Hybrid View

Poor Berra

Out for 6 months with torn hamstring

First Team Breakthrough Coults1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    Out for 6 months with torn hamstring
    Green tinted glasses off for a bit - really bad news for the Scotland team.

Quote Originally Posted by Coults1875 View Post
    Hopefully a chance for Hanlon to step up

Perhaps career ending if it is that bad.....

Significantly weakens our rivals...wish the player no ill will though.

It did look a really sore one which made no sense when he tried to sit at the side of the pitch. He is a key player for them and probably most influential.

Don't want to see any player ( not even a Hertz one ) with such a bad injury and to be fair to Berra he never seems to be one of the maroon balloons who is always on social media or in the papers spouting pish about them or more pertinently us.

He is probably their best defender though so its an ill wind as they say …. I've no doubt there's somebody in their squad of hundreds or massive crop of wonderkids who will step up to fill the gap

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Never want to see someone with that bad an injury even if it is the Hearts captain. That'll derail their season somewhat as he is arguably their best player after Lafferty leaves.

Feel for the lad. Good player and seemingly a decent guy dealt a tough blow.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Don't want to see any player ( not even a Hertz one ) with such a bad injury and to be fair to Berra he never seems to be one of the maroon balloons who is always on social media or in the papers spouting pish about them or more pertinently us.

He is probably their best defender though so its an ill wind as they say …. I've no doubt there's somebody in their squad of hundreds or massive crop of wonderkids who will step up to fill the gap
    Yeah personally no like for him or any Jambo but wouldn't wish such a severe injury on anyone...that said they look a bit foolish about their long grass tweet now as I think it was the long grass that caused this injury

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    Hopefully a chance for Hanlon to step up
    MacLeish has already said that he would use Teirney as left sided central defender.

Quote Originally Posted by Tarrahib View Post
    MacLeish has already said that he would use Teirney as left sided central defender.
    Tierneys never a centre back .

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    Tierneys never a centre back .
    I know that.You know that.Tell Mcleish that.

@hibs.net private member PercyHibs's Avatar
    He hasnt even been getting picked for Scotland so not that bad news

Quote Originally Posted by PercyHibs View Post
    He played in a few of the most recent qualifiers didnt he?

@hibs.net private member PercyHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    He played in a few of the most recent qualifiers didnt he?
    i didn't think McLeish had picked him yet so didnt fancy him. FWIW i would have him in the squad.

He left him out of the friendlies but said he would be in the squad for the qualifiers .

I must admit I used to think that he was hopeless, but when he got back into the Scotland team halfway through the last campaign we improved significantly.

It had been a wee while since Scotland didn't look really soft through the middle, and he struck up a decent understanding with Mulgrew.

His for form Hearts has been very good and it would be hard to begrudge him a place back in the Scotland team, and I think we'd have been stronger for it.

I can't pretend to be too upset about our rivals being weakened but I get no pleasure seeing anyone suffer a serious injury.

I wouldn't wish that kind of luck on anybody and I'm happy to say... get well soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    I wouldn't wish that kind of luck on anybody and I'm happy to say... get well soon.
    Seems a decent guy. Hope he get better soon. Now if it was big flute boy then......

New manager, fresh start, time for new blood.

Berra is a decent player but he’s not world class. He’s also 32 or so and I’m happy for someone else (eg Paul Hanlon) to get the opportunity.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    New manager, fresh start, time for new blood.

Berra is a decent player but he’s not world class. He’s also 32 or so and I’m happy for someone else (eg Paul Hanlon) to get the opportunity.
    33 now and will be 34 by the time he returns.

Mcleish has left him out every squad, his scotland days are long gone.

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    Not really. When was the last time he was in the squad? He'll be 35 by the time the next tournament comes around

He's going to be 34 next birthday so not really part of Scotland's hopes for the future plus he's been part of the worst era in Scottish international football history so not sure it's especially bad news for the national team. Hopefully Hanlon will get more of a look-in now.

Almost ****ed themselves into a coma when Griffiths went off in the Wotherspoon cup derby. **** him, smelly mutant like the rest of them.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    He's going to be 34 next birthday so not really part of Scotland's hopes for the future plus he's been part of the worst era in Scottish international football history so not sure it's especially bad news for the national team. Hopefully Hanlon will get more of a look-in now.

You never know. Scotland's maybe going to give better prospects a chance and not place a premium on pulling jerseys, falling over and mouthing at referees.

****** defender who stands out in Scotland because of what we allow. As a hertz man if he'd left an opponent lying on the ground with the same injury there wouldn't have been a backwards glance. Doctor football wouldn't allow it.

Turns out it is an expensive 3 points for them.

Shame.

United we stand here....

It's gonna be hard for them to replace someone with that shirt grabbing ability at short notice.

Sare yin

I'm gutted for him.