Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member hibee_nation's Avatar
    Sitting on the banks of the Rhine thinking it doesn't get more German than this. Then watched the video and it's true there's nae where like home

45 AND RISING

From watching that there's nothing from the west side unless some of the flats are wester hailes way.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    From watching that there's nothing from the west side unless some of the flats are wester hailes way.
    No wonder

words n video are great ...love it

Great song. Can see it being adopted by Hearts supporters and becoming their SOL.

Quite like it actually. 👍

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    The song is their personal view of the city and the Hibs bits reflect what Edinburgh means to them so I don't think they could really have left them out.

It will never hold a candle to Sunshine on Leith but it's got some emotional clout, the chorus in particular.
    Usually the video ideas are up to the director but for the 10 seconds or so of ER you could have 2or3 of muddyfield & tinycastle to show an even balance,doubt it’ll get played down gorgay way though

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by adhibs View Post
    They really are garbage, sunshine on Leith excluded.
    Naw, Garbage is Manson, Shirley.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Great song. Can see it being adopted by Hearts supporters and becoming their SOL.
    Hearts came to mind when I heard 'They pass, they pass, they pass' in the lyrics.

The Proclaimers are bad.

Really bad.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    The Proclaimers are bad.

Really bad.

Careful mate. Pitchfork and torch job for that comment.

For what its worth though I agree with you.

Quote Originally Posted by adhibs View Post
    Definately not my cup of tea!

What is your "cup of tea then ?"

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    You've broke my heart (sorrow, sorrow) today sadtom

Always liked the idea of Shirley in a Hibs shirt
    Who knows? If you asked nicely enough.
    Never stop believing. They cant take your dreams away. :-)

Decent song only a Gorgie frother would dislike

Like the song, love the video.

Can remember watching that excellent documentary about the Proclaimers with David Tennent to realise how many brilliant songs they have had.

Well done lads brilliant.

Have to say on first listening I was "meh" but I listened again as I liked how it starts off slow then builds. So I listened again straightaway and thought ok I'm getting this now. I've listened and watched the video half a dozen times and I'm hooked - love it.

The Proclaimers are not everyone's taste but that's what I love about them. Some people like popular music some like something a little more "off the beaten track" - that said this is neither of these to me it's "The Proclaimers!"

Two guys fae Fife singing about The Streets of Edinburgh

I predict it will sell 5 copies

They are "from" Edinburgh but live in Fife.

Well I just watched it and have to say it was a terrible song,singing was bad to say the least. Sorry guys, good Hibees but....

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    They are "from" Edinburgh but live in Fife.
    Went to school in Fife.

What's the matter with singing about The Fields of Fife?

That would sell more than 5 copies.

No. Two guys fi Leith who moved with their parents to Fife and later returned to Edinburgh singing about the streets of Edinburgh.

Having said all that, not my favourite song from the twins. It may grow on me but don’t think so.

They wrote some great tunes....this is not one of them!

Went to school in Fife.

What's the matter with singing about The Fields of Fife?

That would sell more than 5 copies.

They could do that as they spent time in Fife. That said they spent time in South England as well. They were born and raised in Edinburgh and consider themselves to be from Edinburgh - end off.
    As for sales "meh" I doubt they write a song with that in mind however it will sell more than 5 copies has done already. As I said before, The Proclaimers are not everyones cup of tea, as not popular music. But thank lord for the Proclaimers.
    Last edited by RoxburghHibs; 16-08-2018 at 08:31 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    No. Two guys fi Leith who moved with their parents to Fife and later returned to Edinburgh singing about the streets of Edinburgh.

Having said all that, not my favourite song from the twins. It may grow on me but don’t think so.

Give it a few listens mate

It’s growing on me.

Sure will. Don’t give up on the Twitter twins that easily

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    I've listened to it again last night and this morning. You better get used to hearing it whether you like it or not because it's definitely got legs.

Lots of things about it don't quite work individually but somehow collectively it all adds up to an absolute cracker.

I sent the link to a mate in New Zealand who was born and bred Edinburgh but moved there 'temporarily' about 25 years ago after his marriage failed. He's not been able to watch it all the way through because he keeps choking up.

BTW is that Tynie floodlights in the distant background at 1.53? Good if so.

Wish the video was on full screen though, could see it much better

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar
    Enjoyed it. Good filming.

Edinburgh is not easy to include in a song

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    I've listened to it again last night and this morning. You better get used to hearing it whether you like it or not because it's definitely got legs.

Lots of things about it don't quite work individually but somehow collectively it all adds up to an absolute cracker.

I sent the link to a mate in New Zealand who was born and bred Edinburgh but moved there 'temporarily' about 25 years ago after his marriage failed. He's not been able to watch it all the way through because he keeps choking up.

BTW is that Tynie floodlights in the distant background at 1.53? Good if so.
    I would guess it might be Meadowbank may be wrong. Agree should have had a bit about Hearts also possibly Murrayfield also.