Thread: Molde's stadium

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar

Molde's stadium

Has anyone seen Molde's ground?

It looks fantastic, especially with the picturesque location next to the sea. Also looks very modern for a ground that was built 20 years ago.

Looks like a Waterworld, or one of those monstrosities that house dolphins doing tricks.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Looks like a Waterworld, or one of those monstrosities that house dolphins doing tricks.
    As long as there is no diving.

12,000 capacity but on two tiers? That must be about six rows of seats per tier, surely.

Why would they bother?

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    12,000 capacity but on two tiers? That must be about six rows of seats per tier, surely.

Why would they bother?

To avoid the exiting issues caused by single tiered stands

I fancy Porteous to get one or two right over that stand and into the sea.

Oot the park for medals.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Has anyone seen Molde's ground?

It looks fantastic, especially with the picturesque location next to the sea. Also looks very modern for a ground that was built 20 years ago.
    I think the scenic location is making it look a bit better than it is. Place that in Cumbernauld or similar and it wouldn't look so impressive.

Quote Originally Posted by Famous Fiver View Post
    I fancy Porteous to get one or two right over that stand and into the sea.

Oot the park for medals.
    when were up 1-0.........

Livingston-by-the-sea (albeit a different colour).

The stadium was a gift from a local millionaire Kjel Inge Røkke, another club with a rich benifactor. Explains their success coming from a small town I suppose.

First Team Breakthrough alan1875's Avatar

Gamertag: Aldo The Bear
    That is a very cool small stadium to be fair. I hope there’s good facilities too for all folks travelling to the game.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Wait. A structure only 20 years old doesn't count as modern anymore?????? I've had stiffies for longer than that.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Wait. A structure only 20 years old doesn't count as modern anymore?????? I've had stiffies for longer than that.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Sauz View Post
    An extremely tidy little stadium and absolutely kicks the arse of anything of a similar size in Scotland if that video is anything to go by. We wish the likes of our medium sized clubs like Dundee, Dundee Utd, Motherwell or Partick Thistle could put together anything nearly as impressive. Even when we do build new stadiums like St Mirren Park or MacDiarmid Park they consist of 4 boxes with huge gaps between the stands and look like something you would be disappointed with if your kids showed so little imagination with their Lego.

To be fair it did cost £25,000,000 to build which is a wee bit more than St Johnstone or St Mirren had to spend I suppose, but even so, a lack of cash is no excuse for a lack of imagination IMO.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 15-08-2018 at 01:27 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    An extremely tidy little stadium and absolutely kicks the arse of anything of a similar size in Scotland if that video is anything to go by. We wish the likes of our medium sized clubs like Dundee, Dundee Utd, Motherwell or Partick Thistle could put together anything nearly as impressive. Even when we do build new stadiums like St Mirren Park or MacDiarmid Park they consist of 4 boxes with huge gaps between the stands and look like something you would be disappointed with if your kids showed so little imagination with their Lego.

To be fair it did cost £25,000,000 to build which is a wee bit more than St Johnstone or St Mirren had to spend I suppose, but even so, a lack of cash is no excuse for a lack of imagination IMO.
    I agree, and the design is fantastic to act as a breakwater in the event of sea storms. the Red Licties would love their ground to be that shape. can remember the sea lashing over the end near the beach on a winter's night game.

And what we have in comparison....

Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    And what we have in comparison....

In the grand scheme of things that place is a bloody disgrace and always has been. A ridiculous so called 'main stand' that isn't even entirely covered by the roof, two end stands that are the sort of things you have an ambition to knock down and replace when you make top flight football, not what you build in the hope you will be able to use them when you get there, and one side of the ground devoid of anything that even looks like terracing, never mind a stand. Chuck in the fact that in relative terms its too far out of town as well and its the epitome of what not to do with a stadium.

By hook or by crook Scottish football simply has to find a way to vastly upgrade practically two thirds of its stadiums. Some hope when even when the opportunity does present itself like the commonwealth games or Hampden being used for 4 ( I think it is ) Euro finals matches in two years time we fail miserably to take advantage.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Sauz View Post
    I loved the picture of the dugouts with the Neil Lennon safety nets to stop him doing the aeroplane when we go 1 up!!!!!