all this time.

The only criticism I have of the Proclaimers is their 'samishness'/lack of variety. However, I remain a fan.

Success fell upon them but I don't get the impression that they ever chased it.

I think they remain true to themselves and what they do. They're not the best singers around but they have a sound that is unique and instantly recognisable.

They've been on the go for over 30 years and are still well capable of producing interesting, thought provoking lyrics.

Keep it up guys.

I like it. Some of The Proclaimers best work is their recent stuff.

They are a bit hit and miss but this is one of their better offerings. It will do well because for 30 years they have always sold well. 6 top 40 albums, silver, gold and platinum albums in the UK, a double platinum album in Australia and a gold in the US suggests it will do a bit better than '5 copies'.

30+ years longevity isn't a fluke.

People complaining because it doesn't have their house / street / area on it.
    Jeez.

@hibs.net private member woodythehibee's Avatar
    Love the track and the album is a cracker.

Particular favourites of mine are Angry Cyclist, Streets of Edinburgh and Battle of the Booze.

Looking forward to November!

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Not their best.
    That's because Sighthill is too near Gorgie

As others have pointed out it seems fairly clear that it's not supposed to be an all-encompassing picture of Edinburgh, it's about the parts of it which mean something to them eg lots of Leith/Easter Road footage, city centre, New Town, Southside (where I think one or both of them live) and assorted other parts including Craigmillar. There appears to be nothing from within the vicinity of Tynecastle and from their perspective that's fair enough. I certainly would never go near that part of the city if it wasn't for the fact we have the misfortune of having to play Hearts there. The very presence of the yams is the one major flaw in Edinburgh's make-up and seeing Tynecaste in the video would just be depressing.
    Last edited by G B Young; 16-08-2018 at 12:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    I like the Proclaimers but I would only really listen to the first 2 albums. As with a lot of artists they kind of ran out of steam and it gets progressively blander as you go on. I think they know that themselves, the majority of their setlist is still the first 2 albums even after all this time.
    I agree to a certain extent. As albums the first two are certainly the most consistent and have that vital edge to them. However, there have been some further highlights along the way and I thought their 'comeback' album Persevere had a fresh, uplifting feel to it. The opening track is a cracker. Streets of Edinburgh is a pale companion to Sunshine on Leith but there's a poignancy there that starts to get to you the more you listen to and as somebody else has mentioned that closing footage of the wee boy is lovely.
    Last edited by G B Young; 16-08-2018 at 12:29 PM.

I love it. The video just tops it off for me. It's not until you've left Auld reekie, that you understand what you've missed. I'm glad I came home.

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Jeez.
    Wasn’t complaining, just an observation. Sorry it ruined your day.😜🤪

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    That's because Sighthill is too near Gorgie

As others have pointed out it seems fairly clear that it's not supposed to be an all-encompassing picture of Edinburgh, it's about the parts of it which mean something to them eg lots of Leith/Easter Road footage, city centre, Southside (where I think one or both of them live) and assorted other parts including Craigmillar. There appears to be nothing from within the vicinity of Tynecastle and from their perspective that's fair enough. I certainly would never go near that part of the city if it wasn't for the fact we have the misfortune of having to play Hearts there. The very presence of the yams is the one major flaw in Edinburgh's make-up and seeing Tynecaste in the video would just be depressing.
    Far too near Gorgie, try being one of about 4 Hibbies in your entire primary school.

Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    The Proclaimers are bad.

Really bad.
    You are tedious, really tedious. You were on another thread the other day saying you found hibs fans strange. Why do you bother?

United we stand here....

The lyrics below - they don't quite say the interpretation you've taken i think. Listened to it without watching the video and it's just as good if not better. Though the finish of the video with the boy just dancing and playing and beautiful Edinburgh in the background is stunning to me. Like poetry.

Along these broken pavements
    I let my mind run free
    The past and the present
    Seem just the same to me
    The people I have loved most
    Among these stones did dwell
    And in the plainest language
    The stories they did tell

The streets of Edinburgh
    Mean most to me

Depending on your view point
    This place is blessed or cursed
    And in the years I've lived here
    I've seen the best and worst
    An air of sordid passion
    A look of dirty grace
    But not right in your face
    It's not that kind of place

The streets of Edinburgh
    Mean most to me

Down greasy potholed roadways
    I watch the traffic crawl
    But for the cars and buses
    I give no thought at all
    I think about the future
    I wonder at her health
    How with this human wealth
    She does renew herself

The streets of Edinburgh
    Mean most to me
    not that far away from what I posted and still excellent.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    I love it. The video just tops it off for me. It's not until you've left Auld reekie, that you understand what you've missed. I'm glad I came home.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Jeez.
    They could have included an inside shot of my kitchen!

It's a soppy song and will obviously not be to everybody's tastes. But compared to the utter trash that makes the top 40 these days, this is lyrical genius by comparison.

Wasn’t complaining, just an observation. Sorry it ruined your day.😜🤪
    Good response! My day has now been restored to its former glory. Just needs the game to go right tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Agree mate.
    If you can't post something positive .Why post at all .Get to a game.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    You are tedious, really tedious. You were on another thread the other day saying you found hibs fans strange. Why do you bother?

it's strange indeed why a couple of hibs fans feel the need to call a group led by a couple of hibs fans 'garbage' all they have to say is 'not my favourite genre of music' but nah, they feel a need to call them 'garbage', a 'garbage' group that has sell-outs all over the UK and abroad...yet they describe this group as 'garbage' couldn't make it up eh, it's almost like they are seeking a wee bit of attention

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Sorry to upset you old man

But I blame The Proclaimers for their miserable tunes. You need cheering up.

Try some Take That or clubbing classics from the 90s in the meantime

X

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    Sorry to upset you old man

But I blame The Proclaimers for their miserable tunes. You need cheering up.

Try some Take That or clubbing classics from the 90s in the meantime

X
    You mean tunes like 500 Miles and I'm on my way. Aye they are truly miserable.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.